10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was pretty good. I will say however that the pineapple seemed to soak up a ton of the salt from the soy sauce and made it very bitter to eat. I think next time we will add the pineapple at the very end and not freeze it all together.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_Beauchamp August 31, 2009

Made this with pork. Marvelous and easy sauce! However, this does not feed six. I added double the vegs, and added a chunked carrot. Family would have preferred more meat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheapThrills April 22, 2008

I tried this recipe tonight and it was just okay. For me it wasn't sweet enough, a little too much on the sour side. I felt that it was missing something, maybe salt. This recipe will not feed 6.

I don't know if I will cook this again. I always have most of the ingredients on hand so if I am in a hurry, maybe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monique #2 April 08, 2011

Very good recipe. I would marinade it longer, perhaps a minimum of 4 hours up to overnight.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mara61 August 24, 2009

This was very tasty. We used turkey served over brown rice. I marinated for 45 minutes, but I think it would really be worth the effort to marinate for longer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoreWithLessMom April 21, 2009

This was good and my family enjoyed it, but it needs a little something more and maybe a little more color. I think next time I'd add red bell pepper and maybe extra pineapple.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ihvhope August 17, 2008

I just made two batches of this to freeze for the month. WOW! Really great recipe. I did the order of things a little differently, and used a flour roux instead of cornstarch, but am very pleased with the results. I can't wait for dinner! These might not make it to my freezer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildflower5656 June 19, 2008

GREAT CHICKEN RECIPE! I always enjoy a good sweet & sour, & this fits the bill ~ easy-to-make & with a great taste, too! I diced the green pepper large, used dark brown sugar & brown rice! Thanks for such an outstanding recipe! [Made & reviewed as a kidnapped bonus recipe in Aus/NZ Recipe Swap #14, Mar 08]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike March 24, 2008

We loved this dinner!! It was super simple to prepare. The flavor was really nice..just a touch of sweetness thanks to the pineapple chunks and juice. Yum! I made it as directed and it worked perfectly. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood March 06, 2008
Sweet & Sour Chicken (Or Pork) OAMC