131 Reviews

Loved this - made it in the crock pot also, cooked about 7 hours on low. I used Pace mild salsa. We made it for a big group of us on vacation - it was so easy because I just brought it frozen in the bag, let it defrost on the way to our destination, stuck it in the crock pot in the morning. Then we played around town all day and it was ready when we got home. I served it over rice and we had very positive reviews from the four adults on the trip (including me)!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megicce January 20, 2011

I can't belive I didn't rate this one yet! I have this in my monthly rotation. It is a must have according to the hubby! I make this using breast meat and rice. Easy,Peasy, Lemon,Squeezy recipe!
I make it exactly as stated in the directions. Thanks Tish, Another winner. I also make your Chicken Packets every month as well. ;)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RebelQueen November 06, 2011

10/11/09 Amazingly delicious and so easy to make. This simple recipe exceeded my expectations. Really good over rice. Thanks for posting a recipe that's sure to be made often in our home! 11/24/09 Made this for the second time and my husband, who loved it the first time, RAVED about it even more this time. He asked where I got the recipe and when I said "Zaar" he said, "Well, I would definitely give this a really good rating!" So, here's a SIX star rating from my husband!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SReiff November 24, 2009

This was really good. We made it as is with the exception of using breasts and cooking into a slow cooker. We made rice and canned low-sodium black beans to serve with dinner. We had butternut squash - diced it up, roasted it and served it with. It all went so well together... it seems like an odd combo but it really did go well. Thanks for the new addition to our rotation :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smilyn November 14, 2009

what a successful dinner tonight was, all because of this winning recipe! I used chicken breasts pounded out, and found a SFapricot jam. Delicious! Hubby was happy, and even asked if there was enough for his lunch tomorrow!
Thank you Tish, this made a moist, flavorful chicken dinner!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaMere April 18, 2011

Very good! I have had this one in my cookbook for a long time, just never getting around to buying the apricot jam, finally picked some up and made this. We all enjoyed it, so it will go in my regular rotation! Thanks for another great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyW January 15, 2011

This was great. I really really liked it. The flavor was wonderful and mine was a bit spicy because I used spicy salsa. The heat of the salsa matched well with the sweetness of the jam. I would definitely make again. As noted by another reviewer, this recipe makes a lot of sauce so more chicken can be added than the recipe calls for.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monique #2 July 21, 2010

This is absolutely one of my top 3 chicken recipes!!! I could eat it for breakfast, lunch, or dinner! I used marmalade instead of jam, I like the pieces of fruit in it. I also felt I could've added a few more pieces of chicken in the pan..I used legs only. Thanks so much for sharing! By the way...I think it deserves 10 stars!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Hoppper February 27, 2010

Wonderful recipe. I used chicken breasts and cooked them on the stove top. It tasted a bit like sweet and sour chicken with a mexican flair. Thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Roes May 18, 2009

So easy and quick to prepare. Everyone including chicken haters LOVED it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Picky Picky Eater June 12, 2012
Sweet Salsa Dump Chicken - OAMC