26 Reviews

Wonderful, spicy sweet potatoes! My first time using red curry paste (quite spicy!) I used vegetable bouillon because I don't eat chicken and didn't think it would alter the recipe much. They were so yummy I never got around to mashing them with the butter!!! Hope you don't mind, but they were great without it.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi January 05, 2003

This is really good. We make this with vegetable stock instead of chicken to make this fully vegetarian for our veggie friends. Also, for an added treat, I carmelize onion threads to a deep carmel color and add that in to the potatoes before mashing. It adds a little more richness. One tip about using red curry (and it may be my personal preference) but I prefer to toast the potatoes and curry in the pot for 3 minutes before adding the stock and bringing it up to a boil. It brings out the best in the paste I think and only adds a few minutes of extra preparation time.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LIZ & SYL January 04, 2010

These are such a pleasing, surprising and savory change from sugary sweet potatoes! I thought they were perfect with our traditional turkey meal and everyone else "gobbled" them up.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea November 29, 2003

My new favorite way to eat sweet potatoes! I followed another reviewer's suggestion and toasted the curry and diced potatoes first, then added the broth - I used vegetable. At the end though, I didn't mash the potatoes; I just ate them diced with a little bit of the juice and a little butter on top. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keee May 22, 2012

Loved these potatoes! I used a little less curry paste this time, just to be safe. Next time I'll use more. Great flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alisa Lea April 14, 2012

I subbed one of the sweet potatoes for a russet, used a vegetarian bouillon cube and 1 cup of coconut milk in place of chicken stock, added sliced onion, and served over short grain brown rice. The onions absorbed the flavors deliciously, and the potatoes didn't need butter to taste amazing. I let the potatoes cook enough to be mashed in with the liquid, which tastes great with the rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
silverchels June 02, 2010

great recipe! I love how simple it is and how few ingredients there are. I used vegetable stock instead of chicken, and a milder curry paste, but I ended up adding several more tablespoons of the curry. Also, I forgot to drain the liquid before mashing, but it still turned out great, probably just a wee bit mushier than intended for. Overall, I think this recipe is very forgiving. I will definitely be making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cosette November 14, 2009

Wowee!!! These were great! I had to go to 3 different stores to find the red curry paste. But it was soooo good! I prepared it for a diabetic, and left out the butter to make it low fat. (but I'm sure that the butter would've made it even more amazing!) I just added some spoonfuls of that broth into the mashed sweet potatoes to give it great flavor. And taking the advice of another reviewer, I didn't throw out that broth, I served it up as a little cup of soup! I couldn't stop eating it! Thanks Kirsten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imatrad October 23, 2009

Loved this recipe. I find that I much prefer savory sweet potatoe recipes rather than overly sweet ones with lots of sugar and marshmellows. This recipe fit the bill. For dietary reasons I had to leave out the butter and while I'm sure it adds a certain richness, we didn't miss it in this recipe. Thank you Kirstin for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ June 15, 2009

Fabulous and easy to do! Thank you for another way to make one of my favorite foods. Perfect heat for those of us that enjoy it. You may want to back it off to half if you aren't sure. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tish August 12, 2008
Sweet Potatoes with Red Curry Paste