Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potatoes with Red Curry Paste Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potatoes with Red Curry Paste

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2003

      Wonderful, spicy sweet potatoes! My first time using red curry paste (quite spicy!) I used vegetable bouillon because I don't eat chicken and didn't think it would alter the recipe much. They were so yummy I never got around to mashing them with the butter!!! Hope you don't mind, but they were great without it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      This is really good. We make this with vegetable stock instead of chicken to make this fully vegetarian for our veggie friends. Also, for an added treat, I carmelize onion threads to a deep carmel color and add that in to the potatoes before mashing. It adds a little more richness. One tip about using red curry (and it may be my personal preference) but I prefer to toast the potatoes and curry in the pot for 3 minutes before adding the stock and bringing it up to a boil. It brings out the best in the paste I think and only adds a few minutes of extra preparation time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2003

      These are such a pleasing, surprising and savory change from sugary sweet potatoes! I thought they were perfect with our traditional turkey meal and everyone else "gobbled" them up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      My new favorite way to eat sweet potatoes! I followed another reviewer's suggestion and toasted the curry and diced potatoes first, then added the broth - I used vegetable. At the end though, I didn't mash the potatoes; I just ate them diced with a little bit of the juice and a little butter on top. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      Loved these potatoes! I used a little less curry paste this time, just to be safe. Next time I'll use more. Great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      I subbed one of the sweet potatoes for a russet, used a vegetarian bouillon cube and 1 cup of coconut milk in place of chicken stock, added sliced onion, and served over short grain brown rice. The onions absorbed the flavors deliciously, and the potatoes didn't need butter to taste amazing. I let the potatoes cook enough to be mashed in with the liquid, which tastes great with the rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      great recipe! I love how simple it is and how few ingredients there are. I used vegetable stock instead of chicken, and a milder curry paste, but I ended up adding several more tablespoons of the curry. Also, I forgot to drain the liquid before mashing, but it still turned out great, probably just a wee bit mushier than intended for. Overall, I think this recipe is very forgiving. I will definitely be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      Wowee!!! These were great! I had to go to 3 different stores to find the red curry paste. But it was soooo good! I prepared it for a diabetic, and left out the butter to make it low fat. (but I'm sure that the butter would've made it even more amazing!) I just added some spoonfuls of that broth into the mashed sweet potatoes to give it great flavor. And taking the advice of another reviewer, I didn't throw out that broth, I served it up as a little cup of soup! I couldn't stop eating it! Thanks Kirsten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      Loved this recipe. I find that I much prefer savory sweet potatoe recipes rather than overly sweet ones with lots of sugar and marshmellows. This recipe fit the bill. For dietary reasons I had to leave out the butter and while I'm sure it adds a certain richness, we didn't miss it in this recipe. Thank you Kirstin for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      Fabulous and easy to do! Thank you for another way to make one of my favorite foods. Perfect heat for those of us that enjoy it. You may want to back it off to half if you aren't sure. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      These were just wonderful! My husband was totally thrilled with them. I didn't even bother to mash, just served them up cubed. We live for left-overs anyway, and they reheat better like that. I used vegetable broth as Yogi did. Federico's idea to use the broth as a base for a noodle soup was a darn good one! The remaining broth is pretty hot, so I'm going to water it down with more broth and put it over Thai rice noodles! The only other thing I did differently was that I swirled the paste into the broth before I added the potatoes and I used 2 teaspoons of salt in the cooking broth. (My broth was low-sodium). I did double the recipe. Also, I contemplated using cornstarch to thicken the broth and serve it over the potatoes, but I was afraid we would need the fire department to put the flames out! Kirstin, thanks for a lovely, easy and healthy way to eat sweet potatoes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      This is a relatively fast and easy way to make curried sweet potatoes. It was a big hit and a great way to spice up a staple (we eat sweet potatoes all the time). I used homemade curry paste and 1T was plenty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      I thought this recipe was pretty good but I didn't get the strong Thai red curry paste taste at all. Perhaps it was because I used three sweet potatoes instead of two. Everything else was as in the recipe. I did enjoy it however and would make a modified version of it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      yowza! thems some spicy taters!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      Actually, was not that bad apart from the fact that I do believe that one tablespoon of curry paste with the chicken stock makes it too salty and too spicy in the sense that the taste is no longer subtile. Thus, next time I will make it with less condiment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2005

      I love sweet potato and this is a great way of cooking them. I followed the recipe as stated and the flavour of the red curry paste was perfect. Thanks for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2005

      I think I would only use red curry paste here. And I used the whole amount, but you may want to be conservative to begin--you'll find yourself craving the taste of red curry so much, you'll use the whole thing too! This is so easy to do, so quick and so good. I will have trouble making sweet potatoes any other way after this. They would go as a side dish to anything. I served them with broccoli and a big rib steak roasted on salt for 2. Just fantastic! I tossed the cooking liquid, but will certainly find another way to use it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2005

      I tried these with 1 tbsp green curry paste instead of red and wasn't that impressed. The curry taste, for me, was overpowering but I will try it again sometime with red curry paste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2005

      These are SOoooo good! I had to come review these before I even sit down to eat! They didn't take long at all to fix, that is why they are done before the rest of dinner. LOL I didn't find them spicy at all, but they have a wonderful rich taste, that just wouldn't be there without the curry paste. I will be fixing these many times in the future, thanks for posting a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2005

      Actually this was a very tasty recipe. Except for the fact that I used the whole tablespoon of red curry. Haven't worked our way up to someething quite this hot so next time will decrease the curry to maybe 1 1/2 tsp. and work my way up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potatoes with Red Curry Paste

    Serving Size: 1 (199 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 200.9
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    58%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 34.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 208.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Thai red curry paste

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites