Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato (Yam) Casserole With Marshmallows Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato (Yam) Casserole With Marshmallows

    Average Rating:

    68 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 68

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2008

      I wanted a healthy version of this recipe, so I altered a few things and it turned out perfect! I used half cup splenda brown sugar blend, an eggbeater, and 4 tablespoons of promise (fat free margerine). I threw in an 8 oz. can of drained crushed pineapple as well. I also just put a layer of marshmallows on top instead of in the middle too. Everyone LOVED it and said it was their favorite dish! Thank you for the great guideline!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Mmm! This is the recipe my mother uses and we love it! Sometimes she'll add diced pineapple which is a nice twist.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      I love this recipe I use it every Thanksgiving. It is perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      What a great recipe! It was so delicious! I put this in the line-up for my first cooked-by-me Thanksgiving dinner. Thanks for a great recipe to add to the repertoire!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      Just the recipe I was looking for. Loved the layers, turned out great for Christmas dinner

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Served this on Christmas another great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      This was great on Thanksgiving. I used fresh sweet potatoes. I peeled and boiled them, and then mashed them. I will be using this recipe year after year!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      My very favorite recipe!!! Will be making this for Christmas!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      We easily doubled this and it was yummy. I usually make a more crumb topped casserole, but ths was a nice change. The marshmallows got toasted at end with everything going on in the oven in preparation for dinner and diff temps required. Great soft crunch texture we all loved! It was great, thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Yummy! Thank you so much for this recipe. Everyone loved it, especially my 2 year old. Even DH who would not normally eat this had two helpings. This recipe helped make my first Thanksgiving Dinner a success!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      This was a huge hit. Halfway through making it my fiance came in ans said "What are you doing?? we never have them mashed! Just throw them in whole!" So it became a mix of mashed and whole sweet potatoes that was delicious. Of course, at dinner my fiance said he liked them better mashed and wanted me to make it like that every year in the future!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      Most delicious! After it had been sitting for a while, it actually was carmelized. Very, very sweet. The kiddos loved it and so did the grown ups!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      I just started cooking and this was easy. I used pkarandi advice and used the 2-3 med sweet potatoes and that work wonderfully. I amazed my family with this receipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      I can't believe I didn't rate this. I was looking for it today and yeah! This is a really nice way to use those canned yams. I picked up some hyams after the holidays at a really good price and I'm happy I was able to do these again. Thanks for an easy recipe to throw together :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      We are grateful for this site!! This dish was oustanding!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      I made this with fresh yams. I sliced the yams, cooked them in boiling water on the stove until tender, drained, removed skins, then proceeded with the recipe. (Next time I'll bake 'em, but I was in a hurry this time.) I used 1 large and 1 small yam for full recipe. I microwaved the casserole for about 10-12 minutes (again, I was rushed for time), then topped with marshmallows and baked for 10 minutes in the oven to brown the marshmallows (they will not brown in the microwave). Couldn't figure out how long to cook the in the micro, then I noticed that there is a similar recipe on the marshmallow package, which said to cook them 8-10 minutes! I think next time I will omit the layer of marshmallows in the middle, as this was rather sweet to my taste. I formerly did not care for sweet potatoes/yams, but, after hearing how good they are for you ... I decided to try this recipe. It smelled and sort-of tasted like pumpkin pie. Very easy to make, and worth the extra effort to use fresh yams, if possible.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      Very, very good - loved being able to use the canned sweet potatoes that I had in the pantry. Didn't have a whole bag of marshmallows on hand, and only other change was egg-beaters and Splenda brown sugar - wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      This is awesome!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      This is fabulous! I've never liked the marshmallow yam thing, but this changed my mind. I made it with fresh yams (baked) & Egg Beaters & only the top layer of marshmallows. The recipe was easy and not too sweet. You could leave the marshmallows off and it would still be great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato (Yam) Casserole With Marshmallows

    Serving Size: 1 (301 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 609.6
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    13%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 51.3 mg
    17%
    Sodium 257.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 131.6 g
    43%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 62.2 g
    249%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites