Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato (Yam) Casserole With Marshmallows Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato (Yam) Casserole With Marshmallows

    Average Rating:

    73 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 73

    Sort by:

    • on December 25, 2010

      I gave this recipe 5 stars! This recipe was so easy and tasted just good as using fresh cooked sweet potatoes. When I made this recipe I only had one each 15oz and 12oz cans. So I cut down on the other ingredients a bit. Also I used Splenda brown sugar. I didn't use near as many marshmallows as directed. Overall this was so good and I will make this recipe again for sure! Thanks for posting! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      My daughter made this for Thanksgiving, and we loved it! She baked 2.5 lbs. sweet potatoes, and only used marshmallows on top. Thanks for such an easy and good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      This was great! I made this for Thanksgiving. I used fresh sweet potatoes and quadrupled the recipe and it was a hit. I did add in some vanilla extract as well and a pinch of nutmeg. This was easy and a success for my first hosted Thanksgiving dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      Easy and good!! My family loved this recipe. I used a larger baking dish. This is going into my recipe files. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      Thank goodness I found this again! I've started doing a lot of the dishes for my family holiday gatherings (18 people) and this was a HUGE hit on Thanksgiving! I'll be making it again for Christmas dinner. My aunt usually makes it and uses nuts in hers, but they enjoyed it more without the nuts...yay! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      This has become our holiday yam recipe over the past few years! It's perfect for us. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      I just made this The Turkey Feast!!! So Good! I bought about 4lbs of uncooked yams at the store and boiled them myself at home. So it might've turned out less sweet, but the marshmallows added enough sweetness. It still turned out tasty, maybe better w/o the preservatives from cans. Thanks for the post!!! Loved and Saved.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      This was so very yummy & set up nicely! I also used a 29oz can (in syrup) as that's all I had on hand & I am the only one who likes sweet potatoes in my family. The other chgs I made to suit my taste: I cut the sugar in 1/2 (& prob could've cut it even more since it was a little sweet still), I used egg substitute to replace the egg (to lighten it a bit on calories), & I sort-of chopped the potatoes instead of mashing them. Otherwise I made it just as written and I was pleased with the result. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      This is just like a recipe I have made. I usually add a can of apricots (juice drained)in one of the layers and also add walnuts. My family expects this dish every Thanksgiving!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      Thank you for posting this recipe! I normally make a sweet potato souflee from scratch with nuts but this was a quick and easy alternative. I added a lil extra sugar and cinnamon for personal taste. It came out perfectly and tasted awesome! Definitely a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      This was fantastic. It turned out perfectly. it was great the next day too. Thank you so much for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      I give this 5 stars! This is saying alot since I am NOT a sweet potato fan. I made this to go along with Brown Sugar Glaze for Ham and we loved the flavor of the two of them together. I don't ususally eat sweet potatoes, but this recipe has converted me. These were delicious. Thank you Nanita for sharing this recipe with us, I will be making these often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      I made this for Christmas dinner and it was a hit! Everyone loved it but me but I'm a spicy sweet potato fry kinda gal. The rest of the famiy said they were the best sweet potato or yam dish I have made and I try them a different way every year. They all said stick with this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      EXCELLENT!!!!! So easy and mega tasty! Everyone loved it.... it was the only dish from Christmas dinner that I had to re-make for our leftover dinner the next night! I too, didn't make the middle layer, as we don't like this dish too sweet either! I prepared this right in the baking dish minutes before cooking .... it was fresh out of the oven and place directly on the table. YUM!!!! Thanks Nanita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      This was delicious! I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I goofed and used a 29oz can of sweet potatoes thinking I was supposed to have 30oz. The only thing I changed was the amount of marshmallows. I didnt put the middle layer in because I thought it would be too sweet and it came out perfect! The next time I used the 40oz can of sweet potatoes and it came out good also but I almost think I prefer the smaller can. I love how the marshmallows puff up and get really chewy. My dh is away for 3 weeks so last night I made this just for myself, comfort food. Awesome dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      I loved it. I am the only one that likes sweet potatoes but I still doubled this recipe and made it just for me. So good. I did forget the egg, just bad memory but didn't miss it. This is my new way to make sweet potatoes and will be making for Christmas dinner with family since more people will eat. Great leftovers too!!! Thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Great recipe! I made it for Thanksgiving and we all enjoyed it. I used an extra can of yams (the smaller one) and didn't mash them. I also omitted the egg. A true keeper! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      This was really yummy! I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I substituted canola oil for butter because my daughter is allergic to dairy products and it worked fine. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      Very delicious! I made it for Christmas dinner at my fiance's mom's house- she had never tried it (yams) before, and she loved it! I didn't put in as many marshmallows though. :-) Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      I have many sweet potato casserole recipes that I have gathered through the years but decided to use this one this year because of the ease of preparation. Neither I nor any of the 11 others sharing it were disappointed. I made it exactly as the recipe stated, using the can of Bruce's yams called for in the recipe. I did put all the ingredients (except marshmallows) in my food processor in order to have a smooth consistency, but otherwise followed everything exactly, including the two layers of marshmallows. It was delicious and will made again, per request of all, for our Christmas dinner. Thanks Nanita for a great recipe, and thanks 'Zaar for making Nanita the chef for the day today--it made it so easy for me to find this recipe again without having to go through the hundreds of casseroles with pecan strudel toppings!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato (Yam) Casserole With Marshmallows

    Serving Size: 1 (301 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 609.6
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    13%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 51.3 mg
    17%
    Sodium 257.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 131.6 g
    43%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 62.2 g
    249%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes