Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato Thai Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato Thai Curry

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2010

      This was really excellent, especially considering how easy it was to make. I modified it some but tasted it first as made by the recipe and it was really good that way too. This was for a "dinner date" with my wife, so I added about 1/2lb of shrimp at the end. Could also do chicken or marinated tofu. I cut the spinach to 1 bag, because of the other adds, didn't want one ingredient to over power the others. If I was doing the veggie only version I would have went with two as the recipe states. I also increased the amount of curry paste to 1.5 tbsp red and 2 tbsp panang for a little more flavor and additional heat (we like really spicy thai food. With this addition, it was PERFECT. Put it at a 3.5-4 on a 5 heat scale at most thai places where 5 is for "natives"). I also wanted it a little sweeter so I added 2 tbsp of brown sugar and 2 tsp salt. With these additions it was easily as good as the best thai food I have had in a restaurant. Great job Michelle!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      wow! i was actually looking for a thai sweet potato soup so all i did was not add the spinnach and blended it up, Fabulous! I do want to try it the curry way but tonight i just couldn't be bothered making rice to go with it. I'll definately be making this one for my vegetarian sister next time, it's simple, quick and foolproof

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      Fantastic recipe! Quick, easy and delicious! I couldn't find any panang paste so just used more curry paste and I seasoned mine with salt, brown sugar and a little lime juice. SO good! Thank you! x

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      This was a big hit with he family. I used chicken in place of the spinach as my husband doesn't care for it. Thanks for a great recipe. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      So so good! I love Thai food and this hit the spot. Who'd have thought sweet potatoes would go so well with Thai flavors? I made a few small changes, but otherwise stuck to the recipe pretty closely. Firstly, I used virgin coconut oil instead of olive oil because it goes so much better with all the flavors. I chopped up some chicken meat and added it for a little extra protein. I didn't have panang curry paste, so I just used extra red curry paste. My husband and I don't care for cooked spinach so I stirred it in just before serving. This goes really well with brown rice and an extra dash of fish sauce (love that stinky stuff!) for a filling and nourishing meal with plenty leftover for the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      Loved this! I added 2 cups of chickpeas and used Swiss chard instead of spinach, as my garden is over-run with it. Absolutely delicious and a definite "keeper" recipe... even my step-daughter loved it. I just used red Thai curry, not the panang.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      Very good and easy to make but I thought it could of been just a little better if I would of added some brown sugar and maybe some chick peas or something. I'll be experimenting with this, thanks for this recipe should be fun to work on...thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      This recipe is so good! I added 1 lb of tofu to give it some protein and I substituted spinach for basil. It was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      I only use the red curry paste instead of bot curry pastes and leave out the chilies. I also double the spinach. We love it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2010

      I made this EXACTLY as written and it was wonderful! I mistakenly bought panang curry paste once and was happy to find a recipe that used both it AND red. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      easy and delicious!. I used only red curry paste because i didn't find panang curry paste, and soy sauce instead of fish sauce; because Im a vegetarian, and it was very tasty, and the next day leftovers are even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      Easy and tasty - made this for my boyfriend and we both loved it. Next time I might add some more vegetables at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      Absolutely amazing! I nixed the fish sauce and panang curry paste since I don't have them around the house, and it's still really flavorful. A brilliant vegetarian recipe that's easy to make and well liked by everyone I've made it for (especially the vegetarian boyfriend).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2005

      Unusual and very tasty! I didn't have any panang curry paste, so we just used red curry paste. We added the spinach later than the recipe specifies and added it in the last five minutes to keep a fresher flavor. We enjoyed this with Thai Vegan Fried Rice (Khao Phad Jay) #111314. This isn't really like any Thai recipe I've made before, but its really delicious. The flavors were well balanced- the coconut milk and the red curry paste go very well with the sweet potatoes. We used fresh baby spinach, but I think you could even use defrosted frozen. The sweet potatoes gave the curry an even creamier texture. You certainly don't miss the meat. We love sweet potatoes so this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato Thai Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (132 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 441.6
     
    Calories from Fat 152
    34%
    Total Fat 16.9 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 16.0 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 427.8 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.6 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 57.4 g
    229%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh ginger

    red curry paste

    panang curry paste

    chili

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites