20 Reviews

Great healthy soup and easy too! I stuck with the recipe, making just a few minor changes. I don't like celery so I left it out. I used 1 onion, which was probably a little less than 2 cups, Hungarian Paprika, 1/2 yellow & 1/2 green split peas and chick stock made from a paste (I'm currently out of homemade stock). I like the creamy texture so I pureed it all in the food processor and had a taste before putting it away. I'm excited to be taking some to work for lunch tomorrow.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen67 January 20, 2011

We eat lots of lentil and veg soups, so I don't give out 5 stars loosly! We loved this for the fact I had everything in it on hand, it was simple and it had excellent flavour and a little bite with the herbs ad spices in there. It made a lovely lunch for us and I've 8 generous serves sitting ready to go in the freezer. I took Sydney Mike's advice and crushed this with my potato masher for a lovely texture and I added a couple of tablespoons of red wine vinegar and some chopped parsley at the end. The vinegar is an amazing adition to lentil soups and I recommend it to you to try sometime.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS May 05, 2010

Wow, this soup is really, really yummy! It has a slightly sweet flavour from the sweet potato and carrot and yet a hearty touch from the spices. I particularly enjoyed the addition of thyme and laurel to it. I opted for the non pureed version and it was delicious and also very pretty! I only cooked my soup for 20 minutes as my lentils and veggies were perfectly done by then. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful recipe with us, Debbs! I cant wait to make it again! Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #19

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula February 05, 2010

Forget my cooking capabilities - this one of the BEST soups I've ever eaten !!!....took less than 10 minutes to prepare the vegetables too...thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vjpigdon August 01, 2015

Having been alerted that we had sweet potatoes that needed to be used up, and knowing that my father has a spot in his heart for pea soup, I was quite lucky to happen upon this recipe. I halved it so it would fit in the slow cooker, and after four hours on High, the ingredients had turned into a savory, warm dinner for this snowy night. My family (one pea soup lover/carnivore, two vegetarians, and a health/comfort food lover) sat down to enjoy this soup and it repeatedly received excellent reviews! There isn't much left, but what is remaining will probably thicken over night. The soup was pretty watery when it was deemed "done," but that did not detract from its delicious flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BB2011 December 26, 2013

This turned out fantastic. Even picky DH loved it. Made as directed EXCEPT we added a ham bone. I don't think DH would have liked it as much without! We did use an immersion blender to blend it all with the addition of chunks of ham from the ham bone. Thanks, Debbwl, for helping me to get sweet potatoes into my DH's menu! Not made for any tag game, made just because I love Debbwl's recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees December 17, 2013

YUMMY!!! I tried both ways...puree'd and not. I prefer it not puree'd. The little bites of sweet potatoes make it a nice contrast. Thank you so much for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dizzyfreedom November 14, 2013

I did everything as written except that I replaced the celery with fennel. It turned out beautifully and had a nice depth of flavor. I didn't puree it since I was feeling lazy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian_in_the_Bay October 23, 2013

Fabulously delicious...healthy...easy...what else can I say? I didn't have an onion but never missed it. I blended it with my emulsion blender and it was oh so velvety and silky. Thanks for a recipe I will make again and again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taylor's Mommy January 13, 2013

Not much I can add to the other glowing reviews. Made as written, except for cutting recipe in half. Had trouble finding yellow split peas for some reason, but finally did, but I think this would work as well with green split peas. I am going to try a little cumin in it next time. Made for Fall 2012 PAC game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here November 02, 2012
Sweet Potato Split Pea Soup