Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato Split Pea Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato Split Pea Soup

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2011

      Great healthy soup and easy too! I stuck with the recipe, making just a few minor changes. I don't like celery so I left it out. I used 1 onion, which was probably a little less than 2 cups, Hungarian Paprika, 1/2 yellow & 1/2 green split peas and chick stock made from a paste (I'm currently out of homemade stock). I like the creamy texture so I pureed it all in the food processor and had a taste before putting it away. I'm excited to be taking some to work for lunch tomorrow.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      We eat lots of lentil and veg soups, so I don't give out 5 stars loosly! We loved this for the fact I had everything in it on hand, it was simple and it had excellent flavour and a little bite with the herbs ad spices in there. It made a lovely lunch for us and I've 8 generous serves sitting ready to go in the freezer. I took Sydney Mike's advice and crushed this with my potato masher for a lovely texture and I added a couple of tablespoons of red wine vinegar and some chopped parsley at the end. The vinegar is an amazing adition to lentil soups and I recommend it to you to try sometime.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      Wow, this soup is really, really yummy! It has a slightly sweet flavour from the sweet potato and carrot and yet a hearty touch from the spices. I particularly enjoyed the addition of thyme and laurel to it. I opted for the non pureed version and it was delicious and also very pretty! I only cooked my soup for 20 minutes as my lentils and veggies were perfectly done by then. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful recipe with us, Debbs! I cant wait to make it again! Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #19

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      Having been alerted that we had sweet potatoes that needed to be used up, and knowing that my father has a spot in his heart for pea soup, I was quite lucky to happen upon this recipe. I halved it so it would fit in the slow cooker, and after four hours on High, the ingredients had turned into a savory, warm dinner for this snowy night. My family (one pea soup lover/carnivore, two vegetarians, and a health/comfort food lover) sat down to enjoy this soup and it repeatedly received excellent reviews! There isn't much left, but what is remaining will probably thicken over night. The soup was pretty watery when it was deemed "done," but that did not detract from its delicious flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2013

      This turned out fantastic. Even picky DH loved it. Made as directed EXCEPT we added a ham bone. I don't think DH would have liked it as much without! We did use an immersion blender to blend it all with the addition of chunks of ham from the ham bone. Thanks, Debbwl, for helping me to get sweet potatoes into my DH's menu! Not made for any tag game, made just because I love Debbwl's recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2013

      YUMMY!!! I tried both ways...puree'd and not. I prefer it not puree'd. The little bites of sweet potatoes make it a nice contrast. Thank you so much for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2013

      I did everything as written except that I replaced the celery with fennel. It turned out beautifully and had a nice depth of flavor. I didn't puree it since I was feeling lazy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      Fabulously delicious...healthy...easy...what else can I say? I didn't have an onion but never missed it. I blended it with my emulsion blender and it was oh so velvety and silky. Thanks for a recipe I will make again and again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      Not much I can add to the other glowing reviews. Made as written, except for cutting recipe in half. Had trouble finding yellow split peas for some reason, but finally did, but I think this would work as well with green split peas. I am going to try a little cumin in it next time. Made for Fall 2012 PAC game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      I make split pea soup about once a week, and I have two recipes I go back and forth between. I decided to give this one a shot. The sweet potato adds a little sweetness, but it still tastes like split pea soup (which is a good thing to me). I love having a little extra vitamin A from the sweet potato. I'll definitely add this to my soup rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      This is such a delicious soup! It is most definately going on my regular soup list!!! The only change I made was to use all vegetable stock, instead of a combination of broth and water, and I did use Basic Light Vegetable Stock - which I highly recommend! I followed the other reviewer's lead and only pureed half with my immersion blender, which left a beautiful texture. This is SO good - thanks for posting it, Debb!!! Made for Holiday Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      mmm wonderful flavourful soup! DH loves it, me too! lots of flavour and quite hearty enough for supper. Loved addition of sweet potato, but we use yams around here instead, delicious combination. I pureed it, it came out a lovely thick soup with beautiful colour. We had it for supper tonight with roasted cheese sammies, yummy supper, thanks for posting I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      What a great combination split peas & sweet potatoes make, especially in a recipe like this one ~ Definitely a keeper! The recipe didn't call for peeling the potatoes (although that's what most would do, I'm sure) so I diced them small & with the peel & that worked out just fine for us! Then instead of pureeing the soup, I simply took a potato masher to about half of it & left the rest along! Couldn't have been better! Thanks for sharing it! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      My husband has to have soup everyday during Ramadan so I like to try new recipes to mix it up a little bit, and this one was great! I love split pea soup but never thought add sweet potatoes. Made for Ramadan Tag!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      I really liked this soup. The seasonings are subtle, yet very nice. I think it is a little sweet because of the sweet potatoes. Next time I think I would use half sweet potatoes and half white potatoes. I did not puree the soup and was surprised how the yellow split peas plumped up. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      This was a nice hearty soup but I did find that I missed the meat. I think that with some bacon added this would be perfect. Thanks Deb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      This was thoroughly enjoyable and a great way to eat a healthy array of vegies. I halved the recipe and pureed it and served it sprinkled with smoky paprika and chopped parsley - great colour and great taste !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      Made this last night, wanting a healthy but easy to digest supper for my son who had just come out of hospital. It had the added benefit of using up a lot of veggies from the fridge and pantry! We do not add a lot of seasoning, so found the amount of stock fine, allowing the taste of the veggies to come through. I chose not to puree the soup, since the family prefers soup chunky, and it was really good, I even had a little more as I cleaned the kitchen afterwards! And there is some left for DHs lunch today. I prepared some cheese/pesto bread slices to serve with it, and we all enjoyed an easy but really delicious supper, thanks Deb! Made for Vegetarian Swap#9, April 09 I

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      I thought this was very good. I make a similar soup with red lentils, but this was great too. I've never worked with split peas before, and it was about time! It was a little bland for my tastes (I suppose this would vary significantly depending on the content of your stock/bouillon). I added some Sel Fou (search for it, it's great!) and plain yogurt before serving. Bon Appetit! Reviewed for PAC 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato Split Pea Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (328 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 294.6
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    12%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 63.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.8 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 17.5 g
    70%
    Sugars 9.3 g
    37%
    Protein 15.5 g
    31%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    vegetable bouillon

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites