Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2012

      Quick, easy, tasty, healthy- what more could you want? I made it with lite coconut milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2012

      I used this for Thanksgiving leftovers with lots of substitutions:
      1 Chicken stock, not veg stock,
      2 Powdered spices, not fresh,
      3 Leftover sour cream, not coconut milk,
      4 Canned sweet potatoes, not fresh.

      Results: its still good. Not as good as using fresh ingredients, which I've also done, but still quite good.
      The big difference versus most American soups and chowders is using ginger/chile/cilantro vs. celery/onion/garlic. Also, there's no salt at all and you don't need it any.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      This is an excellent recipe, though I made a few minor changes. 1) I used dried chili flakes (~1 tbls) rather then the chillies. 2) I used Chicken Stock rather then veg. 3) about a tablespoon of dried coriander instead of the fresh. The soup was excellent, though I had expected it to be a touch thicker then it was due the the last time I had a sweet potato soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      I used chicken broth, ground cumin and lemon zest. No oil or chilies. Thank you for an excellent recipe. I have made it several times in the past 2 weeks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      Lovely soup recipe. Very rich and creamy from the coconut milk. Would need to follow with a less rich main dish. We really loved the subtle flavours. Followed the recipe exactly (2tbs ginger, 2 chillis deseeded and sweet). Thanks for a real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2006

      What a fabulous soup -- even if I did make quite a few alterations. I used only 1 tablespoon of grated ginger, no peppers, chicken broth, and 1 1/2 tablespoons grated lemon peel for the lemon grass. I was going to try several sweet potato soup recipes, but everyone liked this so much that they voted down that idea . A winner is a winner! It is easy to make, has a smooth and creamy texture, tastes quite rich, and is very filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2005

      Absolutely delicious soup! I omitted the chillies as was serving to children, but this soup was amazing. The flavours are subtle yet delicious. Thanks for sharing a great soup dish our family will have over and over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2003

      Good soup that also works in a crockpot. Quite spicy so be prepared!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2003

      A flavorful soup. I used reduced fat coconut milk and only 1 tablespoon of ginger. Everything about this soup exceed my expectation, from taste to texture and color. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (361 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 464.0
     
    Calories from Fat 241
    52%
    Total Fat 26.8 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 21.7 g
    108%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 144.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.6 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 13.5 g
    54%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemongrass

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites