57 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Everybody raved about it! I used 6 huge sweet potatoes--cooked them in the microwave. Added some cinnamon and cloves. The topping worked fine--crumbled like it should. I used some extra brown sugar (a little left in the box so I just dumped it in). I was concerned about cooking time---had to cook it about an hour until it tested done like a pumpkin pie. Also--I was concerned about using an egg beater as is says in the recipe. I used the Kitchen Aid and really whipped it. Did not puff up, but did not matter. I used 2 9X13 pans.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jurhee April 13, 2009

This is a real gem; I could have eaten the whole pan all by myself! Initially, it seems like this recipe would be heavy and rich because of the added sugar and evaporated milk, but it is surprisingly light and perfectly sweet! It is a great recipe to add to your Thanksgiving menu because you can make it in advance, store it in the fridge while the turkey is cooking, and then cook it while the turkey is "resting." Thanks for the great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Polar Bear December 28, 2005

This was fantastic. Definently more like a dessert than a side dish. I used 2% milk instead of the evap. milk & cut the butter in half in both the potatoes & the topping to a 1/2 stick (1/4c) each. Next time I will add only half a cup of the sugar in the potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef ChiSox#1 December 02, 2012

This was so good, for the holidays my Mother had always made a sweet potatoe recipe from canned yams with brown sugar and marshmallows and I couldn't even bring myself to try that overly sweet, sticky dish even though she loved it. She passed away this last year and I knew I had to have something like it on my Easter table so found this one and thought I'd try it. What a hit, it was just the right amount of sweetness and so light and tasty. I've been missing out all this time. Went great with our smoked Easter ham. Mine didn't poof up for some reason but the taste was sure there.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 April 09, 2012

Even my hubby who doesn't really like sweet potatoes was licking the bowl! I think it was the topping to make it try it. He LOVED it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bricks girl April 25, 2011

I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone who tried it really liked it. It didn't poof up like souffle, but was still tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPerez December 01, 2010

I am what one would call a "southern belle," and cook like one too. Being from Louisiana, this definitately passes the "comfort food" test with flying stars! I cook this every thanksgiving for my family. It tastes more like a dessert than a side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoBugsy September 04, 2010

This recipe was WONDERFUL and I know I'll be making it frequently! I agree with other reviewers that this was VERY sweet and I think next time, I'll halve the topping. I know the topping is supposed to turn out crumbly but mine didn't - it was just creamy - but it still baked up just fine and tasted terrific!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Smith March 04, 2010

Made for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! It was one of the first things gone! Printed the recipe multiple times throughout the weekend after many requests for it. Definitely very very sweet though. Should have been served with the desserts! Might reduce the sugar a little in the souffle next time but not much. It was too delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetSabrina December 31, 2009
Sweet Potato Souffle