Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato Souffle Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato Souffle

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on April 13, 2009

      Everybody raved about it! I used 6 huge sweet potatoes--cooked them in the microwave. Added some cinnamon and cloves. The topping worked fine--crumbled like it should. I used some extra brown sugar (a little left in the box so I just dumped it in). I was concerned about cooking time---had to cook it about an hour until it tested done like a pumpkin pie. Also--I was concerned about using an egg beater as is says in the recipe. I used the Kitchen Aid and really whipped it. Did not puff up, but did not matter. I used 2 9X13 pans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      This is a real gem; I could have eaten the whole pan all by myself! Initially, it seems like this recipe would be heavy and rich because of the added sugar and evaporated milk, but it is surprisingly light and perfectly sweet! It is a great recipe to add to your Thanksgiving menu because you can make it in advance, store it in the fridge while the turkey is cooking, and then cook it while the turkey is "resting." Thanks for the great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      This was fantastic. Definently more like a dessert than a side dish. I used 2% milk instead of the evap. milk & cut the butter in half in both the potatoes & the topping to a 1/2 stick (1/4c) each. Next time I will add only half a cup of the sugar in the potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      This was so good, for the holidays my Mother had always made a sweet potatoe recipe from canned yams with brown sugar and marshmallows and I couldn't even bring myself to try that overly sweet, sticky dish even though she loved it. She passed away this last year and I knew I had to have something like it on my Easter table so found this one and thought I'd try it. What a hit, it was just the right amount of sweetness and so light and tasty. I've been missing out all this time. Went great with our smoked Easter ham. Mine didn't poof up for some reason but the taste was sure there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      Even my hubby who doesn't really like sweet potatoes was licking the bowl! I think it was the topping to make it try it. He LOVED it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone who tried it really liked it. It didn't poof up like souffle, but was still tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      I am what one would call a "southern belle," and cook like one too. Being from Louisiana, this definitately passes the "comfort food" test with flying stars! I cook this every thanksgiving for my family. It tastes more like a dessert than a side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      This recipe was WONDERFUL and I know I'll be making it frequently! I agree with other reviewers that this was VERY sweet and I think next time, I'll halve the topping. I know the topping is supposed to turn out crumbly but mine didn't - it was just creamy - but it still baked up just fine and tasted terrific!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Made for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! It was one of the first things gone! Printed the recipe multiple times throughout the weekend after many requests for it. Definitely very very sweet though. Should have been served with the desserts! Might reduce the sugar a little in the souffle next time but not much. It was too delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

    • on December 11, 2009

      This was exactly what I was looking for. I substituted half Almond toffee coffee creamer half 2% milk for the evaporated milk and it was divine. I doubled it and took a very large dish of it to our church Christmas party and out of all the sweet potato dishes there (at least half a dozen) mine was the only one that was almost all gone. Thank you so much for posting. This recipe's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      Delicious. Simple to prepare. No leftovers! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      This is easily a 5 star recipe! I made it as written and it gets 5 stars from me. But, I do have some thoughts about it. First, it didn't puff like a souffle...but that was not an issue for me. Second, many reviewers are talking about the topping not crumbling. Mine didn't either but rather it came out like a pecan praline...which I thought was way better than a crumbly topping! I am going to see if I can tweek this recipe to make it a little healthier so that it can be a more regular staple and not just a holiday dish. I'll keep you posted. Thanks so much Northern Polar Bear for the amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I mede this for Thanksgiving this year and it was THE most commented on dish. Loved by all, mainly because of the wonderful crunch from the pecans. I skipped the coconut, only because I didn't have any on hand. Lovely and easy to make. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      I made half a recipe and was great. Loved it. Will make many times again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Very yummy. The only problem I had was the topping wasn't crumbly. I should have read all of the reviews before hand, because then I would have known to add more flour. Thank so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      This is amazing. I don't usually care for sweet potatoes, but I've never had them like this. Thanks for this recipe, I'll be using it often. Oh, I've made these twice. The first time with fresh sweet potatoes and the second time with canned. USE FRESH! The canned didn't come out nearly as well, people still liked it but I could tell a huge difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      This was delicious, I made it for Easter and we loved the coconut on the topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      I halfed the recipe for Christmas dinner and even then put only a quarter of the sugar and it was pretty sweet. Instead of coconut I chopped 1 apple and increased the flour to 3/4 c. and added cinnamon to the topping as someone else recommended. It was good but I think the sweet potatoes needed some additional flavoring like pineapple or orange juice. It's a good basic recipe, it just needs a little more for 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      Absolutely LOVED this recipe. I used 5 fairly large sweet potatoes, added extra vanilla, and cut out the coconut for the topping. It still turned out excellent and definitely could've served 15 people (though most of it was consumed by me!) It didn't rise as much as I thought it would either, and I found the topping difficult to "sprinkle" very the mixture. The butter made it very sticky and chunky, so I found myself tossing small balls of brown sugar and pecan instead. Regardless, can't wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato Souffle

    Serving Size: 1 (137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 375.1
     
    Calories from Fat 192
    51%
    Total Fat 21.3 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 87.0 mg
    29%
    Sodium 437.2 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 30.9 g
    123%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites