Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato (Queen) Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato (Queen) Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2013

      Well after reading all of the reviews I had high hopes for this recipe. I'm not one to criticize others but I made this and followed the recipe exactly and took the muffins to a family Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone who tried it took one bite and didn't want to finish it. I had alot of leftovers and I asked a few people if they liked them and they said it was ok. Needless to say, I am a little embarrassed and won't be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      Yum! The batter is thick but still made a tender muffin. I made 12 large muffins and they were delicious. Nice and healthy. So easy. I peeled, finely chopped the sweet potatoes and microwaved. Did not take long to prepare. Love this recipe. Next time I will add cranberries and maybe make 18 muffins. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2013

      FANTASTIC!! I love sweet potatoes and am a big fan of cornbread, so I just had to try this recipe. They were amazing! I will definitely be making this a lot. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2013

      I had 2 cups of Mashed Chipotle Sweet Potatoes in the refrigerator that needed to be used. I was thrilled to find this recipe. The amount of sugar was reduced somewhat as the potatoes already had sugar in them and it did require additional milk for the proper consistency. Gluten free ingredients were used and 1/2 tsp of Xantham Gum added to the dry ingredients. The yield was 15 beautiful, moist muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2012

      I made this recipe the other night and my boyfriend and I both really liked it. I didn't have my cupcake/muffin pan and had to put it in two round pans. I had a little bit of difficulty converting the cooking time from muffins to a bigger, regular pan. After the 20 minutes were up, the bread was still a little uncooked in the middle. I used two large sweet potatoes instead of 3, and I would suggest using the third to get a stronger sweet potato taste.

      We liked the sweet potato cornbread so much that we've been eating it for breakfast too. It's great! I definitely plan to make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      I have made this recipe twice now--once with sweet potatoes and once with canned pumpkin puree. Both turned out really great although I think the sweet potato flavor shines through a bit more than the pumpkin. I substituted agave nectar for the sugar, and one tbsp of nonfat plain yogurt for the oil. These are very moist, not too sweet and a more healthy version of cornbread. Went great with chipotle bbq chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      I made this for the first time tonight it is absolutely wonderful. I made the cornbread instead of the muffins and my family devoured it. Even my 2 1/2 year old son had seconds. I have to admit, after I mixed the ingredients together, I was a little nervous about the texture. The batter seemed very heavy and I was hoping it would not turn out gooey in the middle but it cooked perfectly and the texture was just right. I am also loving that it is relatively low in fat. This going on the Thanksgiving menu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      I can't even count how many healthy muffin recipes but this is a great base recipe to work from. I had a different goal for this muffin so I subbed a can of pumpkin for the sweet potatoes and I had arrowhead mills whole grain cornbread mix so I used 2 cups of that and no baking soda and salt. Also added about half a bag of chocolate chips. I really liked this cornbread version of pumpkin muffin , and the relatively low sugar amount in this recipe. My entire family enjoyed. thanks so much for the idea,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Very good! I added a can of cream style corn per another review. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Not usually a fan of cornbread but loved this one . I'm making this again today and had completly forgot to leave a review for this . I did use white cornmeal instead as I don't have the yellow kind . Very moist bread , unlike the plain regular cornbread . Thank you so much for agreat recipe .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      This is really outstanding cornbread! The sweet potatoes make it really moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

      really great! texture is lovely. I added a cup of corn to it, and used bread flour. This is probably going to be the only cornbread recipe I make...it's that good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2005

      Mummm... yummy. Thank you so much cookin4my3boys and also a big thank you to mom for sharing this truly wonderful recipe. These muffins are absolutely amazing ... the flavour, the texture ... and they are so easy to make. You won't believe how great they complitment chicken or pork. I wish I could give you more than just 5*'s, a new family favourite .. kudo's

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato (Queen) Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (55 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 121.7
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    24%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 21.3 mg
    7%
    Sodium 234.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites