Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato Polenta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato Polenta

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on July 31, 2003

      Mean Chef, this is really...the best polenta I have ever had in my entire life. I cant stop eating it. Dinner is over, and I keep going back to the pan and eating out of it... Im addicted lol Yummy definitely is the word!!!! This is POLENTA HEAVEN!!! The asiago really adds a nice flavor to it..its not too bold, but just a nice added flavor. Its not too sweet either! Its just P-E-R-F-E-C-T! This will be a regular around here... probably around the holidays! thanks so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      This took way longer than 35 minutes but it was worth it. The cream was too much, next time I'll milk. It could use a little kick, but not sure what the is, any suggestions? I'll make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      This was fantastic. I grilled sliced portobello mushrooms and put them on top along with some crumbled bacon and sauteed onions, which really complimented it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2005

      I loved the combo of brown sugar, cheese, and sweet potatoes when I mixed them together in my processor. I kept going back and sampling. I did not like the dish as much when I added it to the polenta. I felt the sweet potato flavor got "muddied" by the polenta. In retrospect, I think it was the cream that took over the dish. I think I might try it again, but without the cream. I do think the butter at the end helped the flavor, so I wouldn't recommend skipping it. Roxygirl in Colo.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      Mom gives this one a 6! Great recipe! The whole family, including Ellie (19 months) loved it! Very creamy and delish! I even used whole milk instead of the cream, and it tasted so rich to this skim milk drinker! Wouldn't change a thing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2003

      This is a really wonderful way to prepare polenta. The flavor was nice and mild, so I served it with a light (fresh) tomato marinara and it went suprisingly well together. Although it seems like a lot of brown sugar to add, the finished dish was not sweet and the sugar brought out that really nice sweet potato flavor. It did take a bit longer to prepare than the recipe indicates because I had to bake the sweet potatoes, but it was worth every extra minute. Everybody loved this, including the kids, so we'll be having this often! Thank you for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

    • on May 30, 2004

      I've been making polenta for more years than I care to remember, but never thought to add sweet potatoes to it. I'm so glad I tried this. Its wonderful in its own right, but also made an excellent side for baked ham. Thanks Meanie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2004

      We love polenta and sweet potatos so had to try this. So glad I did - it is so delicious. One of the best polenta recipes I've ever made. Followed directions exactly and it turned out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2004

      We loved this polenta! I'm not a fan of regular polenta, I think it's very bland, but this one is heavenly. Mild flavor, but it's such a nice complimentary side dish. We had it with some chicken, and even my kids liked it! Very creamy and not too sweet, and also very easy to make. The asiago cheese is a nice addition, too. Thanks Mean!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2003

      I Love this as a POLENTA Dish not so much as a SWEET POTATO dish. The sweet potato taste didn't seem to stand out, this may be because I used milk & 1/2 & 1/2 instead of cream. Very yummy side dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato Polenta

    Serving Size: 1 (226 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 401.1
     
    Calories from Fat 269
    67%
    Total Fat 29.9 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 18.3 g
    91%
    Cholesterol 108.6 mg
    36%
    Sodium 64.2 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 10.9 g
    43%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    asiago cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites