Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato Pie VI Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato Pie VI

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2002

      This pie was excellent! Very simple to make, not too sweet, and not too many spices fighting with each other. The recipe said it would make 2 pies, but I poured most of it into a 9" pie plate, and made one really nice pie. It did however, take one hour to cook, which is what Lennie estimated (when she graciously answered my post in Q & A). For those of you that don't know, which I didn't, a pie such as this one is done when a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. Again, this is simplicity at it's best! A real keeper. BTW, my husband requested this, and he's not really a pie person. He said it was "fantastic"! Thanks, Tonkcats!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2003

      I agree....this is so YUMMY! I used one large 29 ounce can of sweet potatoes in syrup. If you drain it and mash the sweet potatoes, it equals about 2 cups as the recipe calls for. I cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup to compensate for the sweetness added by the syrup the potatoes were canned in. I also made it into one good 9 inch pie. It baked up beautifully. I baked it on 425 for 20 minutes to brown the crust and then dropped it to 350 for the remainder of the 1 hour baking time. Fantastic and will make it again1

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      I love bread and pasta and potatoes and cookies and oh please let me have a slice of that sweet potato pie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      Loved this recipe. Never knew it was so easy to make a sweet potatoe pie. It was really tastey too. I made one big pie and baked for about 60 min and topped with lighty sweetened whipped cream. The whole family enjoyed it and I can't to make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      This was really good! I used a 29oz. can of drained sweet potatoes, and used 3/4c. of sugar as someone else reviewed. I cooked it for 1hr 20min. It came out perfect, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      It's my opinion that sweet potato pie is always better the next day & my personal perference: served cold. The seasonings have settled & pie is firm. However, I made it on Thanksgiving Day & made the mistake of adding a few mini marshmallows on top. Served warm..it was way too sweet...served cold much better. I didn't care for the flour addition, kinda downplays the wonderful spices added. Overall, not bad...tasted a similiar pie where pumpkin pie spice & a touch of lemon juice were added. I'd to try it that way, before I give up on this recipe idea. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      I love this recipe. I have tried many SPP recipes and could not get it right. I have mastered this one on the first try; however, I have to add an additional 1/2 to each of the ingredients because without the additionals, there is not enough to fill up the pie crust. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      I made this as a turkey sidedish, for thanksgiving. I used canned yams ( drained, of course) and I threw it all into the kitchenaid. I did reduce the nutmeg to 1/2 tsp. I poured this into 2 shells and baked . This took a bit longer than directed-about 1 hour total. I sprinkled cinnamon/brown sugar on the top. Everyone raved and devoured this! This is not overly sweet-just right. Thanks Tonkats-I will make again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      This is a fantastic recipe. Worthy of its 5 stars. I have made it twice now, following the recipe exactly (ingredient wise and it's come ou perfectly both times. I also made one deep dish pie and cooked it on 350 for about 1hr20min. It comes out perfect and there's enough batter left over to make some pre-eating ramikin pies w/o crust. This also allows my husband and I to enjoy the pie before anyone else, lol. Served with homemade whipped cream, it's just delicious. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      I doubled the recipe to make 2 pies (one recipe made just a little more than one deep dish pie). In reading the reviews, I acknowledged that this really does need to cook for approximately one hour - 30 minutes and the pie had not set. Now on to the good stuff - excellent Sweet Potato Pie. One of the best recipes I have ever tried. Just the right amount of sugar and spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      Great recipe. I added a little more cinnamon just because I love cinnamon. This is the closest recipe I have found to the one my grandmother made. My grandkids love it and wanted me to make more!! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Amazing! I made this pie as directed, except I omitted the nutmeg as I do not care for it. To make the crust I used Bobs Red Mill whole wheat pastry flour. Topped with lightly sweetend bourbon whippng cream and chopped toasted peacans. Everyone loved it!! Definately a recipe to keep!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Wow - this is a wonderul reciepe! My whole family agrees it is the BEST EVER!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

    • on July 12, 2009

      Very nice pie, we really didn't expect it to taste so goood !! I made one big pie and used frozen short crust pastry as a base... Thanks.. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      I put all the ingredients into a blender. Also used 15 oz can of sweet taters and got a tastier, milder version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      So simple & so good and not too sweet. Served it with a dollop of Cool Whip and sprinkling of pecans. Looked good and tasted even better. Flavor seemed to get better with each passing day. A keeper for sure and on next year's Thanks. menu(replacing pumpkin pie).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

    • on October 24, 2008

      I have never made or even eaten sweet potato pie before, therefore I had no real expectations. THIS IS WONDERFUL!!! People at our party mistook it for pumpkin pie, they LOVED it. The spices are perfect! I liked it b/c I had all the ingredients on hand and loved how you mixed it all in one bowl. I used CANNED sweet potatoes, nonfat evaporated milk, refrigerated rolled pie crust and made only one pie. Cooked it about 45min. I'll make this again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato Pie VI

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 309.7
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    44%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 58.9 mg
    19%
    Sodium 423.2 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 17.7 g
    71%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites