33 Reviews

This pie was excellent! Very simple to make, not too sweet, and not too many spices fighting with each other. The recipe said it would make 2 pies, but I poured most of it into a 9" pie plate, and made one really nice pie. It did however, take one hour to cook, which is what Lennie estimated (when she graciously answered my post in Q & A). For those of you that don't know, which I didn't, a pie such as this one is done when a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. Again, this is simplicity at it's best! A real keeper. BTW, my husband requested this, and he's not really a pie person. He said it was "fantastic"! Thanks, Tonkcats!

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao July 28, 2002

I agree....this is so YUMMY! I used one large 29 ounce can of sweet potatoes in syrup. If you drain it and mash the sweet potatoes, it equals about 2 cups as the recipe calls for. I cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup to compensate for the sweetness added by the syrup the potatoes were canned in. I also made it into one good 9 inch pie. It baked up beautifully. I baked it on 425 for 20 minutes to brown the crust and then dropped it to 350 for the remainder of the 1 hour baking time. Fantastic and will make it again1

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Poohbear Pam November 06, 2003

I love bread and pasta and potatoes and cookies and oh please let me have a slice of that sweet potato pie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng November 27, 2012

Loved this recipe. Never knew it was so easy to make a sweet potatoe pie. It was really tastey too. I made one big pie and baked for about 60 min and topped with lighty sweetened whipped cream. The whole family enjoyed it and I can't to make it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHMommy July 14, 2012

This was really good! I used a 29oz. can of drained sweet potatoes, and used 3/4c. of sugar as someone else reviewed. I cooked it for 1hr 20min. It came out perfect, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmsbin November 26, 2010

It's my opinion that sweet potato pie is always better the next day & my personal perference: served cold. The seasonings have settled & pie is firm. However, I made it on Thanksgiving Day & made the mistake of adding a few mini marshmallows on top. Served warm..it was way too sweet...served cold much better. I didn't care for the flour addition, kinda downplays the wonderful spices added. Overall, not bad...tasted a similiar pie where pumpkin pie spice & a touch of lemon juice were added. I'd to try it that way, before I give up on this recipe idea. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Treenie November 23, 2012

I love this recipe. I have tried many SPP recipes and could not get it right. I have mastered this one on the first try; however, I have to add an additional 1/2 to each of the ingredients because without the additionals, there is not enough to fill up the pie crust. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teawoody April 14, 2010

I made this as a turkey sidedish, for thanksgiving. I used canned yams ( drained, of course) and I threw it all into the kitchenaid. I did reduce the nutmeg to 1/2 tsp. I poured this into 2 shells and baked . This took a bit longer than directed-about 1 hour total. I sprinkled cinnamon/brown sugar on the top. Everyone raved and devoured this! This is not overly sweet-just right. Thanks Tonkats-I will make again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petlover November 26, 2009

This is a fantastic recipe. Worthy of its 5 stars. I have made it twice now, following the recipe exactly (ingredient wise and it's come ou perfectly both times. I also made one deep dish pie and cooked it on 350 for about 1hr20min. It comes out perfect and there's enough batter left over to make some pre-eating ramikin pies w/o crust. This also allows my husband and I to enjoy the pie before anyone else, lol. Served with homemade whipped cream, it's just delicious. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocoholic Fiend November 26, 2009

I doubled the recipe to make 2 pies (one recipe made just a little more than one deep dish pie). In reading the reviews, I acknowledged that this really does need to cook for approximately one hour - 30 minutes and the pie had not set. Now on to the good stuff - excellent Sweet Potato Pie. One of the best recipes I have ever tried. Just the right amount of sugar and spice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K in LA November 24, 2009
Sweet Potato Pie VI