Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato Pie

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2010

      Great recipe! I actually doubled the spices because we like our sweet potato pie spicy down in the south. My husband and friends loved it. I even gave some to my friends parents and they said it was the best sweet potato pie they had ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2002

      Yummy! I couldn't wait until Thanksgiving to make this. Had to have it now. This tasted just the way my grandmother's did. Rich and flavorful sweet potato filling with a slight spiced touch. Thanks Nurse Di for a wonderful, comforting pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      Yuppers is yummy, but for true southern yum bump up those spices by at least 1/2 and neither orange or lemon zest not hurt it....and for those that like it a little sweeter, maybe if you make two try a thin layer of streusel topping on one....and that's what I like about the south.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      I doubled the recipe to make two 9" pies....I added 1/3 cup EXTRA sugar....I started baking the pies at 425 then reduced to 325 rather than 350 degrees because I was afraid the edges of the pie crust were cooking too fast...the pies baked a total of 55 minutes at 325 degrees plus the 15 minutes at 425....Sweet potato pie is one of my favorites and this recipe is a winner.....the texture and taste were perfect...thank you for posting!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      I had an abundance of sweet potatoes I needed to use so when my husband requested a sweet potato pie I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. As some other reviewers suggested, I doubled the spices and this turned out to be the best sweet potato pie we have ever had! My family has told me to make sure I keep this recipe in a safe place because it's the only one they want from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      I had never made any kind of pie before and found this to be an extremely easy recipe. Our home smelled wonderful as this baked and the result... delicious! Actually was even better than the traditional pumpkin pie we have at thanksgiving dinner. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2003

      My parents were over for dinner and this is what I made for dessert. Another easy, no-fuss recipe that a busy woman like me appreciates. I used store-bought pie crust dough which made it even easier. The filling was creamy and delicately spiced. A perfect ending to a perfect meal. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2002

      This was really good...not too much sugar or spices like a lot I've tasted. Easy to make. It was just right! Had to cook about 55 minutes though, too mushy after 35-40.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      Delicious! I made this with purple yams (from the asian market) and it was gorgeous AND tasty! My advice for future cooks would be to make sure your butter is softened and really mash the potatoes well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2014

      Born and raised in Mississippi I ate a ton of sweet potatoes growing up..baked, fried, casserole, and, of course, my favorite, pies! Also good with lemon instead of the spices. Either way, it's gotta be topped with whipped cream or topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

      I usually don't like sweet potato or pumpkin pie, but my sister wanted two for her Thanksgiving gathering. I found this recipe and completely changed my mind! After reading the reviews, I did double the spices, and added a LITTLE ground cloves. It was fabulous! We made one with a graham cracker crust and one with a regular pie crust. Almost everyone preferred the graham cracker crust, me included.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      I grew up baking with my mom. We have always had way too much food at every single family event! But we never had sweet potato pie, which I recently discovered is my favorite pie! I decided to try my hand at this recipe for Thanksgiving. I cannot stress this enough.... this pie turned out amazing! I had a slice, and I must say that it was the best piece of any pie I have ever had! I added about a 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie seasoning by McCormick. I highly recommend this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      This is a fantastic pie! Very light and creamy, not too sweet. I doubled the cinnamon, but made no other changes. Next time I would stir the cinnamon and nutmeg into the sugar in the beginning to prevent the spices from clumping. To make the mashed sweet potatoes, I peeled and diced 2 large sweet potatoes (the orange ones that the grocery store calls yams) and boiled until a paring knife easily pierced the potatoes. Then I mashed them up by giving them a whirl in my stand mixer. This made well over 2 cups. Easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      A-MA-ZING! Creamy, melt in your mouth delicious. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      This was a hit with my friends (and myself). I followed others' advice and threw in a little extra sugar and spice - absolutely delish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      Great recipe. Subbed the evaporated milk with regular 2% and soft margarine for the butter. All in all great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      So yummy, I added an extra half teaspoon of cinnamon and a few tablespoons extra sugar, DELICIOUS and will def make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      Well holiday time is a bit unusual in my household.. my husband is from the south (his mom was a REAL southern cook!) and my family is white and Jewish.... but I doubled the spices and made this pie for dessert for our Holiday Dinner... this was BEYOND a hit. Its EASY and tastes like you spent hours slaving over it. DEFINETLY worth the effort

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      Mmmmm! I had never tried sweet potato pie before so I wanted to make it for Thanksgiving. It was a huge hit! I left out the nutmeg because we have some picky eaters and added just a dash more cinnamon and it was delicious. Super easy to make, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      I used our leftover candied sweet potatoes from the holidays and it was fantastic. I also added some pecans to the top and this pie was the best. It was wonderful. I will continue to use your recipe (my family wont let me try another...lol) for my sweet potato pies. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 459.1
     
    Calories from Fat 219
    47%
    Total Fat 24.3 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 98.2 mg
    32%
    Sodium 687.5 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 23.1 g
    92%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites