71 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe! I actually doubled the spices because we like our sweet potato pie spicy down in the south. My husband and friends loved it. I even gave some to my friends parents and they said it was the best sweet potato pie they had ever had.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeatnikIvy May 02, 2010

Yummy! I couldn't wait until Thanksgiving to make this. Had to have it now. This tasted just the way my grandmother's did. Rich and flavorful sweet potato filling with a slight spiced touch. Thanks Nurse Di for a wonderful, comforting pie.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust October 16, 2002

Yuppers is yummy, but for true southern yum bump up those spices by at least 1/2 and neither orange or lemon zest not hurt it....and for those that like it a little sweeter, maybe if you make two try a thin layer of streusel topping on one....and that's what I like about the south.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Ferret November 19, 2010

I doubled the recipe to make two 9" pies....I added 1/3 cup EXTRA sugar....I started baking the pies at 425 then reduced to 325 rather than 350 degrees because I was afraid the edges of the pie crust were cooking too fast...the pies baked a total of 55 minutes at 325 degrees plus the 15 minutes at 425....Sweet potato pie is one of my favorites and this recipe is a winner.....the texture and taste were perfect...thank you for posting!!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetOlive November 24, 2009

I had an abundance of sweet potatoes I needed to use so when my husband requested a sweet potato pie I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. As some other reviewers suggested, I doubled the spices and this turned out to be the best sweet potato pie we have ever had! My family has told me to make sure I keep this recipe in a safe place because it's the only one they want from now on.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tunnia May 27, 2013

I had never made any kind of pie before and found this to be an extremely easy recipe. Our home smelled wonderful as this baked and the result... delicious! Actually was even better than the traditional pumpkin pie we have at thanksgiving dinner. Excellent!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoydaP November 26, 2009

My parents were over for dinner and this is what I made for dessert. Another easy, no-fuss recipe that a busy woman like me appreciates. I used store-bought pie crust dough which made it even easier. The filling was creamy and delicately spiced. A perfect ending to a perfect meal. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madison County October 22, 2003

This was really good...not too much sugar or spices like a lot I've tasted. Easy to make. It was just right! Had to cook about 55 minutes though, too mushy after 35-40.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
75violets December 22, 2002

Delicious! I made this with purple yams (from the asian market) and it was gorgeous AND tasty! My advice for future cooks would be to make sure your butter is softened and really mash the potatoes well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily Elizabeth April 15, 2009

I enjoyed this recipe 3 ways for Christmas with the fam. One exactly to the recipe, one with splenda, maple extract, and bacon, and the last as a triple layer in a spring form with a cheesecake layer and a streussel layer. All were wonderful, but none were the gorgeous bright orange of the photo. I prefer these to any pumpkin pie I've ever had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie December 29, 2014
Sweet Potato Pie