8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made exactly as directed, other than that we don't get the really orange sweet potato here, so I didn't benefit from the attractive colour!!!! Nutritious and delicious, this made a good supper and I kept the extra for office lunches, yum! I didn't use the baking paper, and I used a rocket (arugula) pesto that I had purchased in our local market, very nice!! Simply prepared, I very much enjoyed this, thank you Jubes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth December 11, 2009

This was a different sort of taste combination for me, and it was really good! I loved the addition of sun-dried tomato pesto. Yum. I did substitute sour cream for the yogurt, and used two whole eggs and the rest egg whites. My translation for the Americans~ For the orange sweet potatoes use yams, not what we call sweet potatoes. Parchment paper is the same as baking paper. I used a 9x11 pan. By my calculations, that gives 6 more square inches, so I just measured everything with a slightly heavy hand. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BumblingB's February 03, 2008

This was really tasty! I steamed the sweet potatoes, and gently fried the onions and pine nuts in the oil. Dave says he's having the leftovers for breakfast - like they'll still be there in the morning! Thanks for a fab recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina and Dave January 05, 2008

This is really tasty. The kind of slice you'd expect to buy in an upmarket cafe. I did a half batch but I didn't do the baking paper thing, just cooked the veggies in my pyrex dish & added the egg mixture straight in once sufficently cooled. I used a red onion & the remainder of my jar of sun-dried tomato pesto. This is great warm or cold.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** December 15, 2007

OUTSTANDING as can be! DEFINATE keeper this is for me! Used red onions as is personal taste, TRUE! Also used 2 eggs, 6 egg whites as have to watch cholestrol too! Next time might not use baking paper but use oil spray, This recipe MADE MY DAY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder December 08, 2007

Really great slice. I used fresh kumera and "normal" pesto...the final product was VERY tasty. This was part of my daughter's 18th birthday brunch and it was very well received...not even enough crumbs to feed a mouse. (: Thanks, Jubes. Will make this again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Good Thing September 15, 2007

This recipe was perfect just the way it's written, but I doubt I'll make it again without accompanying it with (Um Safia's) Watercress Taboulleh with Oranges & Almonds which is a most perfect combination! And, cold for breakfast or lunch is just right. The pesto used was the one from (Canary Girl's) Linguini with Shrimp & Hazelnut Pesto. That's a lot of nuts! Now, I'll have to find a great roasted Veg Pesto recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slewfoot Sue July 29, 2007

OUTSTANDING!!! This is my kinda slice...I chose to make mine using sun dried tomato pesto. The only change I made was to replace the parsley with basil as that is what I had on hand...oh yeah and subbed the yogurt for sour cream...once again because that is what I had. Thanks so much for for sharing!!! :)reviewed for Spring 2007 Pick A Chef

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie May 16, 2007
Sweet Potato, Pesto & Pine Nut Slice