16 Reviews

My husband's comment "This is definitely a do-over!" Delicious! Tasted like a pecan pie with a little texture of pumpkin pie. I added more of each spice, used brown sugar instead of white, and half corn syrup/half maple syrup (recommended by another reviewer). While the filling wasn't super-shallow in the pie dish, I would agree with other's recommendations to double/increase the filling. This is such a good pie you're going to want more of it anyways!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HawaiianBaker April 05, 2012

Fabulous pie. You know it had to come from New Orleans where decadence is an art form.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bren in LR June 11, 2010

Nancy, The Wife and I love both Sweet Potato pie and Pecan pie. This Marriage was GREAT. Thanks, and be assured this will appear on our table many, many times in the future. (I've already been told) :O) Cap'n Jack

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Firehousecook AKA Cap'n Jack January 14, 2010

I took another reviewers advice and I added 1T of bourbon to the filling. I also doubled the filling except I left the white sugar at 1/4 cup and added 1/2 cup brown sugar. I used Karo brown sugar corn syrup for the dark corn syrup and added natural maple flavoring. I added a pinch of cloves to the filling and 1/2t of fresh ground nutmeg. I think I only baked it about 50 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindyCRNA November 14, 2009

Fabulous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newton's Mom March 04, 2009

I am giving this a five star rating because to do otherwise would not be fair. I did change this greatly though. First I used Splenda in the pumpkin layer. Secondly I left out completely the sugar in the top layer and used only the corn syrup. The results a lower carb version and less sweet. I was recieved rave reviews and a thanks giving a less sweet option.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maeven6 November 24, 2008

hands down, the best sweet potato-pecan pie recipe I have ever tried...and I have tried many! Perfect texture and not too sweet. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie #7 April 20, 2008

My husband started the day a week or two ago saying he wanted sweet potato pie so we went looking for one to make. I took a Pillsbury crust from the freezer and let it defrost while we searched. We came across this one and he decided instantly that it was what he wanted. We really enjoyed it, but thought that there was not enough sweet potato filling. Next time we'd double the sweet potato part and leave the pecan topping the same. It really is the best of both worlds, though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit December 16, 2007

Wonderful!! I don't usually like pecan pie (too sweet for my taste) but added with the sweet potatoes, this recipe is excellent! It will definitely be a holiday staple at my home.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixitrix December 02, 2007

Very delicious and great combination of sweet potato and pecan. Perfect level of sweetness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina.MD November 30, 2007
Sweet Potato-Pecan Pie