Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato & Pear Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato & Pear Soup

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2010

      I had this recipe before and lost it so happy to find it here. I have made it tons of times. I always saute the onion, celery and carrot for at least 20 min on a low heat to build the flavors then follow as directed. If I don't have pears I use apples. The other thing I do is strain it at the end. Makes a really velvety consistency. There is only a couple of tbsp of stuff to strain out but it saves you from getting a string of celery and again it makes a wonderful consistency. I don't use the maple syrup the sweet potatoes make it sweet enough. Love this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      Very good! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      A perfect 10 is what I'd give this soup! I found the recipe in a thread discussing an over-abundance of pears and what to do with them; so glad that I clicked SAVE and had the chance to make it on this soggy/chilly day. Followed the directions exactly; tasted it and added a pinch of cayenne pepper to it to give it the tiniest bit of heat. Served with grilled ham and Swiss cheese sandwiches with cranberry mustard and a bitter green salad. We all begged for more! I'll be making this at least once a month, it's THAT good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      INCREDIBLE!!!! wow.. the whole family loved it.. i made it for thanksgiving this past wknd (i'm from canada) and everyone went crazy over it! my nona was practically licking her bowl! I added some garlic and cinnamon, other then that i follwed the recipe exactly.. just doubled it as i had to serve it to 10 ppl. thanks for the amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      This soup is fantastic, my girlfriend and room-mate were hesitant to try it, but they did, and there was nothing left over. It was a little too sweet for me, so I'll probably leave out the maple syrup, and try a little bit of maple extract next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      This is GREAT! If only more than 5 I could rate! Interesting combination! We thoroughly enjoyed this soup with elation! For whipping cream, used light evaporated milk, Rolled onto the tastebuds like silk! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I loved this three out of my four children liked it also. I made a double batch and have frozen some for me later. Thanks for the great idea

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      Saw this in yesterday's recipe reviews and had a few sweet potatoes to use. It was incredibly different - we ate the salmon first, the the soup "before" dessert - and it was truly tasty !!Prepared exactly according to the recipe, we have some for lunch tomorrow. Took MORE than 10 miutes to prep, but as long as you have the kitchen to yourself, is OK. I will make this again for an appreciative guest list. Thanks, Strawberry Girl !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      Really thick and amazing soup. Loved it so much that I wish I had doubled the recipe! Thanks for submitting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      Great recipe! Sweet, but not too sweet! Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      This was really good, but a little too sweet for me. (I'm not really into pears). I still liked it though. But the lime juice is a must! If you think it tastes good without it, you have to add it. The lime juice really complements the soup. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2004

      I made this recipe for my Valentine's Day Dinner, and it was a smash! I substituted apple for the pear, and didn't use the lime juice or maple syrup. But other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Great recipe, highly reccomended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato & Pear Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (287 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 123.3
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    18%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 3.8 mg
    1%
    Sodium 91.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes