23 Reviews

A lovely starter or light lunch option. I choose not to use the white wine and felt it lacked a little bit of flavor as a result. Added a bit of garlic powder and a liberal bit of sea salt and that really seemed to do the trick. Served it with pear chips and some additional Greek yogurt. Delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni March 19, 2006

I hate to be the sole dissenter on this but we didn't like this. I added a bit of garlic per suggestions and added hot sauce for heat to try to rescue it. It was just too sweet, it tasted like baby food to me. I am not rating it because I may have messed up or it may not have been to our taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swiz58 July 13, 2012

Delicious! This was a delicate and smooth flavor. I did not use the wine, but opted to add extra vegetable stock instead. I used canned pears and I'm sure it would be delicious with fresh pears as well. Topped with fresh mint and greek yogurt. Very good. Made and Reviewed for EveryDay Holiday Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ December 09, 2008

This is really good! I cut the recipe in half and used a mixture of sweet potato and yam. I used canned pears, but will be trying it with fresh next time. I used the yogurt and sprinkled the top with a little Bo-Kaap Cape Malay Curry Powder - South African Spice Mixture . I also did the day ahead option, and it reheated nicely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here November 24, 2008

this soup is fantastic, the only change I made was add in some fresh garlic and only used about 1 cup Greek yogurt, great recipe, thanks for sharing bluemoon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz October 01, 2008

Easy and perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JiliBean January 18, 2008

This is good and you were right it does freeze well, the taste is still great if not better. I garnished with plain yogurt and parsley with a slice of dark rye bread for a weekday lunch, quite nice thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO March 07, 2007

Yummy!! I only made 1/2 a batch b/c I only had one can of pears. I used a dark orange sweet potato and the soup has a wonderful, almost pink-orange color. I added a couple of tablespoons of dry sherry instead of the wine and used a stick blender to puree. Fabulous. The baby had some too. :) I'll be making this again and next time I'll make a full batch. I put the leftovers in the freezer, so I'll update my review later.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dicentra January 12, 2007

I thought it tasted just like pumpkin soup, except a little sweeter. Perhaps even sickly. I much prefer pumpkin soup, and considering the price of pears and sweet potatoes, it's more economical to make pumpkin soup, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phraser January 05, 2007

delicious! :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patchwork Dragon October 10, 2006
Sweet Potato & Pear Soup