23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Tasty and healthy. I followed the directions except for the white wine. Very different and of course, slightly sweet. Very good with crusty bread. The second bowl I added some hot sauce, YUMMY. Made for PotLuck Tag 09. Thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 January 21, 2009

Delicious! I made with vegetable broth and some dry sherry that I had lying around, then also tossed some bleu d'auvergne into the bowl while the soup was still hot. Pears and blue cheese are always a good combination. I was surprised that no other seasoning was needed!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goodag January 02, 2009

After reading the other reviews, when I made this recipe I cut it in half & minced a clove of garlic to include in this VERY, VERY TASTY SOUP! Definitely a recipe I want to make for company another time! Thanks for posting it! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike October 23, 2008

Different, beautiful and very tasty! I followed the recipe and did use fresh pears and the wine ( one of those single serve bottles). I thought the wine made the soup taste even sweeter (when it is sweet to begin with). I might reduce the wine next time. I have only been using wine in food prep for about 8 months now so maybe I picked the wrong kind (I chose dry chardonay). I jumped the gun and used 8 cups of vegi broth to start with so my soup was very runny. Definetly will use 5-6 cups next time as I enjoy thicker soups. Even with my cooking hiccups as I am still a fairly new chef... This was a great soup! Thanks bluemoon downunder! When I want to make unique hidden treasures to wow my guests I always browse thought your recipes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wobin March 23, 2009

Wow, so tasty! I used a homemade chicken stock which I think really made a difference. I also added the wine. I used fresh pears. A delicious recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitzy December 03, 2008

Scaled this back for 4-5 serves, making yesterday to serve 1/2 today and freeze the remainder to see how it goes. The DM and I have enjoyed this very much for a light lunch, there is just a light sweetness from the pears which is different to the sweet potatoe and I did use light sour cream as I didn't have yoghurt and it gave just a hint of acidity, served with some buttered toast was a great lunch. I used fresh packham pears and blended in the pot using a stick blender leaving a few chunky bits. Thank you bluemoon downunder for a great recipe, made for Please Review My Recipe. UPDATE - have since defrosted (once in the fridge and the other in the microwave) and both reconstituted well and were just as delicious as the original recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat December 01, 2008

This recipe is a beautiful, autumn color, and tastes great. I added garlic as suggested by other reviewers, cut the recipe in half, and now wish I hadn't! This is a very flavorful soup. Made for Please Review My Recipe Tag. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom October 30, 2008

Very good, sweet, awesome for using up extra pears from my tree. Added a little salt, garlic then nutmeg on top. Thanks for an excellent recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marci September 09, 2008

The flavor is a different than any soup I have made before, but I really liked it. It was a big hit with my husband too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sanixt October 17, 2006

Outstanding is the word for this soup! I have to admit that I was more than a bit hesitant about the ingredients but I jumped in anyway and made it according to directions, except for the yogurt. Wow...I brought it to work for my lunch today and had to fight my way out of the lunch room. Several people asked what smelt so good! I had to promise to send the recipe to several.....so I know that there will be more converts in the near future! I am going to have another bowl for dinner tonight and freeze the rest...to be enjoyed at later date! Thanks so much, Bluemoon, for sharing this winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfletcher September 28, 2006
Sweet Potato & Pear Soup