Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato & Pear Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato & Pear Soup

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2009

      Tasty and healthy. I followed the directions except for the white wine. Very different and of course, slightly sweet. Very good with crusty bread. The second bowl I added some hot sauce, YUMMY. Made for PotLuck Tag 09. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Delicious! I made with vegetable broth and some dry sherry that I had lying around, then also tossed some bleu d'auvergne into the bowl while the soup was still hot. Pears and blue cheese are always a good combination. I was surprised that no other seasoning was needed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      After reading the other reviews, when I made this recipe I cut it in half & minced a clove of garlic to include in this VERY, VERY TASTY SOUP! Definitely a recipe I want to make for company another time! Thanks for posting it! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      Different, beautiful and very tasty! I followed the recipe and did use fresh pears and the wine ( one of those single serve bottles). I thought the wine made the soup taste even sweeter (when it is sweet to begin with). I might reduce the wine next time. I have only been using wine in food prep for about 8 months now so maybe I picked the wrong kind (I chose dry chardonay). I jumped the gun and used 8 cups of vegi broth to start with so my soup was very runny. Definetly will use 5-6 cups next time as I enjoy thicker soups. Even with my cooking hiccups as I am still a fairly new chef... This was a great soup! Thanks bluemoon downunder! When I want to make unique hidden treasures to wow my guests I always browse thought your recipes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      Wow, so tasty! I used a homemade chicken stock which I think really made a difference. I also added the wine. I used fresh pears. A delicious recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      Scaled this back for 4-5 serves, making yesterday to serve 1/2 today and freeze the remainder to see how it goes. The DM and I have enjoyed this very much for a light lunch, there is just a light sweetness from the pears which is different to the sweet potatoe and I did use light sour cream as I didn't have yoghurt and it gave just a hint of acidity, served with some buttered toast was a great lunch. I used fresh packham pears and blended in the pot using a stick blender leaving a few chunky bits. Thank you bluemoon downunder for a great recipe, made for Please Review My Recipe. UPDATE - have since defrosted (once in the fridge and the other in the microwave) and both reconstituted well and were just as delicious as the original recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      This recipe is a beautiful, autumn color, and tastes great. I added garlic as suggested by other reviewers, cut the recipe in half, and now wish I hadn't! This is a very flavorful soup. Made for Please Review My Recipe Tag. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      Very good, sweet, awesome for using up extra pears from my tree. Added a little salt, garlic then nutmeg on top. Thanks for an excellent recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      The flavor is a different than any soup I have made before, but I really liked it. It was a big hit with my husband too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      Outstanding is the word for this soup! I have to admit that I was more than a bit hesitant about the ingredients but I jumped in anyway and made it according to directions, except for the yogurt. Wow...I brought it to work for my lunch today and had to fight my way out of the lunch room. Several people asked what smelt so good! I had to promise to send the recipe to several.....so I know that there will be more converts in the near future! I am going to have another bowl for dinner tonight and freeze the rest...to be enjoyed at later date! Thanks so much, Bluemoon, for sharing this winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      A lovely starter or light lunch option. I choose not to use the white wine and felt it lacked a little bit of flavor as a result. Added a bit of garlic powder and a liberal bit of sea salt and that really seemed to do the trick. Served it with pear chips and some additional Greek yogurt. Delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      I hate to be the sole dissenter on this but we didn't like this. I added a bit of garlic per suggestions and added hot sauce for heat to try to rescue it. It was just too sweet, it tasted like baby food to me. I am not rating it because I may have messed up or it may not have been to our taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Delicious! This was a delicate and smooth flavor. I did not use the wine, but opted to add extra vegetable stock instead. I used canned pears and I'm sure it would be delicious with fresh pears as well. Topped with fresh mint and greek yogurt. Very good. Made and Reviewed for EveryDay Holiday Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      This is really good! I cut the recipe in half and used a mixture of sweet potato and yam. I used canned pears, but will be trying it with fresh next time. I used the yogurt and sprinkled the top with a little Bo-Kaap Cape Malay Curry Powder - South African Spice Mixture . I also did the day ahead option, and it reheated nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      this soup is fantastic, the only change I made was add in some fresh garlic and only used about 1 cup Greek yogurt, great recipe, thanks for sharing bluemoon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Easy and perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      This is good and you were right it does freeze well, the taste is still great if not better. I garnished with plain yogurt and parsley with a slice of dark rye bread for a weekday lunch, quite nice thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      Yummy!! I only made 1/2 a batch b/c I only had one can of pears. I used a dark orange sweet potato and the soup has a wonderful, almost pink-orange color. I added a couple of tablespoons of dry sherry instead of the wine and used a stick blender to puree. Fabulous. The baby had some too. :) I'll be making this again and next time I'll make a full batch. I put the leftovers in the freezer, so I'll update my review later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      I thought it tasted just like pumpkin soup, except a little sweeter. Perhaps even sickly. I much prefer pumpkin soup, and considering the price of pears and sweet potatoes, it's more economical to make pumpkin soup, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      delicious! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato & Pear Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (376 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 223.6
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    13%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 5.7 mg
    1%
    Sodium 643.6 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 17.7 g
    70%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Greek yogurt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes