7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this for dinner a couple of nights ago... did a single serving since I'm now the only one in that eats sweet potatoes. I really enjoyed how the caramelized onions perked things up. I prefer my sweet potato savory...no brown sugar or marshmallows, so this is a perfect recipe for me. I did make one tiny change, and that was to add about a Tbs. of milk as well to the potato when mashing it. Will definitely be making this again in the future as a side for chicken, turkey or fish. Thanks for sharing this recipe I'm Pat. Made and reviewed for the August 2013 AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate August 21, 2013

These are so good! I love sweet potatoes and caramelised onions so putting them together was perfect. Made as written and served with meatloaf. Definately going to make these again! Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH October 02, 2012

*Made for Australia/NZ Swap # 59* Sweet potatoes cooked in record time and onions caramelized when ready to serve. This is a new delicious method for us, since we mostly bake. A great Winter-time dish. Thanks for posting, Pat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney December 18, 2011

As fans of caramelized onions and sweet potatoes both we thought this was delicious. I made as written and we all cleaned up every last bite. Thanks so much for the tasty side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl November 27, 2011

We enjoyed this thanks Pat. I added in some garlic after the onion was caramelised and wish I'd had some parsley or lemon thyme to finish the dish of with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS November 10, 2011

Thank you for such an inspiring dish. Do you know how much I've been pondering sweet potatoes lately? Sweet potato pie, sweet potato casserole, candied sweet potatoes, sweet potato fries, sweet potato biscuits... No, of course not, but I'm delighted just the same. Made for A-NZ Reunion Recipe Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng November 08, 2011

Simple and delicious. Made for Everyday Holiday Tag Game. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama July 08, 2011
Sweet Potato Mash With Caramelised Onions