Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato Fries Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato Fries

    Average Rating:

    143 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 143

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2008

      Absolutely delightful! My boys (4 & 1), husband and neighbors all loved them!!! Thanks for the awesome recipe! We cut them thin and they came out perfectly!Really, they were delicious. *UPDATE* - we figured out a way to crisp them up! After seasoning in the bag, dump in a couple tablespoons of cornstarch and shake it up one more time. They'll look funny with all the white powder, but it helps them get crispy! Delicious either way though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      Really liked these. every member of my family ate them, and it is so rare that I find any one thing that all can agree on. I did use the corn starch tip after shaking the fries in oil and I think it helped a lot. I cut the fries rather small - I think six large sweet potatoes would be way too many. I used three and a single layer of potatoes (which is what you need to crisp them) covered one baking sheet and a pizza stone. My experience was that the pizza stone and the baking sheet crisped equally well and that i had to bake the potatoes twice as long to get them crisp. I turned them during cooking several times. I tossed them in a ziplock with olive oil and then added in a couple of tablespoons of corn starch and shook again. Then I sprinkled them with garlic salt (not powder, so I skipped the salt part) and cinnamon. Really nice way to prepare sweet potatoes. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      AMAZING! I heated the yams up a bit before cutting, as this made it much easier. I did not peel them, as the skins are so amazingly delicious! I recommended leaving the skin on, as they are healthy and make for a great true fry-like texture. Shaking up in a bag worked well, unlike some cooks indicated. I did have to cook them a bit longer than specified to get the right crispness- mmm mmm! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2012

      We really liked this. The flavor was right on. I was concerned about the cinnamon and the garlic - but it was great flavor! I cut my potatoes thin like regular french fries. I cooked them for about 15 min per side and they could have used a bit more time. I would say that 40 min should give them a nice crunch. I did use the corn starch as others recommended. Everyone loved the flavors and everyone said they could have been cooked longer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      These were great! We loved them. My DH is still saying how much he liked these 3 days later. I skipped the cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      Perfect! I used 1 tsp garlic, cinnamon and salt. Broiled for an additional 3 or so minutes to crisp up. Thanks for the keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      These were delicious. It actually made much more than was needed as a side dish but they will not go to waste. I did have a problem getting them to really crisp up , even after I put the oven on convection. They were delicious just the same and I will make them again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2013

      I made 1 delicious serving of these fries and wish that I had made more. The mixture of the garlic powder, cinnamon and salt was great! I could have cooked them for more than 20 minutes to crisp them up but I couldn't wait any longer! I also topped them with a bit of pink Malaysian salt. Made for Sun and Spice event. Thanks Kristina0314! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      Great alternative to french fries! My husband and I liked it and next time I make them I will do a couple of things differently: use a smaller size sweet potato and cut it in slices about the size of my little finger in width so they crisp up a little better. Now I have to look for a good dipping sauce for the next time I make these:) Thank you for a healthier option!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      First time DH has said he liked sweet potatoes. What a victory. Loved them so soft, some had a crispy outside with the cornstarch I used.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      I'm headed to the kitchen the second time this week to make these fries and saying to myself, "That Kristina0314, what a great idea."

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      I don't know what I did wrong, but these came out mushy. Tasted pretty good, though. Not the best recipe, lacks measurement details. Next time I'll use some corn starch, also I heard freezing the potatoes beforehand helps.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      Easy and very tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2012

      I've been buying frozen sweet potato fries for awhile now. They are new to the Great NW. Tonight I made this recipe, using two sweet potatoes. I sliced them thin, added the corn starch, and they were fantastic! The cinnamon was a wonderful additon! Next time I will do the cinnamon along with a little cayenne pepper for a kick. What a great recipe, and thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      These were to die for! I used smokehouse maple spice in addition to the other ingredients. They were soooo good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      LOVED it. Had an extra regular potato, so I threw that in too. Also used the cornstarch tip. Baked with some cranberry bread at 350* for 30 min., and they were mushy, so I broiled them on high for a few minutes until they just started to scorch, and that worked well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2011

      I loved this recipe. I think the flavors were absolutely delightful and just gobbled the fries right up! My husband, however, was disappointed that the fries weren't crunchy despite my best efforts. I used the corn starch trick, but the fries were still soft. Flavor is terrific, and maybe only a deep fryer will produce the crunch the hubs is looking for.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      My mother-in-law recommended these for my "I want to feed myself" toddler. She loved them and so did her older syblings, even the "I don't prefer sweet potatoes" child. We will most surely have this recipe again and again. I did make one change. I cut the fries to the traditional size of a fry and not the lorger size (so my toddler could hold them more easily). The seemed to crisp up just as well and maybe better than if they had been larger. This recipe has been added to our frequent menu rotation!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      I LOVE LOVE LOVE these....my new favorite thing to eat. Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      It would have just been easier making baked sweet potatoes. For the life of me I could not get crispy. I cooked at 425 for 30 minutes, adding 10 minutes like others said, and even added the cornstarch. Also, once I started this process I noticed that the olive oil, garlic powder and the cinnamon had no measurements listed. Even if "to taste" had been listed it would have been hard because there is no way to know how much of what tastes good until they are made. That part was my bad though. I'm really kind of surprised that there are so many 4 and 5 star ratings for this recipe. The fries were mushy, bad mushy, though flavorful, but I would have just enjoyed a baked sweet tator.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato Fries

    Serving Size: 1 (132 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 167.7
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    36%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1269.9 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites