Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato French Fries Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato French Fries

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2007

      These are spectacular. I cut my fries pretty big and used the "double-fry" method, deep frying them in very hot CRISCO for 4 minutes the first round, pulling them out for a few minutes, draining them on a paper towel, and then deep frying them a second time for about 8 minutes in the same very hot oil until they were beginning to crisp on the edges. The end color of the fries was magnificent! My wife had requested me to make these and wanted NO salt on them -- she gave the end result two thumbs up. I salted mine and did the same for a batch I took to the neighbors. Mine were incredible and the neighbors told me that they ate "every crumb!" Thank you so much for providing this fine recipe. I would certainly encourage others to try these great fries as an occasional alternative to regular home made french fries. The double cooking method assures that you get a good solid sweet potato flavor, no mushiness and they were not at all greasy, and less "cardboardy" in texture than fries cooked in the traditional "one-drop, deep-fry" method -- don't ask me why this double-fry method works so great because I have no clue *.* . I'm just content that I've discovered this superior cooking technique. Pat, the old bone man.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2014

      I love sweet potato fries and double frying actually crisps them nicely. I sprinkle part of the batch with pink Himalayan salt and the other part with a mixture of cayenne, salt and cumin. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      These were great, I've tried them in the oven but they always turned out limp and I'd be the only one who ate them. This time I tried Bone Man's suggestion on the double fry and they turned out great, just enough crisp but still soft inside - not very pretty, but still tasted good. I salted them with Kosher salt and even sprinkled some dry steak rub for extra flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      These are great!! A do again in our home!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      I made these in the deep fryer, and they were tasty, though more limp than regular french fries. I wished that they were crispier, but they still tastes good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      I am sure they are very tasty, but how do they end up with vitually 0 fats (see nutrient guide). I agree with LifeIsGood, Canola will be healthier but still gotta be a lot of total fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      I like to sprinkle them with salt, pepper and cumin and serve them with a honey mustard sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      Very good! I sprinkled salt, garlic, onion, cayenne and chili powder on mine after I took them out of the oil and dipped in ketchup. Will make again thanks for sharing!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      Fantastic!! I used canola oil (healthier oil) in a deep pot (help reduce splattering). I cut the potatoes into thin matchsticks because we prefer our fries thin. Salt these while they're still hot! Simple recipe and sooooooooooo yummy. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Simple and good. We dipped our fries in warmed raspberry jam. YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      I loved these but they did not manage to convince my partner, he's still not a sweet potato fan - but it was worth a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato French Fries

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 111.8
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    63%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 71.5 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes