Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2007

      I am a fairly new cook and was looking for something was easy and tasty and found this. Well I fix them for Sunday dinner, and it was a hit, but my little brother and I agreed that you should add sugar and cinnamon and some vanilla to the can sweet potatoes. Also next time I may have too bake them at 30 minutes, instead of 45. My mother kept saying it felt like she was eating dessert during dinner...but the rest of us agree it was good with dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      Guess I'm the odd man out; I always hate to be the first to say a recipe was less than perfect when it already has a bunch of rave reviews, but these could have worked better and dear family didn't complain exactly but they weren't singing this dish's praises either. On the upside they were easy and made very little mess in my kitchen. However, I know I used the right size pan so now I wonder if the biscuits I used were too big (though the recipe does specify to use the big ones and said it was okay if they overlap). I have to disagree about that as the dumplings didn't cook where they overlapped and I had a lot of overlap. I cooked for 25 minutes and then ended up flipping over the ones that were most done and setting them on top so they would cook on the bottom (10 minutes), pulled them out, spread everything else out and cooked for another 15 minutes. I did make one major change: I halved the sugar in the sauce (1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup granulated, 1/4 cup splenda) as some of the other reviews had mentioned this being very sweet and I was afraid it would be overpoweringly so. I'm glad I did as I don't think we could have eaten this at full sweetness; it's almost hard to believe that it's a side dish rather than a dessert. The consensus on the filling was that it was rather blah and tasted like it needed something (didn't see how it would convert any sweet potatoe haters; it's really just sweet potatoes and you can really taste them, certainly didn't change DH's mind). I used 1 can buttermilk biscuits and 1 can butter flavored, both were good with the sauce cooked in, but the butter flavored was slightly better. I think if we try these again, I would actually forget about the sweet potatoes, fill the dumplings with pumpkin pie filling and serve them with vanilla ice-cream as a dessert. Thanks for posting. It was worth a try and definately has potential.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      I made this for Thanksgiving for something different. They were delicious but very very sweet. I would do them again and adjust the sugar in the sauce. Everyone really enjoyed them, though. Thanks for a great way to serve a Holiday staple!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      Made these for dinner tonight in hopes of making something new for Thanksgiving dinner, They are wonderful, and pretty to boot. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe. And oh yeah, They made the cut for Thanksgiving Dinner..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      Wonderful, I have made this for my family, inlaws and the kids school functions. Everyone is always begging for the recipe. They can't get enough of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Absolutely wonderful! Best treat I've had in a while. I've been thinking about fixing these for a while now. Boy did I miss out by not fixing them sooner. Thanks for the lovely lovely treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      Wow!!! This recipe is absolutely DELICIOUS!!! It's definitely a dessert item but you don't need ice cream with it - you can really be satisfied with the dumpling alone. As far as the amount of sugar goes you just have to adjust to taste like you would any seasoning but that's no reason to ax the recipe entirely. I can't wait to take this to my mom's house and share it with the family tomorrow (Thanksgiving) in addition to putting some on my own table. As soon as I took a bite of the first one I melted. YUM! This really is a WONDERFUL TREAT! Let me say that I used fresh sweet potato, boiled, mashed and added cinnamon and brown sugar then blended until thick but smooth. They were all different sizes and didn't come out looking perfect - I cut some of the biscuits in half because I wanted to play with sizes and see what I liked. I used a glass baking dish that was shallow so when they were done they had a crisp top with a dumpling bottom - I simply flipped them over in the remaining liquid and let them sit and they fell right into place. Delicious!!! Thanks a million!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      This is a wonderful recipe!!! I substituted apples for the sweet potatoes. This made a great dessert. I have also used sweet potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      It's was delicious! But I didn't mash up the Sweet potatoes. Just cut a piece to fit flatten biscuit. Also added pecans on top! It was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      These were the talk Christmas dinner! Everyone raved! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      This was so very good! I would split the biscuits next time and make them smaller.I add sugar and cinnamon into the potatoes and instead of water I used the liquid from the drained can of sweet potatoes. At first I was planing on useing them as a side dish, but after sneeking one I held them back for a desert. So So good and my DH says he hates Sweet potatos but he loved these.!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      My daughter Kaylee reviewed this since it was made for her special dinner at her request. "I wish I could give it 10 stars. The cinnamon makes it really sweet and yummy". I did add some cinnamon and butter to the sweet potato mixture. I used less sugar in the topping. We actually had this as dessert. I could not imagine having this as a side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      OH MY GOSH, these are Awesome! So easy, little mess and absolutely a hit with the entire family! I think next time I will half the biscuits and make them smaller. That is the only thing I would change.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      Very easy to prepare and yummy. Had for thanksgiving and my son just gobbled them up. Thanks for warning about them floating in the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      I was looking for a different way to fix sweet potatoes for Thanksgiving, and came across this recipe. WOW! Was it a hit with my family! I'll do this one again, and won't just save it for the holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2005

      I've been looking forward to trying this recipe, and I finally got my chance tonight. Let me tell you, these were even BETTER than I was expecting them to be! And so easy too! Wonderful recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2005

      Very tasty. They were a big hit.The recipe says it's OK for to overlap the dumplings in the pan. I think they would come out crispy on all sides if they were not overlapped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      I made this for Thanksgiving and got rave reviews from my guests along with several requests for the recipe. So delicious and sweet it could easily have been used as a dessert. We had leftovers which were just as delicious reheated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      Wow these are awesome and everyone loves them. (even the ones who dont like sweet potatoes) this can be a side dish or a dessert. thanks. Recipe was very easy to follow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2005

      WOW! I have had my sights set on this recipe for ages and I finally found the time to make it. I know it is classfied as a 'holiday' treat but I could not resist. I was blown away when I tasted the first bite of sugary dough and creamy sweet potatoes. DH said it was one of the best things I have ever made. I can't wait to try it again! I can also see this recipe being good with apples instead of sweet potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (1569 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 194.3
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    26%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 73.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 27.8 g
    111%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    biscuits

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites