Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato Curry With Spinach and Chickpeas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato Curry With Spinach and Chickpeas

    Average Rating:

    132 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 132

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2009

      I made this as written with two exceptions: I doubled the onion and omitted the cilantro. Although not super big curry fans, I know we will have this again. Happily enjoyed by all! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      Very easy and yummy dish. I added raisens which I enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      I discovered that I used hot curry powder in this recipe the first time and it was way too hot. I made it again and since I don't like spicy hot foods, I made my own curry powder with a recipe I found online. I only added a pinch of red pepper flakes. I also didn't add the cumin in the recipe since it was in my curry. I am so much happier with this recipe now. I also added coconut milk. It is delicious. I ate it with couscous the first time and this time I made brown rice. I even made a batch for my 88-year old dad. He definitely can't have hot foods and I think he'll enjoy this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      Very good.. I will be making this again for a vegan friend of mine. I would agree that a bit of coconut milk would be delish in here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      this was delicious! it is filling and definitely can be a meal on its own. i served with warm naan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      This is a wonderful way to use sweet potatoes. If you've got fresh tomatoes, use them. It really adds a lovely flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      This is so good, and SO healthy! I added some beef stock, because I wanted a little more sauce and I had some to use up. Next time, I will add a lot more onions - they were my favorite part :) Very easy to make and it goes together very fast and easy. This one is a keeper - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      Excellent and easy. I only had 1 T of curry powder, so I added 1 T of garam masala. I also accidentally used canellini beans instead of chickpeas, but it still tasted fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This was awesome! I had sweet potatoes to use up and am trying to find delicious no-meat recipes for better health. I only had a 29oz can of tomatoes and followed the recipe using only half, but then ended up stiring in the rest and it was delicious. I agree that it needs just a light sprinkle of salt at the table. This one stays in the cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      I enjoyed this very much. I had it without rice, but used roti to eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      This turned out pretty good. Followed the directions as is, but it did seem to lack something (and maybe that's because we're meat eaters). Next time I will use more spices, salt, and perhaps lime juice. Also toying with the idea of making a creamy sauce by adding heavy whipping cream. Either way the cilantro is a must. I will definitely be trying this one again...this is the tastiest healthy meal I've had in a while!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      mine turned out mushy due to over cooking the sweet potatoes. The entire dish lacked flavor and I think I'm missing something. I do want to try this again to see if it comes out different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Fanged Menace said it all in a few reviews ago. I too used frozen spinach and boiled the sweet potatoes in advance. We ate this paired with couscous. DELISH!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Made this for lunch today. Easy and yummy. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      We really enjoyed this dish. Simple to make and very tasty. Spices were just right for our liking. Served with basmati rice and naan bread for a great meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      I made this about two weeks ago and my mom abso. lutely. loved. it. I mean she was seriously talking about it for days and every time she would eat some she would go on and on about how amazing it is. Unfortunately, I thought it was ok. I don't really like sweet potatoes (I don't think a potato should be sweet :p). So that's why I gave four stars. I will be making it again. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      WOW This was great even the kids said they liked it.. i didn't have the chick peas in the larder so i used mixed beans in curry sauce instead, definetly a firm favorite easy and quick to make and very filling

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      The changes I felt necessary as I cooked this were to reduce the fresh spinach by 1/3, add 1/2 cup coconut milk, add 1-2 tsp more curry, add 1 Tbsp salt, add 1 tsp cayenne pepper, and reduce the cumin by about 1/3. I served it over brown rice and it was delicious. No doubt I'll make it that way again and again . Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      I microwaved my sweet potatoes and didn't peel them. Added a chopped clove of garlic after the onions had cooked a bit. I also used kale and let it cook down for a while (takes a lot longer than spinach). After the kale was tender I added the chickpeas and then the sweet potatoes. Added fresh ground pepper. with wild rice. Very nice and really filling. A good basic recipe that you can alter to fit what you have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato Curry With Spinach and Chickpeas

    Serving Size: 1 (269 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 166.5
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    13%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 277.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites