134 Reviews

A good start to a great curry! I followed the directions with a few additions:

1) Prior to sauteing the onions I sauteed about a teaspoon of black mustard seeds in the vegetable oil--until they started crackling.
2) I added about a teaspoon a fresh grated ginger and one serrano pepper, minced, when sauteing the onion.
3) For the spice mixture I used: 1tbs mild curry powder, 1tbs garam masala, 1tbs cumin, 1tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp red pepper, 1/2 tsp salt.
4) I ended up adding a total of 1 1/4 cups water--kept evaporating.

Same basic recipe, but still could've used a little more kick. Anyhow, I'll certainly be making it again with the said changes. THANKS!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dulcet Kitchen December 17, 2010

Delicious! We love sweet potatoes and never even considered using them in a curry. I followed the recipe as written, but I think I would add more spices, including some garlic and pepper flakes. the tomatoes were very tasty. Thank you!

---
I have to amend my review! We had this again last night and though I thought I had all the ingredients, I didn't, so had to improvise. I ended up using pinto beans instead of chick peas, and bulgur wheat instead of rice. It was a hit!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tamalita62 May 20, 2011

Had for supper on Saturday night. Not too complicated to put together, and great flavor. We served with Jasmine rice which was very nice. Does anyone have suggestions for how to get the rice grains separated (like in Indian restaurants, instead of sticky/fluffy? My husband and I have really been enjoying Indian cuisine, and although we are not vegetarian, I prepare meatless dishes at least once a week, so this was wonderful. I do not understand people who doubled the spices and still found bland. We prepared as is and thought the dish to be very flavorful.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 March 01, 2011

Delicious! Was hesitant because of some reviews saying this was bland (we really like strong flavors!) - but made as directed with good quality spices and it was perfect. Used Penzys Vindaloo curry powder, which surprisingly added enough heat for our spice-loving taste, and the whole dish had excellent flavor. Seasoned basmati rice with 3 cardamom pods, 1/2 tsp. cumin, 1/4 tsp. cinnamon and a tad bit of butter and everything came together wonderfully. Will make again and again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karabiner January 08, 2012

I loved this!! I followed it as written except I cooked the sweet potato in the spices and tomatoes, then added the beans when the potatoes were soft, and then the spinach. I love the cinnamon taste, absolutely delicious.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luciacamarillo April 24, 2010

I would personally rate this a 5 star recipe but my husband (not a lover of curry) just found it okay. I made a few adjustments to the spices though. First, unlike some other reviewers I thought the curry might be overpowering (and I like curry, but still...)so I reduced the amount to 1 1/2 tbsp. I reduced the cumin to 1/2 tbsp and replaced the cinnamon with a 1/2 tsp of garam marsala as another reviewer suggested. This was my first time using that spice but it was a very good change to make. I cooked my sweet potatoes in the microwave and then diced them and threw them in about the same time as the spinach as they were still a little bit hard. I used the full amount of spinach (it looks like a lot but it reduces). And as I don't like cilantro much, and it costs almost 3 bucks to buy fresh here I left it out. I served it over steamed white rice. I thought it was excellent with the changes I made and even my non-curry loving husband ate a whole plate full. Some reviews suggested adding more spices to the dish or increased the amount of curry...I strongly suggest not doing that. I like curry a lot but adding any more than 1 1/2 - 2 tbsp would be too much for most people and make it inedible for those who aren't keen on spicy or hot foods.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef MarcyMoll July 21, 2010

This recipe is SOOOOOO good! I don't like sweet potatoes normally, so the first time we made it, we used half russet and half sweet potatoes. It was very tasty, but I felt like the russet potato took away the flavor. We just made it again this week with all sweet potatoes and it was excellent!! We double the curry powder, cinnamon and cumin because we like the spice. The first time, I used fresh tomatoes, and the second time I used canned tomatoes. I couldn't really tell the difference with those, so both can work. Thanks for the great recipe - this is a keeper for me! Full of flavor!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie9317 June 02, 2010

I really liked this, but I am giving it 4 stars because I think my husband and mother-in-law thought it was "okay" (they're not as "try-new-food-y" as I am). I followed the recipe directions exactly and the ingredients pretty much, but I substituted garam masala for the cinnamon, used 10 oz. thawed (not drained) frozen spinach, only 1/4 c. water, omitted the cilantro (family preference), and I served it over white rice, because we don't have brown rice, currently. I used hot curry powder that we got in Breckenridge, and I also added a few shakes of red pepper flakes in there, too. I scrubbed the potatoes, cut a slit in them, and microwaved them for 6 1/2 minutes on high as my cooking method. Once they cooled enough to handle, I diced them. Once I started the rice, this was really easy to make. I really liked the heat of the spices with the sweetness of the potatoes - it was a nice balance. I served this with Flatbread in 10 Minutes. I would make this again, and my husband said he would eat it again. ;) Thanks for posting it! Made for Vegetarian Topic of the Month.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 April 24, 2010

Very easy to make, very few ingredients, and very delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vegetariyum June 13, 2012

This is very yummy and very fast to put together. I microwave baked my sweet potatoes, everything else was as written. DH liked it also. I served it over Saffron rice made with brown basmati rice. And since there are only two of us--looking forward to the left-overs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ September 07, 2011
Sweet Potato Curry With Spinach and Chickpeas