Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato Chews for Dogs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato Chews for Dogs

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on June 21, 2011

      My dog says thank you! I did check on them during the baking process nad flipped them around to get even cooking for all sides.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I make these all the time now. Dog cookies couldn't be easier and all 4 like them. I flip them halfway through cooking time keeps them on the chewier side for my old guy. Also because my dogs are small, I cut the pieces about 2" by 3" and about 1/3" thick. They will shrink by about half after cooking. Great idea!! Thanks for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      I did have to use white sweet potatoes, since we don't get the orange ones here, but it would seem to be the same concept, and they certainly do enjoy them! Even my picky Piper, who doesnt like vegetables, said, ok, I like these :) I stirred them around once or twice, but what an easy treat to please my furbabies with! Thanks, Dreamer!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      I couldn't believe my dogs would actually go for these, but with sweet potatoes on sale for 29 cents a pound this week, I figured what the heck. All three of mine love them, and one is a fairly picky eater (the Beagle, go figure). I went back to the store and got a bunch more sweet potatoes, and after they're baked, I'll freeze most and use them over time. What an easy, healthy, safe treat for my pooches! Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      These are really easy to make. I started slicing with a knife and then I got the mandolin out which was much easier. Hope didn't know what to make of it at first. I took a couple across the way to my friend (They have a German Short Hair) an he really loves his veggies. He loved these well when Hope saw him eating them she wanted it too and now she'll beg. Thank you for posting this and I'll be making them again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      I got 2 out of 3 dog's paws up for these. The elderly sheltie liked them and the American Brittany liked them but the border collie did not care for them. The sweet potato I used was so thick that I could not cut it lengthwise. Instead, I used a mandoline and created sweet potato chips.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2013

      I made these and although they took a little long, they turned out really well, the trouble was, my dogs somehow knew they were for them and they just keep hanging around the oven, so much they had to go out! Once made they loved them!<br/>Sooooo, next time (last night) I sliced them thinly and tried them again, this time they took 1/2 hour to cook, but they were crispier because of the thinness, but no matter they came out really well.... BUT guess what, they tasted so good, I sat eating them, they were a sweet potato crispy chip, that tasted wonderful!<br/>I did save some for the kids (dog's) because again they knew they were for them, and I would never have been able to face them if I hadn't saved them some!<br/>Wonderful treat that these guys love! Ohh and the leader of the pack loves them also!!! lol<br/>Thanks so much Dreamer, my dogs would thank you also if they could talk!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2013

      I am making these again today.....my dogs just adore sweet potato chews. And it is so much cheaper than buying them....plus it is so much safer for my dogs. I seem to make these on a monthly basis, so thought I'd let you know how much my little dogs love these! *original review from 2008: My dogs loved these! I will take a picture if I can keep them from eating them so fast! I am reviewing these because of Zaar's I recommend tag game! Thanks for the recommendation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2012

    • on July 10, 2011

      Well... they're in the oven as I type. A little disappointed because I didn't know that real sweet potatoes are white and I was supposed to buy yams. Hopefully these white sweet potatoes are just as good! I'll update in 3 hours :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      My dog loves them! I did have to bake mine for about 6 hours, maybe it's just too humid here :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      These couldn't be easier to make. I did turn them halfway through the baking process as others had suggested. When they were finished, my dog wasn't particularly interested in them. But then I split one in half and she ate both halves! They are great to have on hand, and are certainly healthy! Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2011

      Who knew a sweet potato could cause such ecstasy? My little dog actually twirled. TWIRLED! When I open the jar she smells them right away. DH says the smell must be like catnip is to cats! I'll always have these on hand. DD's big dogs love them too! ZWT7 - Shady Ladies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      I thought I had reviewed these last year! The dogs have had these on a regular basis for the past year. They are large dogs so they don't last more than seconds but I think they'd stand on their noses for these! Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Woof wow! My dog loved these. After the first one she did two things she has never done before the first was she begged for more and the second was trying to get up on the table to steal another one. Guess to be a good doggie mommy will have to make again. Thanks so much for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      By the title, I was expecting them to come out chewier. It did take my puppy about a couple minutes to eat one, as opposed to a few seconds for a regular treat. I would suggest cutting them thinner, if you want it chewier and maybe cutting them in half. My smaller pieces came out chewier. The larger pieces he had eaten in, probably, a minute or less. I will try again with those changes. He does like them. I bet sprinkling with garlic powder would be a real treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      These were loved by my dog Jewel. I also brought them to work and shared with my co-workers for thier dogs...No complaints here!!!!! Oh....I basted them with Kitchen Bouquet before baking :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      I submitted a review for this a long time ago, but somehow it got lost in the move. :) Our doggie just LOVED these treat. They are so easy to make! The only fall back - they don't keep long, so don't make too many at one time. Thanks for posting. Made for Potluck Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Having a sensative dog, this snack was perfect! The puppy loved it. I tried it too, and it really tastes sweet. A healthy snack for me too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      Libby says these are FABULOUS! Libby is so glad she has another treat to enjoy as she is highly allergic to wheat, corn, chicken, & peanut butter so these are a great alternative to her standard venison treats. I've posted a pic of her enjoying your recipe! Tagged in the Bevy Tag Cupids Choice game Feb 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato Chews for Dogs

    Serving Size: 1 (0 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    raw sweet potato

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes