61 Reviews

I can't imagine anyone not loving this recipe! My mom has a recipe similar to this, but she was coming to my house for Thanksgiving and forgot her recipe! So, this one looked similar to what hers is like and I made it--I got rave reviews from everyone in the family! It was the first dish to disappear. It actually made me feel kind of bad to get such compliments on a dish that my mom has been making for years...I guess this is just a better recipe...I'm sure not telling Mom, though. Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dulcet Kitchen December 01, 2009

Worked perfectly! I only used 2/3 cup sugar and half the butter it called for in the recipe and it was plenty sweet for our tastes. For the topping, I used marshmellows topped with brown sugar. The marshmellows carmalized with the brown sugar for a yummy topping. Plus, I wanted to cut down on the amount of butter, sugar that the recipe needed. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petite Mommy November 23, 2007

I thought I should review this recipe also since it is a copy of Cristin's Sweet Potatoe Casserole. I used low-fat evaporated milk, light butter, egg beaters and Splenda to keep the calories down. This recipe called for chopped pecans on the top which I left out do to calories. Thanks for such a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M November 11, 2003

Definitely a family favorite! I personally don't like marshmallows with my sweet potatoes so I was very happy to come across this recipe. I do tweak mine a little bit. I make it with whole sweet potatoes, boil for about 10-15 min and cut into cubes. Then I double the topping so it is a good layer. Yum! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liana R. November 20, 2015

DELICIOUS!!!

I doubled the topping :)
Made it for Thanksgiving this year with my boyfriend and his family. Everyone loved it! Hardly any leftovers and they were all gone the next day!!
Will make again for Christmas!
We make this twice a year for Thanksgiving and Christmas! It's everyones favorite dish. Never any leftovers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sapowell December 25, 2011

This is the recipe I use every year for special occasions! Everyone loves this and asks for the recipe. I often share it but they say nobody can make it like I can. Must be the love I add to it! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeanie Barnes December 25, 2011

I've made something similar to this every year. It was excellent. But, my other recipes call for evaporated milk and that seems to be a little better for a richer consistency. Also, we did cut the sugar down a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OKC3094 December 26, 2010

I made this casserole for my boys for Thanksgiving since they are the only ones in the family who like yams/sweet potatoes. It was super easy to make and I decided I would try a little bit even though I have never tried a sweet potato or yam casserole that I have liked. It was so good I actually had a second helping! It tastes more like pumpkin than sweet potato and definitely more like a dessert than a side dish. I will probably cut the sugar even more next time and serve it as a dessert with whipped cream or ice cream or just by itself. Delish!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bpiscoya November 25, 2010

I can see why everyone loves this recipe - it's SO sweet and delicious! I've never been crazy about sweet potato casseroles in the past, but I totally crave this one! I like to add about 1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg (or 1 tsp. cinnamon) to the filling for a special something extra. Thanks so much for posting this winner, Jamia!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ninja December 31, 2009

I would have given this 0 stars if possible. It is SO sickeningly sweet. A complete waste of ingredients and time, plus a bad dish for guests on Thanksgiving day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tnarabians November 27, 2009
Sweet Potato Casserole