33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! This was a surprise. I used 5 sweet potatoes, boiled, peeled and mashed, instead of the canned sweet potatoes. The recipe does not state what size baking dish to use so I used a large corning ware casserole dish. The mixture had a soup consistancy and my whole family was skeptical about what would actually come out of the oven. The topping tastes like pralines after it is cooked and the casserole rises and is fluffy and delicious. We will definately make this again.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wright December 07, 2002

This was a huge hit at our Thanksgiving table!!! The casserole was sweet, buttery, and crunchy. I chose to use the 1/2 cup of butter (in both parts of the recipe) rather than the 1 cup, and I can't imagine having used more than that amount. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x13-inch baking dish. This casserole is definetly going to be sitting on my table for Christmas dinner!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn December 23, 2002

It seems like every year I try new sweet potato recipes trying to find the perfect recipe. I have found some pretty good recipes but never the perfect one...until now. I had more compliments on this dish at Christmas than ever before and I adored them too. I didn't see how one can of sweet potatoes was going to make 20 servings, but I'm sure it came close (at least if you take into count how many huge second helpings most everyone had!) I made the recipe the day before, mashing everything together with a potato masher, and refrigerated it overnight. The next day I added the topping and baked it. It came out wonderfully well. I don't like to change up recipes before I try the original one and I am very pleased to say I don't need to change a thing about this one. Some may find it overly sweet...but no one at my table thought it was, although some did eat it as a dessert too. LOL This will probably end my quest for the perfect holiday sweet potato dish...and it was easy too!!! Thanks, Lali.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Meerkat January 13, 2008

This casserole got RAVE reviews from my office Thanksgiving party. They ate the whole thing! Awesome. I used the entire 1 pound of butter and added another cup of pecans. I used halves instead of chopped. Definitely not Weight Watcher friendly! Fantastic. I will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
racerchik December 02, 2007

This was quick and easy to make (I chose to just blend everything together in the food processor, cleaning from the filling to make the topping) It was very sweet, next time I'll cut back a bit on the sugar and half the amount of topping (I had alot left that wouldn't fit in the casserole). Those that tried this casserole at our thanksgiving feast loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zeesamom November 29, 2002

We just had this for Thanksgiving, and it was excellent. The kids didn't want to eat anything else but this sweet potato casserole! It made an especially yummy, crunchy topping. Delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lola68 November 28, 2002

I visited my folks during Thanksgiving, but left my Sweet Potato Casserole recipe at home ;( I tried this one and it was great! It is our new traditional Thanksgiving recipe. Thanks Lali! You're right, it is one of the best.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawn November 23, 2001

This recipe is very close to the one I use and love. For a variation to this recipe, try using a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice in potato mixture in place of the cinnamon and add 1/2 cup coconut to topping. Also, my recipe only calls for only 1/4 cup flour in toppping.....seems to me that a cup of flour might be too much as I have fixed this with no flour at all....Great Recipe..thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vickiepetrey November 18, 2012

This is by far the BEST Sweet Potato Casserole recipe I've ever tried/tasted! My husband loves it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SexnCityWVGirl May 13, 2009

This recipe was wonderful. I used a 40 oz. can of sweet potatoes and used 1/2 cup butter in both parts. I baked this in a Pyrex deep dish 8X10. It was delicious. My kids loved it. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JARS December 02, 2008
Sweet Potato Casserole