207 Reviews

Incredible! This is so delicious and very easy to make!!! I use soy milk instead of regular milk and Earth Balance buttery spread. My husband always requests this dish during the holidays.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dominick & Amanda December 18, 2009

This was a hit at Thanksgiving- I think everyone was surprised at how good it was! I used canned sweet potatoes just b/c of lack of time and it still turned out amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lyssz1225 December 06, 2009

OK, I hate yams, but know that others really like them for Thanksgiving, so I thought I'd give in and make them I have to say that these we so delicious, that I actually had them for dessert instead of pie :-) My SIL asked if she could take the leftovers, and my MIL called the other day asking for the recipe. I'll definitely be making this again and again. Thank you so much for a recipe that actually makes yams yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarlaM December 06, 2009

Awesome!! I got nothing but rave reviews from my guests at Thanksgiving. I mashed up a big can of yams for the dish and DH said they are hands down the best he's ever had. I expect 20 years from now my kids will be asking for the recipe when hosting their own holidays! Thanks for posting this keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle November 28, 2009

This is the most popular dish on my Thanksgiving table. When making the topping, I do not melt the butter. It sprinkles better and comes out a little more attractive. Definately a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janewoldring November 27, 2009

My boyfriend made this and brought it for a Thanksgiving pot luck while I worked at the hospital and they RAVED about it! It's almost like a souffle...the potatoes are very light and fluffy with a sweet topping. People are pining for the recipe now! Thanks Divinemom5!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iN TRAiNiNG November 27, 2009

If I could give this 10 stars I would. It was the most popular dish on our Thanksgiving table yesterday. Everyone LOVED it. However - I only used 3/4 cu. sugar and 3 3/4 cu. sweet potato because I had more. I'm glad I did because I think it might have been just a little too sweet if I had not. So if you're looking for a sweet, but not TOO sweet casserole, use a little less sugar. The topping was AWESOME. Loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hilaryandbrandon_hale November 27, 2009

Made this for Thanksgiving dinner. Some people loved it, others (me) thought it was a little too sweet. Next time I will half the sugar and vanilla.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindsey.k.bell November 26, 2009

Delicious made this for the Thanksgiving dinner at church everyone loved it.We like sweet stuff so i used one whole cup sugar and topped with brown sugar,margarine and marhmallows and we left the flour and nuts off. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef313633 November 26, 2009
Sweet Potato Casserole