206 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent recipe! I only used 2 tablespoons brown sugar in total for 5 servings. Loved the pecan topping. Very nice touch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen November 16, 2013

5 star recipe! I made this for Thanksgiving and my husband said, "This is money!" I didn't have pecans and it was still delicious, but next time I make it I will be sure to have all the ingredients:) Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fox Hollow January 22, 2013

I've made this both ways, with and without the topping. Both ways are good. No need to double for my family.. it was the perfect amount. I prepared and cooked it, then left it in the fridge over night. Christmas day we just popped it into the microwave.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u December 28, 2012

I can sure understand why all the great reviews. So easy to prepare and the flavors all blend together so well. I made just as directed and will be serving it with our holiday meal. So good with just the right spices. This will remain a favorite at our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 December 25, 2012

I've made this twice now and both times got compliments and requests for the recipe. I don't add the sugar to the potatoes and it's plenty sweet. I also threw in a little apple pie spice to both the potatoes and topping this last time and everyone loved it. It's pretty easy and is somewhat forgiving if you want to play around with the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sanditomas December 12, 2012

I love this topping on sweet potatoes / yams MUCH more than the standard marshmallows! I've had the original recipe before and it WAS good but really really sweet, especially for a side dish (rather than a dessert).
I did a few things differently and it came out great! I baked 6 large yams in the oven first and then mashed them with everything from the recipe BUT the sugar. I doubled the amounts since I had double the yams. However, I did not double the topping. It was a big hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
izbryte December 01, 2012

Phenomenal!! Left out just a little of the sugar in the sweet potatoes themselves, and didn't add the full amount of pecans. It was sooo good, we all loved it on Thanksgiving and with all the leftovers over the next few days. Will keep this recipe forever. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KTJ November 24, 2012

Doubled the salt and sugar as someone suggested, topped it with candied pecans and marshmallow and it was awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda_esh November 24, 2012

This recipe looked almost exactly like the one I had lost and was crossing my fingers. I used cream instead of milk since I think cream makes everything taste better :) I also ended up with a too much mashed sweet potato so I added about 4 tablespoons of Captain Morgan Black as my additional wet. OMG! We loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
guambyrd November 24, 2012

This was a huge hit! It was delicious! I will definately be making this again! I used 1/4 less white sugar in the sweet potatoe mixture and a 1/4 less brown sugar in the top mixture just because it seemed like there was a ton of sugar in this receipe and everyone still loved it! Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amykins2025 November 23, 2012
Sweet Potato Casserole