206 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks for the wonderful dish added to my Family Christmas Party table...everyone loved it and some asked for the recipe. It was delicious! Cant wait for Christmas next year. Yuuuuum!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anne Enright January 05, 2002

Too sweet! We served this at a potluck and it received rave reviews from the Sweet Tooth people in the crowd. For our tastes I will leave all sugar out of the sweet potatoes next time and just put it in the topping. We made twice the filling and half the topping too. So it shouldn't have been too sweet. But it was. Just sweet potato is sweet enough, it didn't need more sugar in it.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrairieRose November 17, 2010

i only tried the sweet potatoes part and omitted the topping since my hubby only wanted me to put nothing but marshmallows. turned out delicious. 3 cups equals 3 sweet potatoes. next time i'll try the topping. i did half the sugar. and hubby thought it was perfect. thanks for sharing a great recipe! can't wait to try the topping next time!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyBabies November 25, 2007

This was really so yummy and I am making it again for Christmas (after trying it out for Thanksgiving this year). Husband doesn't like nuts so instead of nuts in the topping I used 1 cup of oatmeal and we LOVED it. tasted like a sweet potato crisp kind of. Only did 1/3 cup of sugar and used canned yams (doubled the amount called for) and I did 2/3 sugar in the topping. I doubled the yams but not the topping and it was so good =)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LDS Chef Ashlie December 23, 2010

This is the best! I mixed the sweet potatoe mixture , setting aside a about 1/4 of the mixture and adding splenda instead of sugar for the diabetics. Then when making the pecan topping, I did the same thing, only added Sugartwin brown sugar. Of course when mixing the portion of the recipe for the non diabetics, I reduced the sugar and brown sugar accordingly. Everyone was very happy!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinda Lu November 27, 2010

Made this for the first time for Thanksgiving dinner and it was well liked. I doubled the recipe, but did not double the sugar, the eggs or the topping and I thought it was very good. Just fyi, I used canned sweet potatoes and one 40 oz can yielded about 3 cups of mashed. I will definitely make this again, thank you for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeeperAtHome November 30, 2008

I made this last year and it was a hit. I'm making it again this year. I read ALL the reviews first and I doubled it like this: 6 Very Large Potatoes baked for 1.25 hours yielded 7 Cups. (Probably should have baked only 1 hr) I did NOT double the vanilla, eggs, or milk, but tasted with varying amounts of sugar and felt the sugar DID need to be doubled as well as the melted butter. I am freezing this today, I will put it in the frig Wed night. On Thurs, I will add topping and cook. UPDATE**** It turned out great even though it had been frozen and made life MUCH easier on Thanksgiving Day. It was one of the biggest hits of Thanksgiving Day. No need for dessert with this on the table. Very good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chur B October 04, 2012

I made 1/2 the recipe for Thanksgiving 2009 because I wanted sweet potatoes and I didn't care if almost everyone else said they don't like them. Well, I was lucky to get a spoonful of these! I don't know what made everyone try them but almost all did and they all raved. I made them again for Christmas and just came back to get the recipe for Thanksgiving this year. I bake the sweet potatoes to get them ready for this recipe and I think that helps to make them extra sweet and tender.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindabtx November 10, 2010

5 stars indeed! I made this the other night just to test and see if I wanted to include it in my Thanksgiving menu...and it passed everyones critical tummys! Very easy to put together, and very tasty. The only thing I added were some marshmellows the last 10 minutes of baking. Thanks so much for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noni Suzanne January 05, 2010

Yum yum yum yum! Only thing I'd change: when doubling the recipe, it's not necessary to double the topping. The amount as written works just fine for a 9X13 pan, no matter how deep the contents. So double the mash, keep the topping single.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhiannon Deux November 28, 2009
Sweet Potato Casserole