Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato Casserole

    Average Rating:

    204 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 204

    Sort by:

    • on April 01, 2002

      I make this recipe and get requests every holiday we like it hot or cold with whipped cream on top. I substitute the sugar with 12 packs of equal and use firm silken tofu.. omitting the eggs and milk.. I also chop some toasted soy nuts in a food processor for the topping mixed with the pecans 1/2 and 1/2 makes it a more nutritional treat. No one even noticed the changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2002

      Love it, Love it! Excellent for those of us with a sweet tooth! So easy to make. Sometimes I make it with the pecans, sometimes with minimarshmellows, and sometimes "au natural"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2002

      Big hit at my house! Already have it requested again. I used canned sweet potatoes and rinsed the sugar off of them, then cut the sugar a little bit. Everyone loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      This has been a family favorite in my house for years. My husband's grandmother passed on this recipe. The only change in my recipe is 1 teaspoon of cinnamon in the topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2002

      This was a great recipe! It is easy to prepare and I made everything ahead of time (day before) and just added the topping before baking. I have made it 2x since Thanksgiving and will also make it for Christmas. My sons-in-law who also cook and LOVE good food raved about this recipe. Even those who do not care for sweet potatoes will like this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      This is my favorite sweet potato casserole recipe. I do reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup in the potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2002

      The dish was fantastic! I received a standing ovation by close friends--first time ever in this group for anyone to get that type of recognition! Rather than using milk, I substituted crushed pineapple. Because I doubled the recipe, I used an eight ounce can of crushed pineapple with the juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2002

      I totally omitted the sugar from the sweet potato mash, substituted mini marshmellows for pecans & thoroughly enjoyed this dish. I will be making it again soon!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2002

      I have made this for Holiday events and just for a sweet side dish for dinner and my family LOVES IT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2002

      Thanks for the wonderful dish added to my Family Christmas Party table...everyone loved it and some asked for the recipe. It was delicious! Cant wait for Christmas next year. Yuuuuum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      Too sweet! We served this at a potluck and it received rave reviews from the Sweet Tooth people in the crowd. For our tastes I will leave all sugar out of the sweet potatoes next time and just put it in the topping. We made twice the filling and half the topping too. So it shouldn't have been too sweet. But it was. Just sweet potato is sweet enough, it didn't need more sugar in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      i only tried the sweet potatoes part and omitted the topping since my hubby only wanted me to put nothing but marshmallows. turned out delicious. 3 cups equals 3 sweet potatoes. next time i'll try the topping. i did half the sugar. and hubby thought it was perfect. thanks for sharing a great recipe! can't wait to try the topping next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      This was really so yummy and I am making it again for Christmas (after trying it out for Thanksgiving this year). Husband doesn't like nuts so instead of nuts in the topping I used 1 cup of oatmeal and we LOVED it. tasted like a sweet potato crisp kind of. Only did 1/3 cup of sugar and used canned yams (doubled the amount called for) and I did 2/3 sugar in the topping. I doubled the yams but not the topping and it was so good =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      This is the best! I mixed the sweet potatoe mixture , setting aside a about 1/4 of the mixture and adding splenda instead of sugar for the diabetics. Then when making the pecan topping, I did the same thing, only added Sugartwin brown sugar. Of course when mixing the portion of the recipe for the non diabetics, I reduced the sugar and brown sugar accordingly. Everyone was very happy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Made this for the first time for Thanksgiving dinner and it was well liked. I doubled the recipe, but did not double the sugar, the eggs or the topping and I thought it was very good. Just fyi, I used canned sweet potatoes and one 40 oz can yielded about 3 cups of mashed. I will definitely make this again, thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      I doubled this recipe yesterday for Easter dinner at a friend's home for 12. I reduced the sugar in half since it tasted plenty sweet to me. I only made half again the recipe for the topping and that was more than adequate. I used butter instead of margarine and put it in a 9x13 inch pyrex dish. There wasn't a smidgen remaining and everyone asked for the recipe (even a bachelor). I will definitely make this again. BTW make certain your potatoes are WELL mashed before mixing in the other ingredients; then wisk them separately before adding them to the mashed potatoes. For anyone who might be interested, 6 cups of mashed potatoes resulted from 4.5 lbs. raw potatoes. This was asked at the dinner party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2012

      I made this last year and it was a hit. I'm making it again this year. I read ALL the reviews first and I doubled it like this: 6 Very Large Potatoes baked for 1.25 hours yielded 7 Cups. (Probably should have baked only 1 hr) I did NOT double the vanilla, eggs, or milk, but tasted with varying amounts of sugar and felt the sugar DID need to be doubled as well as the melted butter. I am freezing this today, I will put it in the frig Wed night. On Thurs, I will add topping and cook. UPDATE**** It turned out great even though it had been frozen and made life MUCH easier on Thanksgiving Day. It was one of the biggest hits of Thanksgiving Day. No need for dessert with this on the table. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      I made 1/2 the recipe for Thanksgiving 2009 because I wanted sweet potatoes and I didn't care if almost everyone else said they don't like them. Well, I was lucky to get a spoonful of these! I don't know what made everyone try them but almost all did and they all raved. I made them again for Christmas and just came back to get the recipe for Thanksgiving this year. I bake the sweet potatoes to get them ready for this recipe and I think that helps to make them extra sweet and tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      5 stars indeed! I made this the other night just to test and see if I wanted to include it in my Thanksgiving menu...and it passed everyones critical tummys! Very easy to put together, and very tasty. The only thing I added were some marshmellows the last 10 minutes of baking. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Yum yum yum yum! Only thing I'd change: when doubling the recipe, it's not necessary to double the topping. The amount as written works just fine for a 9X13 pan, no matter how deep the contents. So double the mash, keep the topping single.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 365.5
     
    Calories from Fat 179
    48%
    Total Fat 19.8 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 38.9 mg
    12%
    Sodium 172.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 33.5 g
    134%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites