16 Reviews

This is my new favourite soup! I could eat this everyday. I make this with vegetable broth, and coconut milk. It makes this soup vegan friendly, gluten and dairy free. Since I've been eliminating dairy from my diet, this is a great treat for me. It tastes very creamy and delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hag chef September 22, 2010

This was a real hit! I made it at home, loved it, and made it for a soup and salad potluck. It got raves and I got requests for the recipe from at least 4 people. Now I've been asked to make it again for this weekend. The changes I made were to use low sodium vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, omitted the salt, and used canned coconut milk instead of yogurt. The coconut milk gives it a great texture and wonderful flavor!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lianna Banana June 20, 2009

If you change the chicken broth to vegetable broth then this recipe can be called vegetarian.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rick Garel November 30, 2005

Very good, my husband (who thinks a meal without meat is a punishment) LOVED it. Interesting flavors, easy to make. We will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kadiprimo January 18, 2012

Very good soup. Quite easy if you have broth already available. I added a bit of ginger but otherwise followed recipe. Very healthy lunch with a tossed salad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brownstone gal January 06, 2011

Just made this and my husband and I both loved it; the color is lovely and the flavor divine. Used the coconut milk, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, double the curry, a little garlic, a dash of cumin and some chili powder, and half the salt. Substituted the vegetable broth for the chicken broth. Sprinkled toasted coconut on top as a finishing touch. Plan to serve this in demitasse cups as an appetizer at Thanksgiving. Thank you for a great recipe, and thanks to the reviewers for their helpful suggestions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annabelle P October 22, 2009

If I could, I would give 6 stars! very very good, and I made it with the YOGURT! I omitted the salt because my broth was salty enough. That's it. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dramatic plum-pudding February 22, 2009

I ABSOLUTELY love your soup! I have made it twice now, two weekends in a row and a double recipe at that and it is gone in a flash. I took the advice of one of the reviewers and used the coconut milk and topped it with toasted coconut. I partnered it with Curried Egg Salad Sandwich on Raisin Bread,and they are excellent together. I used a little more spices since I like it spicy. My husband brought it to work and a co-worker liked it and requested the recipe. THANKS SO MUCH!!! PS I am also a "Mrs.Mike F." so I had to be sure to tell people that this is not my recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mike's shannie January 30, 2008

Very nice soup! I made it with a yam which is more prevalent in my area. I would cut back a little on the salt. I tried the mayo and found while it was good, it was not really needed. Overall the soup was very easy to make and it was done in time for lunch. Portion sizes are generous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ewoytuik January 02, 2008

Great soup!! Healthy and filling and the house smells GREAT while it's cooking. DH thought it was a little sweet so I might cut back on the sugar next time...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeacm December 30, 2007
Sweet Potato Carrot Bisque