Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato Burritos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato Burritos

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2003

      I’m a vegetarian so I knew I would love these burritos. My family however, is not. Wasn’t sure how they would react to these, but they loved them! I think the sweetness of the potatoes mixed with the smoky heat of the cumin and chili powder went together really well. I had to omit the cayenne, and use my milder chili powder to suit the crowd I was cooking this for. When I make these just for me, I will add the full heat back, amybe even a little more! Overall, I think this was a great vegetarian alternative to one of my favorite Mexican foods.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      I'm so glad I tried this recipe, this is a really good burrito! I thought the sweet potato might overwhelming, but it complimented the beans. And speaking of beans, I never would have thought to use kidney beans in a burrito. I always use pinto or black. I really liked the texture and flavor. I sprayed the burritos with cooking spray before baking and they turned golden and lightly crisp which made them feel more special than the usual burritos I make. Topped them with sour cream, salsa, green onion and cilantro. Yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe, I'll be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      I really liked these. I made it because it called for kidney beans and not black beans. I like the spices. If I make them again, then I think I might put those beans in the food processor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      This recipe was one of the best surprises on Recipezaar and now I make it almost every other week. My husband loves it with guacamole which sounds weird but is really good. You can also serve it as a layered dip and eat it with tortilla chips. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      Followed this recipe to a 'T' and it was fantastic!! We've also used just the bean mixture on nachos, and fantastic as well. Thanks for the delicious posting Tish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      I wasn't sure what this would turn out like because of the ingredients, but the end result was great. Love the sweet/spicy contrast. I wouldn't change anything, because it just works perfectly and is super flavorful. I used the green onion, cheese and sour cream. My husband said it was a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

    • on October 25, 2008

      I did take a few liberties with this recipe ~ First of all I cut it in half, then cut the cumin in half again, used just 1 tablespoon of chili powder, & opted out of the cayenne! When I prepared the yams, I didn't peel them, & when cooked diced them small before mashing! I was prepared to make 6 burritos, but after fixing 4 of them very full, there was only a little bit of filling left! GREAT TASTING BURRITOS, & a wonderful new way to fix yams! Thanks for posting your recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in I Recommend cooking game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      Very unusual and really pretty good! The sweet potato did not taste sweet in this, it was just a rich and smooth complement to the spicy beans. I cut the recipe back to make 2 small burritos and enjoyed them for a nice filling lunch - thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for Fall PAC 2008

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      Not bad! Pretty easy and pretty healthy..just what I like! After I added the water (but really I used veg stock), I threw it in the food processer and it made my life much easier than trying to smash all those beans by hand. Next time I will just double the cheddar for a little extra flavor. Thanks so much Tish....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      Excellent - the flavors blend together well. I threw the beans, onion and garlic in the food processor and then heated it on the stove top. It came together for a quick and super filling lunch. I made a half recipe with no problems and know I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      I was worried as I prepared these but it was pretty darn good. Then bean mixture seemed to be too watery so I kept on simmering it hoping it would get thicker. It did not get much thicker but it actually worked well with the mashed sweet potatoes. I also don't know how you really fit that much filling into a 10 inch tortilla. So, I put about half of the filling. I also did not bake. I just warmed up the tortillas on a pan and that was good enough. The cheese kind of melted anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      I loved these!!!! I am sorry....I think I goofed. I tried to make changes to the recipe (whole wheat tortillas and olive oil) thinking it was just for my own personal use and when I hit submit it said the chanes would be reveiwed and I would be notified if they were accepted! I wasn't meaning to change your recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      This was a huge hit with my all 5 friends and roomates (gotta love something that's vegetarian, kosher, AND pleasing to someone who hates vegetables!). Even the roomie who almost didn't try any because he hates sweet potatoes loved it. Didn't have cayenne, so I will add more chili powder next time. Also, do add the water GRADUALLY- I dumped a load in and it took ages to boil down. Also only used about a cup and a half, so judge for yourself on the water. This makes as many servings as it says it does and is very very filling, so if you're not cooking for a crowd maybe try halfing it? Excellent, unique flavor and easy! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      I love these. It doesn't taste too much like sweet potato or bean - the combination just produces something fantastic! Before rolling up the burritos, I like to add a layer of grilled/roasted onions. I have finally discovered a way that DH actually enjoys eating beans. The mixture also makes a wonderful bean dip. Try it sometime :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

    • on September 19, 2007

      These were terrific! I quartered the recipe as I was only making it for myself and it turned out to be a great new way to eat sweet potatoes :D I didn't have any chili powder, so I subbed a squirt of hot sauce (the kind with the rooster on it). I usually don't care much for kidney beans, but they tasted great in this recipe. I only eat whole wheat, so I tried eating the filling plain and with whole wheat bread. Plain is yummy, but it's not pretty to look at and it IS missing something. The bread was good, but a bit too starchy. Next time I'll get some whole wheat pitas and I think that will make it perfect. Thanks so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      I cook for health food stores and tried my version of this...It's a hit! Thanks! They are selling out of the freezers like crazy! Also, make them with Amish Chicken...added chipotle peppers for smoky flavor and cinnamon to the sweet potato!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      We just made these for lunch today and were very happy! Very filling and satisfying! I love spicy food, so I think next time I am going to kick up the heat with more cayenne. I added a few dashes this time. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato Burritos

    Serving Size: 1 (385 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 511.2
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    24%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 19.8 mg
    6%
    Sodium 1534.6 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.8 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 12.6 g
    50%
    Sugars 10.7 g
    42%
    Protein 19.7 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites