15 Reviews

Excellent muffin recipe! I especially liked sneaking in the sweet potatoes for my kids. I used whole wheat flour and applesauce in place of the oil. I also used only about 1/8 tsp of the cloves, nutmeg, and ginger since those are not my favorite spices. I cut the amount of sugar in half to 3/4 c and they were still plenty sweet. With all these healthier changes, the muffins were still moist, sweet, and delicious. My children ate them without knowing what they were, but laughed when I told them what they were made of. The taste is very similar to pumpkin muffins. I got about 24 muffins.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin July 27, 2010

This is PERFECT! Exactly what I was looking for to use up some canned sweet potatoes in syrup I had. I made it exactly as written except I subbed a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice for the ginger and nutmeg (I still added cinnamon and cloves as well). I did not add raisins or nuts. I baked it in a 13 X 9 pan and I baked it about 40 minutes. The flavor is nicely spiced and it has a great moist yet fluffy texture. I have 3 more cans of yams so I'm going to make some more and freeze it for the holidays. Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaraFish October 19, 2008

Great recipe for extra sweet potatoes! I subbed 1/4th cup of flour with 1/4th cup of ground flax seed. I also used 1/2 cup of applesauce in place of 1/2 cup of the oil for a less fattening version. Still very moist and delicious! Will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
treesfall October 23, 2015

Excellent as written for muffins (raisins + walnuts added). I'll make them again and will experiment with previous reviewers' ideas of lowering the sugar, subbing applesauce for half the oil, and using part whole wheat flour. (At that point they're not really the same muffin--but good ideas nonetheless.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Omniveg January 13, 2014

5 stars for sure! I did switch a little up. I used gluten free flour and used 3/4 cup granulated sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar.

perfectly delicious loaves!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mspaigess December 11, 2012

Great mini muffins - perfect for packing in lunch boxes (kids and adults). I replaced half of the oil with equal amount of sweet potato mixed with a little milk (I had baked them myself). I also reduced the sugar to one cup. They were tasty, had great texture, density and color. I've put some in the freezer and am anticipating that they'll freeze great. Thanks for a great recipe cookiedog!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acerast September 23, 2012

This was pretty yummy, I added some cream cheese frosting and 1/8 pumkin pie spice to the recipe,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MuyaNicola May 31, 2012

Really, really good! I made these yesterday in an attempt to get veggies into my 2 year old, but they were such a hit with the whole family that I made another batch today. I used eggbeaters, switched in applesauce for half the oil, and used pumpkin pie spice instead of the individual spices listed (to save time). They were great warm, and even better & more flavorful cold the next morning. Thanks for the fantastic recipe- I'll be making these often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JolieCat January 23, 2011

This recipe is PERFECT! I used up the leftover baked sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving. I made 24 standard size muffins. The muffin is sweet but not overbearing and really, really moist. This one is a keeper! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junebug214 November 28, 2009
Sweet Potato Bread or Muffins