Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato Bread or Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato Bread or Muffins

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 27, 2010

      Excellent muffin recipe! I especially liked sneaking in the sweet potatoes for my kids. I used whole wheat flour and applesauce in place of the oil. I also used only about 1/8 tsp of the cloves, nutmeg, and ginger since those are not my favorite spices. I cut the amount of sugar in half to 3/4 c and they were still plenty sweet. With all these healthier changes, the muffins were still moist, sweet, and delicious. My children ate them without knowing what they were, but laughed when I told them what they were made of. The taste is very similar to pumpkin muffins. I got about 24 muffins.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      This is PERFECT! Exactly what I was looking for to use up some canned sweet potatoes in syrup I had. I made it exactly as written except I subbed a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice for the ginger and nutmeg (I still added cinnamon and cloves as well). I did not add raisins or nuts. I baked it in a 13 X 9 pan and I baked it about 40 minutes. The flavor is nicely spiced and it has a great moist yet fluffy texture. I have 3 more cans of yams so I'm going to make some more and freeze it for the holidays. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      Excellent as written for muffins (raisins + walnuts added). I'll make them again and will experiment with previous reviewers' ideas of lowering the sugar, subbing applesauce for half the oil, and using part whole wheat flour. (At that point they're not really the same muffin--but good ideas nonetheless.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

    • on December 11, 2012

      5 stars for sure! I did switch a little up. I used gluten free flour and used 3/4 cup granulated sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar.

      perfectly delicious loaves!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      Great mini muffins - perfect for packing in lunch boxes (kids and adults). I replaced half of the oil with equal amount of sweet potato mixed with a little milk (I had baked them myself). I also reduced the sugar to one cup. They were tasty, had great texture, density and color. I've put some in the freezer and am anticipating that they'll freeze great. Thanks for a great recipe cookiedog!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2012

      This was pretty yummy, I added some cream cheese frosting and 1/8 pumkin pie spice to the recipe,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      Really, really good! I made these yesterday in an attempt to get veggies into my 2 year old, but they were such a hit with the whole family that I made another batch today. I used eggbeaters, switched in applesauce for half the oil, and used pumpkin pie spice instead of the individual spices listed (to save time). They were great warm, and even better & more flavorful cold the next morning. Thanks for the fantastic recipe- I'll be making these often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      This recipe is PERFECT! I used up the leftover baked sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving. I made 24 standard size muffins. The muffin is sweet but not overbearing and really, really moist. This one is a keeper! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Fabulous!! I loved this recipe! i was looking for something different to add to our thanksgiving and I found it. I made half of a recipe and got about 16 muffins (normal sized muffins) I also used 1/4 tsp of maple extract instead of vanilla. Everyone in my house went nuts for them. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Its simple and tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      This recipe is awesome!!! I baked a couple of loaves to send out to a few friends, and while I waited for them to cool, my kids ate them all up!!! I had to bake two more!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      I did the loaf version and it was wonderful. Reminded me of spice cake. Has a nice texture. I used half sugar and half Splenda and cut baking time by about 5 minutes. I am going to add chopped walnuts next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      My DD said they tasted like gingerbread! I used 1 C honey for the sugar and forgot to decrease the liquid, so they were VERY moist! I used 1/2 C canola and 1/2 C applesauce and w.w. pastry flour. I filled the muffins almost full bcz of the flour and they made 22 regular sized muffins. Very yummy. If my DD (who hates yams) will eat them, I'm excited!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      These are wonderful muffins. I used only 1/2 cup of canola oil and added 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce. I baked them in regular muffin tins, filling them 2/3+ full. I cooked them for 18 minutes and got 15 big muffins. I probably should have put the mashed sweet potatoes through the food processor rather than using the potato masher. But, the muffin I tried warm from the oven was still great even though I had a couple of sweet potato chunks in it. I think these would be great for either breafast or dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato Bread or Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1612 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2372.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1062
    44%
    Total Fat 118.0 g
    181%
    Saturated Fat 16.8 g
    84%
    Cholesterol 279.0 mg
    93%
    Sodium 3138.1 mg
    130%
    Total Carbohydrate 304.8 g
    101%
    Dietary Fiber 11.1 g
    44%
    Sugars 165.1 g
    660%
    Protein 27.4 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites