12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Supremely yummy! I didn't measure the amount of mashed potatoes, just eyeballed them and mashed away. The eggs make the sweet potato layer hold together beautifully. I used brown sugar in the sweet potato mix as well as in the pecan layer. I had kids fighting over the pecans while the adults were fighting over the sweet potato. Will I make it again? In a heartbeat!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj February 24, 2003

This is so good! Nice and sweet and buttery...great for holiday weight gaining. :) I will certainly be putting this on the holiday menu as a permanent item. We have a small family and I always make lots of different dishes so I halved this recipe to try it out. It was very easy to cut the ingredients in half but almost everyone will want seconds of this so that must be taken into consideration. Thanks for the great recipe that we will enjoy for years to come.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheffie M December 25, 2011

darlene loves this recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. April 21, 2009

My family has been using this recipe for years. This is the only way I will eat sweet potatoes!!! Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JCHEESMAN November 27, 2008

Found this just in time for Thanksgiving. Itwas the hit of dinner! It has already been requested for Christmas dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherilh-kc December 02, 2006

Excellent! I used canned yams. This dish made such a hit at my diner table it made me and our guest very happy. I normally pack a doggy bag for our guest, I was asked by several if I would give them some of the SPB to take home. Luckily I made two casseroles. Just delicious! I would make this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lolarod318 November 28, 2005

Made this for Thanksgiving and got raves for it all weekend! Very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
novembrrr November 28, 2005

My mother always made this for the holidays and now I do..its always a HUGE hit! Everyone always asks me if I'm going to make this when I invite them to our Thanksgiving dinner, they say they will definately be there if I make this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebiY55 November 18, 2005

The recipe I use is very similar as well. I use the Vanilla in with the potatoes and use evaporated milk and only 3 tbsp of melted butter instead of 1/4 cup. I always use fresh sweet potatoes, but others have made it with canned. What an awesome casserole! I always get rave reviews!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marguerite214 November 17, 2005

This is almost identical to the recipe I use, and it's really good! I had it at my son-in-law's grandmother's house. Someone had just given her the recipe, and she was trying it out. I enjoyed it so that she gave me the recipe. Now I serve it at every holiday meal as "her recipe", but my son-in-law has never eaten it at his grandmother's house, only at mine. I especially enjoy the topping. It's an easy recipe and that's important for holiday meals. I usually just use the large (48 oz.) can of sweet potatoes, and drain and mash them, for convenience on a busy day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrandmaIsCooking November 20, 2004
Sweet Potato Bake