Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato and Lentil Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato and Lentil Soup

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2010

      Amazing recipe! It is very very inexpensive, and the flavour is fantastic! I left out the coriander because I was feeling lazy, used vegetable stock in place of chicken, and pureed the soup in 2 batches in the blender and it came out perfectly. Definately nice enough to serve at a dinner party. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Surprisingly delicious. I didn't use onions because I don't like onions, but this was still a great, filling, and healthy soup. It didn't taste sweet at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      What a great way to use lentils and create a delicious and healthy dish. I used my hand blender to puree... and I used cilantro that comes in a tube (sounds strange I know... but there are herbs available in the produce section that last longer than fresh herbs). I also cut the recipe in half and used only a half of an onion. This is a keeper... but remember to serve only to those who like cilantro (some people are very adverse to the taste, but I love it!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      This is my 5 year olds FAVORITE soup. He is packing it on his first day of kindergarten!!!!! Now that is what I call COMFORT food!!!! I do everything that the recipe says except the coriander/cilantro, just not a big fan. The only other thing I differ in is I don't peel the sweet potatoes. That's where all the nurtients are. Having said that this soup is AWESOME!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Yum, yum, and yum again. Thank goodness for the poster who explained that this recipe is asking for a half cup of cilantro, not a half cup of ground coriander!! The lemon also really added something at the end. The only thing I would change next time is to boil the lentils and spices for about 20 minutes before I add the potatos and onions. The potatos were really falling apart before the lentils were done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      So good! I didn't bother pureeing the soup and thought it was very delicious. I would advice people in the United States that when the recipe calls for 1/2 cup coriander it is referring to what you find in supermarkets here as fresh cilantro (don't use dried coriander seeds or ground coriander - this would give it a very different flavor).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      just realized I forgot to add the lemon juice, but it was still terrific. Had some for dinner and froze the rest.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      Skipped the cayanne for my toddler's benefit, but this is still delicious. The lentils are there, but only lending thickness and body to the soup. I'll definately be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      I made this last night, halving the spices, for the baby. (My 8 month old hates 'baby food, but adores blended soups with onion and garlic!) He went nuts for it, and I thought it tasted pretty good too. I think I'll help him eat it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      SEN-SATION-AL!!!! Can I even say WOW!!! Absolutely LOVED this soup, true! Snuck in grated zucchini too! Definite keeper this is for me! LOVED combination and low fat! GREAT recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2014

      I used regular lentils because the store didn't have red. I'm pretty sure the swap didn't change the flavor. 1/2 cup of cilantro (coriander) may be too overpowering because I opted for 1/4 cup and it was plenty. Served the soup with baked sourdough. Next time I'll have something more substantial on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2013

      Very nicely done--a fat free soup that is very rich tasting. Will cook it many more times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      I thought it was pretty tasty however I did not Puree it because my blender is not working very well. Maybe next time, or Ill freeze it and blend it when I have it next time.<br/><br/>I also added little chunks of leftover beef, and it was yummy like that too! Thanks for the recipe! Ill def make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      We thought this was good, although we did find that 1 cup was plenty for a serving size. Thank you for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

    • on November 22, 2011

      DH and I were split on this recipe. He was not a fan of this recipe. I liked it but had to do some tweaking to get it to my tastes. I think there was too much cumin for us. It was super filling. I love how healthy this recipe is. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2011

      This was awesome! Sweet potatoes are my FAVORITE food and this soup made them the star. I loved how creamy and rich this soup was. The only change I made was to use 4 cups of low sodium vegetable broth and 1 cup of water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      I made this exactly as written and was quite disappointed. The flavors just didn't seem to go together, it didn't have a pleasing taste. I was expecting it to have a hint of sweetness from the sweet potatoes but it wasn't at all. I would not make it again as written, but I like the idea of using lentils and sweet potatoes in a soup. Thanks anyways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      This is a tasty, inexpensive, easy soup that makes a hearty meal when served with cheddar biscuits or cornbread. In addition to sweet potatoes, I've also made it with a mixture of sweet potatoes and turnips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      This is fantastic and nutritiious soup! We made it as written and topped it with a spoon of lite sour cream. Served it with "Va Voom Veggie Burgers" for a completely vegetarian dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato and Lentil Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (427 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 322.2
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    63%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 6.0 mg
    2%
    Sodium 361.6 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.5 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 11.0 g
    44%
    Protein 16.0 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites