Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato and Chickpea Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato and Chickpea Curry

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 19, 2009

      This made a nice light, quick meal. I didn't have tamarind paste so I substituted tomato paste, and added a chopped tomato as well. Next time I would add more veggies, like carrots and/or spinach. It wasn't super filling but had a nice kick to it and pretty good flavor. Overall I would say it was good, not great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      This is a tasty recipe. I took a simplified approach whereby I combined all the spices, the onion, garlic, tamarind and ginger in a food processor to make a paste. I sauted the sweet potatoes a bit in the paste, and added some red bell pepper slices as a substitute for the chickpeas (I was making a different chickpea curry that night, too). Then I just added the coconut milk and let simmer. I didn't bother with the broth, just added milk if more moisture was needed. The color of the curry left a bit to be desired, just kind of a drab brownish, but overall, a tasty curry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      I was so scared to try this recipe - as I am not a big fan of meatless dishes. However, it was fantastic! Very filling, as it is really starchy when paired with rice. However, I really enjoyed it, and so did my bf! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Wow, this veggie dish is so delicious! It's like I'm not really fond of these ingredients but after trying this, I really liked it! I served this with Cranberry Wild Rice Pilaf and Spicy Yam Curry and I sure enjoyed my meal! Thanks for sharing this, H! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Fantastic curry that was wolfed down by a group of exchange students (including two vegetarians). I didn't have enough sweet potato, so diced and added some zucchini I had on hand. Otherwise made as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      Made & reviewed for ZWT 4 ~ Kumquat's Kookin; Kaboodles! Wow! This is so good! I made 1/2 the recipe & it is amazing. we ate this with coconut rice and enjoyed every last moutful! Thanks Heather for another fab recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      really yummy. we halved the chickpeas, though. Really quick and easy to make. and healthy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      Great Comfort food here! I cut the recipe for 2 but use enough chickpeas for 4 becuase I had a large can of them used 2 cloves of garlic, 10 onces coconut milk and canned tamarind nectar skipping the broth. Served over rice. And have leftover for 2 more. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato and Chickpea Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (361 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 367.7
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    11%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 565.3 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.5 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 12.7 g
    50%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gingerroot

    cardamom pods

    light coconut milk

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes