Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato and Black Bean Burrito Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato and Black Bean Burrito

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on October 23, 2002

      Great vegetarian meal! I love the sweet potato and black bean combo... it's balanced and hearty without being too heavy. These are a delight for the senses: the spices smell great when these are cooking, the colors of the orange sweet potato and earthy black beans are wonderful to work with before they hit the food processor but the result is a dynamite filling. I would love to try the filling in wonton skins as little dumplings! Paired this dish with a mild spanish rice. Reheated well for lunch the following day. Thanks for a creative recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      Made this for a dinner party. True to ingredients and recipe. I can't believe that a sweet potato and black bean mixture would be so great! well received by guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      Good! I did half with the addition of ground beef and half without, and like the texture better with the ground beef. And I didn't totally puree. Used some reconstituted dried onions, and didn't use quite the amount of everything, and it still made a LOT. Used canned chilies, no coriander or cilantro or oil (since I didn't fry my onions,)and homemade tortillas. Served with sour cream and salsa, which really made it, and my family also added cheese. Was a very different combination of flavors that I had previously experienced, but good, and my picky kids loved it. One more thing, lol, I think I actually used yams instead of sweet potatoes, because I usually forget which is which, but it worked :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      I dont often write reviews but this recipe is outstanding! love the sweetness of the yam it really doesnt even need meat

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2012

      My family loved these! I added a pound of hamburger to mine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      Wonderful. Even veggie haters like this. Great to have in the freezer for a quick diner or to grab for a work day lunch. The flavours of the beans and yams (I, too, don't puree this anymore - we like it better coarsely mashed so some beans are still whole) are surprisingly good. We never miss the cheese when I don't add any. And they are a great comfort food even if I have run out of salsa.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      These take a lot of preparation, but they are worth the wait! The filling is tasty and nutritious. What more could you ask for? The seasonings were perfect and I loved the conistency. I made half of the recipe and it will last me all week for lunch making. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      I really really liked this. No problem with texture here (i like when things are all one texture). This had a great combo of savory and sweet and made for a very original and delicious burrito! I added cheese in mine and topped with salsa and guacamole. Thanks Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      I'm not sure I should give them stars, bcz I did make a few changes, plus, I never put the filling into wraps. We're gf here. But the filling is so good, I've been eating it like refried beans, only they're healthier. I do think you have to like curry to like this dish, and I love curry (and black beans and sweet potatoes)! I used 1 onion, no chili pepper or coriander or cilantro (I hate it), garlic powder. This would be good as a hot wrap, but putting some cheese and salsa in the wrap b4 heating.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      I'm sorry these did not do it for us. The cilantro over took them. The texture was blah.. Out of 10 people everyone asked me to never make this again! sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      These are addictive!! I skip the food processor because we prefer more texture. I served it with mexican style rice and salsa. Wonderful! I've also frozen some of the filling to make them easier on busy nights.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      Fantastic! Hearty and tasty. This is one of my new favs! I mashed the potatoes/bean mixture instead of pureeing and used pineapple juice instead of lemon juice (which I realized I didn't have on hand at the last minute). So yummy and healthy too. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      We loved it. Great blend of flavors. I did not puree it- thought it would be better a little chunky. Thanks for a creative, great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Very yummy and healthy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      Tasty stuff. The only thing I would change is I wouldn't bake them as burritos. I'd warm up the mixture and eat it with soft tortillas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      Unbeleivable combo!!! I am not a veggie nut or anything, this was just plain good. I really think it would be six stars if you had ground taco meat in it as well...even ground turkey. But this was so good just as is!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Great recipe. Followed it a bit loosely since I was making it for 3 people. Used 1 large sweet potato, 1 can of black beans, and pretty much halved the spices. My variation was to blend and reheat the blended mixture, add to heated tortillas with rice. Added Monterrey Jack cheese, sour cream, guacamole, salsa and some hot sauce. Definitely will make this again... and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      I made these tonight with a few changes and am very pleased (although I found that I disliked coriander and cilantro!). Instead of boiling the sweet potato, I peeled, cubed and baked it in the oven and I had no lemon juice. Next time, I might cut the potato in wedges before baking and just mash the beans with the onion mixture - a little cayenne sounds good, too. Definitely a do-over!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      These are great! I mashed the filling by hand, and left it chunky. I used whole wheat tortillas, which were fabulous, and omitted the oil to lower the calorie/fat content. This made 8 HUGE burritos, so I froze 4 of them. Thanks for the yummy and healthy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      I found this recipe in my Moosewood Lowfat Favorites cookbook and they are fabulous - possibly my favorite burrito recipe! I leave the filling chunky rather than puree it and add a bit of cheese, some corn and black olives. I find that about 3 sweet potatoes and 2 cans of black beans makes plenty for our family of four. I would have posted this myself if it wasn't already here because it's too good not to share!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato and Black Bean Burrito

    Serving Size: 1 (2933 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 575.1
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    16%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1156.3 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 101.9 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 15.9 g
    63%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 19.8 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites