40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great vegetarian meal! I love the sweet potato and black bean combo... it's balanced and hearty without being too heavy. These are a delight for the senses: the spices smell great when these are cooking, the colors of the orange sweet potato and earthy black beans are wonderful to work with before they hit the food processor but the result is a dynamite filling. I would love to try the filling in wonton skins as little dumplings! Paired this dish with a mild spanish rice. Reheated well for lunch the following day. Thanks for a creative recipe!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rsarahl October 23, 2002

Made this for a dinner party. True to ingredients and recipe. I can't believe that a sweet potato and black bean mixture would be so great! well received by guests.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenEricTravelers January 14, 2012

Good! I did half with the addition of ground beef and half without, and like the texture better with the ground beef. And I didn't totally puree. Used some reconstituted dried onions, and didn't use quite the amount of everything, and it still made a LOT. Used canned chilies, no coriander or cilantro or oil (since I didn't fry my onions,)and homemade tortillas. Served with sour cream and salsa, which really made it, and my family also added cheese. Was a very different combination of flavors that I had previously experienced, but good, and my picky kids loved it. One more thing, lol, I think I actually used yams instead of sweet potatoes, because I usually forget which is which, but it worked :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarlovinmom January 15, 2010

I dont often write reviews but this recipe is outstanding! love the sweetness of the yam it really doesnt even need meat

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carlie3 March 26, 2013

My family loved these! I added a pound of hamburger to mine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kewpiecyster August 10, 2012

Wonderful. Even veggie haters like this. Great to have in the freezer for a quick diner or to grab for a work day lunch. The flavours of the beans and yams (I, too, don't puree this anymore - we like it better coarsely mashed so some beans are still whole) are surprisingly good. We never miss the cheese when I don't add any. And they are a great comfort food even if I have run out of salsa.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marysdottir February 21, 2012

These take a lot of preparation, but they are worth the wait! The filling is tasty and nutritious. What more could you ask for? The seasonings were perfect and I loved the conistency. I made half of the recipe and it will last me all week for lunch making. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood January 23, 2012

I really really liked this. No problem with texture here (i like when things are all one texture). This had a great combo of savory and sweet and made for a very original and delicious burrito! I added cheese in mine and topped with salsa and guacamole. Thanks Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sofie-a-toast May 03, 2011

I'm not sure I should give them stars, bcz I did make a few changes, plus, I never put the filling into wraps. We're gf here. But the filling is so good, I've been eating it like refried beans, only they're healthier. I do think you have to like curry to like this dish, and I love curry (and black beans and sweet potatoes)! I used 1 onion, no chili pepper or coriander or cilantro (I hate it), garlic powder. This would be good as a hot wrap, but putting some cheese and salsa in the wrap b4 heating.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead October 28, 2010

I'm sorry these did not do it for us. The cilantro over took them. The texture was blah.. Out of 10 people everyone asked me to never make this again! sorry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
razzintaz August 22, 2010
Sweet Potato and Black Bean Burrito