Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Potato and Apple Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato and Apple Salad

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2003

      I just knew I would love this recipe! The only problem I had was waiting overnight to eat it. I substituted craisins for the currants, just because I had a huge bag full and am always looking for ways to use them up. I keep thinking about using the sweet potatoes, apples, currants, pecans, some celery and the fruit juices, but then folding in some yogurt instead of the rest of the ingredients. It would be a waldorf salad variation. Thanks for posting this innovative recipe Miss Annie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      this was really good, as written. When I made it a second time, I made the following changes: I didn't peel the apples because I liked the contrast of color. I added 3 scallions for a balance of the sweetness (next time purple onion, minced very finely). Served with Ham steaks on the grill and fresh roasted asparagus. very nice. A new summer salad for us! updated 3/2010 to say we added raw kohlrabi to the salad and it was fantabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2005

      This was my first use of raw sweet potatoes, and I was surprised at how much I liked them. This recipe is a keeper. I made a few changes (of course!) - First, instead of shredding the potatoes, I cut them into slices about 1/3 inch thick and quick browned each side on a griddle to brown the outside a bit. I then cut them into a dice, with some odd "matchstick" shapes due to the shape of the potatoes. I added a large spoonful of frozen orange juice concentrate to intensify the orange flavor, and doubled the vinaigrette recipe. I then used half the vinaigrette for the overnight sitting time. The next day, after turning the potato and fruit mixture a few times to disperse the dressing throughout, I tossed a lot of salad greens with the other half of the vinaigrette in a large shallow serving bowl, then heaped about half (maybe a little more) of the potato/apple mixture on top. I saved the currants (I used craisins) and toasted pecan bits to sprinkle on top. It made enough as a side salad for 6 adults, two large teens, and two children. When I make it again, I'll probably add more salad greens, but that's a judgment call for the cook. The tartness of the apple is essential; if all you have is sweet apples, I'd make something else with them and make this when you have tart apples.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Sounded interesting but found it to be too dry. No one liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      Not too shabby! I enjoyed the flavors, colors, and crunch of this dish. I didn't refrigerate it overnight before serving, 'cause I just didn't want to wait on it. The only thing I didn't have on hand were the dried currants, so those were omitted. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      I substituted raisins for currants, and used one red apple instead of the 2 green, and cut down a little on the garlic. It's unbelievably good. I think that I actually prefer the taste of raw sweet potato to cooked now. (And I couldn't wait overnight to taste it, so I ate it as soon as it was assembled.) Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

    • on July 23, 2007

      "The nifty thing about this refreshing salad is ... the sweet potatoes are raw." All the rest of it is just season to taste. I wanted something lighter for the summer, so I got it down to just the apples, sweet potatoes, and lime juice. Other combinations of dried fruit, nuts, and vinegars seem to work great, although I've always omitted the oil. Refrigerating overnight doesn't seem necessary at all, unless you just like a very soft salad. I normally just do 30-60 minutes, to chill. Without the dressing, it also makes a nice mix-in for jello.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      Wow! Did this bring back memories! I used to visit the Kokomo Cafe & Gumbo Pot when I lived in El Lay, and this salad was a perfect foil for spicy jambalaya & gumbo dishes. I had made my own version with Best Foods mayo dressing, finely diced green onions or chives, finely minced red (ripe) Anaheim peppers, and crumbled bacon over the top with the crushed pecans. It always evaporates at potlucks, parties and get-togethers. Even people who say they hate sweet potatoes (and who wouldn't when they're served emulsified with gooey marshmallows on top?) love this and can't believe it is raw into the bargain. I'm making this to take to my sister and brother's housewarming party. They're serving jambalaya so this will be the perfect foil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2005

      This is one of the most unique salad recipes I've ever made. I took it to a church dinner and they loved it! I'll be making it again soon. THX!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato and Apple Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 321.9
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    52%
    Total Fat 18.8 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 79.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 19.8 g
    79%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes