11 Reviews

This recipe is awesome! I used fresh salsa and added a cup of water because I did it in the over and didn't want it to dry out. I coated my pork with the salsa and brown sugar and it turned out perfect! My kids love it! I love it! Will definitely add this to my monthly rotation if not more!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber P. March 18, 2014

This recipe was not good. :( I really wanted it to be great and it sounded so good, but the truth is that after 8 hours all the liquid acquired during cooking made this very bland. I doubt I did anything wrong in preparation as all the ingredients were just 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of salsa over pork roast. I had to add so much more seasoning to even get this to taste OK. I will not be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindyrocks88 August 19, 2012

Super easy and delicious! We used this to make burrito bowls, layered with cilantro lime rice, pinto beans, sweet pork, shredded cheese, fresh salsa, guacamole, and sour cream. Thanks for sharing! This recipe is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover March 04, 2010

My boyfriend and I made these and we think that they were delicious! The longer you leave them in the slow cooker the more tender and easier to shed they get!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shortie83605 December 20, 2008

My family loved this...we ate it on flour taco shells with sour cream, onions and shredded cheese. The small amount of leftover meat made a good sandwich also. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandyarrasmith January 22, 2008

This pork was so easy to make and sooooo delicious! I used Splenda brown sugar instead of regular to cut back on calories a bit and it turned out to be super moist, sweet and everyone loved it! Fantastic for moms on the go!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen Reynolds November 22, 2007

Wow - this was easy and delicious. Definitely can't go wrong with a 3 ingredient recipe that you basically don't do anything to for the majority of the day. We served this in tacos and it went over extremely well. I'll definitely be using leftovers for sandwiches and other recipes. Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knitaholic November 02, 2007

This is a good recipe. I used mild salsa. Perhaps a medium salsa would have given it a more sweet and spicy flavor. The roast shredded easily after being in the slow cooker for 10 hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon July 22, 2007

I loved it and wanted to give it 5 stars. DH said it was too sweet and gave it 3 stars. We compromised with 4 stars. Super easy to prepare! I didn't have 8-10 hours so I cooked it on high for 6 hours. Shredded the pork after 5 hours and left the lid off as suggested. The juices thickened up just right. Served it on sesame seed hamburger buns. The sweet/spicy taste reminded me a lot of the "Jack Daniels" sauce served at the TGI Friday's Restaurant chain.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texas Aggie Mom July 17, 2007

This was so simple to make, and smelled delicious while cooking. I used a 4lb roast, and it cooked for 4 hours on high. Then I poured the juice into a saucepan, brought it to boil, and thickened with 2tbsp cornstarch dissolved in cold water. Shredded the pork, mixed it into the sauce and got rave reviews for supper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri Newell April 16, 2007
Sweet Pork