Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Plantains Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Plantains

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2013

      Very tasty. Followed recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Love it! I was in Progresso, Mexico last month and ordered fried plantains, took one bite and knew that I had to make this at home. This recipe is very close. Next time I'm going to add a couple of tablespoons of orange juice to the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      It was very good! However I would not use as much butter next time- it just doesn't need it. I paired them with a hot cereal mixture I make in my rice cooker and Oh Man was that good. Top it with a bit of chocolate sauce and I'm in heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      This was awesome! Served with white rice and cuban black beans. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      I cooked it exactly as the recipe said and wouldn't change a thing. They were wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      These plantains were very good! Living in Japan, we are finding these EVERYWHERE, even our backyard! We topped these with out homemade carmalized pecan ice cream! A PERFECT dessert! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      This is an awesome way to cook plantains! I love fried plantains but these are even better as it adds some different flavors to them. Really enjoyed them as a snack/dessert. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      These are fabulous. I love the cinnamon addition and the carmelized brown sugar...it reminded me of a cross between fried plantains and a cinnamon roll. For one plaintain, I used about 2 tbsp of butter and halved everything else. UPDATE: This time I made them as directed buy cut back the butter and left out the cinnamon. They were a great side dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      YUM! Simple, fast, cheap, and good...what more can you ask for? I also only used the first 4 tablespoons of butter which worked out a-ok! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      WONDERFUL, I just bought 1 plantain because we had never had them before. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of cutting it into coins, and after I added the sugar I turned the fire off and let it sit until we were done with dinner. We will make again with more plantains.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      Great recipe, i've never added vanilla extract before! I didn't need the extra butter at the end because it was still dripping; just make sure the plantain is overripe or else it won't be as tasty. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      Delicious! These go together so quickly and easily with very little effort. I used 3 plantains which I cut in half lengthwise and then again crosswise to get 4 pieces per plantain. I used only 4 TBSP of butter, omitting the last TBSP after cooking, and mixed the cinnamon, vanilla, and brown sugar together in a small bowl before adding to the pan. I cooked these in a cast iron skillet which gave them a nice, golden brown crust. My family loved these and claimed them a "winner". Thank you for a wonderful, quick and easy dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      Oooooh, that's good!! It cooked faster than the 25 minutes that's noted on the recipe though. Next time I'll start these later so that I can serve them piping hot with my main dish. I made these to go with lechon asado. What a wonderful treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      Goodness gracious...I grew up eating plantains and this is a wonderful way to cook them! I changed the recipe a bit, and it came out great: I sliced two plantains width-wise into one inch pieces to ensure they'd fry all the way through. Then I used 4 tablespoons of butter total and, since plantains are naturally sweet, I used only 1 and 1/2 tablespoons of brown sugar. Just a tasty treat...like eating candy. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      This is delicious. I've been looking for a good plaintain recipe to serve with black beans and rice and this is it!!! My husband said he could do with a little less brown sugar but I disagree. Quick, easy, delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      Very good dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Plantains

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 266.9
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    49%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 38.1 mg
    12%
    Sodium 8.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 20.2 g
    80%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites