58 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had too many jalapenos at the end of the season, so I looked for an easy canning recipe. I found and used this one, without changing anything. I only made two quart jars, and my mother-in-law actually stole one of the jars when I served them at Thanksgiving last year! The peppers were still hot, but the taste was very unique and wonderful. I plan on using this recipe again this year on all of the different peppers I have grown. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cyndi Mc Nutt August 14, 2009

Great recipe. Very easy to make. I used Mrs. Wage's pickling lime before I pickled the peppers to make them crunchy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
938413 August 29, 2008

I am a little skeptical at first trying some of these recipes, but this recipe was great! I just used banana peppers from my garden. I did water bathe them for about 10 minutes. Remember to try and read other reviews before trying because if they are all pretty good, you know the recipe is good, like this one. I will use this recipe every year. I am waiting to grow more peppers so I can make some more of this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swirple July 14, 2007

I opened my first jar of these peppers this past weekend. Had them on salads and thoroughly enjoyed them. They were so easy to make and what a great result. Only change I made was I added 2 fresh cayenne peppers to each jar, just for an added zing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lunchmeat July 10, 2006

The directions for this recipe are perfect, I was pleasently surprised that the jars really did seal themselves. I did not have mustard seed, so I used 1/4 t. each of dry mustard and pickling spice. Will let you know how they taste in a few weeks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawnab September 04, 2005

The combination of the sugar and the intensity of very hot banana peppers makes the tongue stand up and say, WOW! However, I think I did something wrong, because the pepper rings weren't crunchy like a pepperocini. They were very soft, almost melting on the tongue. I added pickling salt to the recipe for my taste, so I don't know if that did it or not.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meccatx June 27, 2005

Great way to pickle banana peppers, I will be planting more next gardening season! I love them on sandwiches! I got two pints, but thats all the peppers I had. I let them sit for just over the two weeks and they are great!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 October 19, 2003

Great recipe! The peppers turned out great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melslack September 13, 2003

Thought this is an Excellent recipe for pickled banana peppers! I will make this one again. Thanks Bergy....But I have to say my favorite pepper is still a jalapeno, hehe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB August 29, 2003

Very good recipe. Really easy to make and double. It's a good way to use banana peppers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joyce Boren August 11, 2003
Sweet Pickled Banana Peppers