Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Pickled Banana Peppers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Pickled Banana Peppers

    Average Rating:

    58 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 58

    Sort by:

    • on August 14, 2009

      I had too many jalapenos at the end of the season, so I looked for an easy canning recipe. I found and used this one, without changing anything. I only made two quart jars, and my mother-in-law actually stole one of the jars when I served them at Thanksgiving last year! The peppers were still hot, but the taste was very unique and wonderful. I plan on using this recipe again this year on all of the different peppers I have grown. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      Great recipe. Very easy to make. I used Mrs. Wage's pickling lime before I pickled the peppers to make them crunchy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      I am a little skeptical at first trying some of these recipes, but this recipe was great! I just used banana peppers from my garden. I did water bathe them for about 10 minutes. Remember to try and read other reviews before trying because if they are all pretty good, you know the recipe is good, like this one. I will use this recipe every year. I am waiting to grow more peppers so I can make some more of this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      I opened my first jar of these peppers this past weekend. Had them on salads and thoroughly enjoyed them. They were so easy to make and what a great result. Only change I made was I added 2 fresh cayenne peppers to each jar, just for an added zing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2005

      The directions for this recipe are perfect, I was pleasently surprised that the jars really did seal themselves. I did not have mustard seed, so I used 1/4 t. each of dry mustard and pickling spice. Will let you know how they taste in a few weeks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2005

      The combination of the sugar and the intensity of very hot banana peppers makes the tongue stand up and say, WOW! However, I think I did something wrong, because the pepper rings weren't crunchy like a pepperocini. They were very soft, almost melting on the tongue. I added pickling salt to the recipe for my taste, so I don't know if that did it or not.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2003

      Great way to pickle banana peppers, I will be planting more next gardening season! I love them on sandwiches! I got two pints, but thats all the peppers I had. I let them sit for just over the two weeks and they are great!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2003

      Great recipe! The peppers turned out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2003

      Thought this is an Excellent recipe for pickled banana peppers! I will make this one again. Thanks Bergy....But I have to say my favorite pepper is still a jalapeno, hehe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2003

      Very good recipe. Really easy to make and double. It's a good way to use banana peppers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2014

      Oh so good Bergy!!! Never made sweet banana peppers before and it won't be the last. Thank you much for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2014

      Great and easy recipe. Reminds me of my grandparents and their garden.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2014

      I didn't seal them, just put them in the refrigerator, do I have to wait 2 weeks before eating them??<br/>They were very easy to make, can't wait to try them out!!! I made 1 qt jar with this recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2013

      This recipe is so good. I used some mildly hot peppers and followed the recipe as is and they were amazing. I like the sweetness followed by a little bit of heat. Of note, the recipe for brine filled two pint jars. I seeded and cut the peppers into fairly thick slices and packed them in the jar very well. I had a towel on the counter and lightly tapped the jars on the towel to pack the peppers tighter so I could add as many as possible. In order to find out how much brine to make, I did the recipe once to see how many jars it would fill. I then counted the filled jars to see how many times I needed to multiply the brine. I have already added this recipe to my recipe book and plan to use it from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2013

      I started using this recipe last year and I'm glad I did. I use them on pizza, sandwiches, crackers, you name it. By far the best banana pepper recipe I have ever tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      These were so yummy on a sub sandwich. I don't even like pickles and don't usually like peppers on my sandwich but these won me over. Very simple to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      For me, a new recipe for pickled peppers...and a fresh outlook. That's what I always say. Okay, I've never actually said that, but I'm going to from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      These are awesome! I love using them on Italian Beef sandwiches and on pizza. It's the perfect blend of sweet and tangy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      While this delicious recipe is written in an old-fashioned way, it is perfectly safe if processed using modern methods, so don't let that prevent you from considering trying it. If you are unfamiliar with these contemporary techniques, please go to http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/how/can_home.html for the current information.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      I read this yield to be 2.5 pint jars instead of 2 each .5 pint (ie, 1 pint) jars so I was kind of disappointed when I ran out of brine halfway through my second pint jar. That being said, though, it was easy to divide & make up just enough extra brine for my second pint jar. I also went ahead & processed my filled jars for 10 minutes in a water bath just to ensure they sealed properly so that I can feel safe eating them at the beginning of next summer (if they last that long).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Pickled Banana Peppers

    Serving Size: 1 (840 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 274.7
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    12%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 22.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.2 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 55.8 g
    223%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes