Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Pickled Banana Peppers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Pickled Banana Peppers

    Average Rating:

    58 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 58

    Sort by:

    • on August 16, 2002

      Recipe very easy to make. For those without food scale 1/2 lb. of pepper equals 2 cups of sliced and seeded peppers. Can't wait to eat them on pizza and hamburgers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      If Your garden includes Banana Peppers of the sweet variety,this is THE recipe to use.An impeccable brine that does not mask the original flavor of the pepper yet enhances it.I canned over 30 pints with this recipe.The truth is spoken when said it is easily doubled. No compromise in the flavor or integrity of the brine or pepper in doubling. My friends that I have shared this with, are virtually watching My garden, cheering on for more Sweet Bananas to mature so that I shall use this recipe!! Very,very, good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      I want you to know that I have been using this recipe for three years now. It is the only recipe we use for all of our pickling. I put green tomatoes, onions, green peppers, celery, carrots and a few banana or green peppers in my brine. I tried A LOT of recipes prior to this, but this is great. The first year I made them, we were eating a pint jar a day. I passed the recipe on to momma and daddy and they now exclusively use it. And they have been canning for over 50 years. Thank you so much. Yes, this recipe is that good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2002

      Excellent recipe, very easy to make and tastes great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      I tried this recipe for the first time this year and my family loves it. I followed it very closely to the original recipe and have had zero problems with my jars sealing themselves. I actually give these jars of peppers as gifts and have had several requests for more jars! The only thing I changed was to add pickle crisp to each jar, as the stored jars tended to get soggy after a couple months.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      These peppers were wonderful. The first time I made them with a mix of banana peppers, jalapeno and thai peppers (that was what had grown in the garden). My boyfriend would only pick out the jalapeno ones so the second time I made them with just jalapeno peppers and they were delicious. When I am just looking for a little heat I will use only the juice, ie for my guacamole. Nobody can figure out what makees my guac so delicous or replicate my secret ingriedient! My boyfriend puts the jalepenos on everything!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      Last year was my first time canning ever! I had great success with dilll pickles, beets and these peppers. Sorry for the late review. I used a mix of sweet & hot banana peppers cut into thick rings. My result was a great tasting very crisp pepper. Looking forward to making again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      I used this recipe on my first attempt at canning pickled peppers and got rave reviews from my father who eats them on a daily basis. He thought that the flavor was outstanding compared to the commercial brands! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      9/15/09: This was my first time at canning and what a wonderfully easy recipe! I love sweet pickled banana peppers, especially on subs. Can't wait to try them on pizza, hot dogs, etc. I had just over 1 lb of banana peppers prior to slicing. I doubled the brine recipe. I ended up with #7 1/2 pint jars. Being a novice at this, i probably did not pack the jars as much as I should have. I will be back with an addendum to this review in a couple of weeks, can't wait! Thanks Bergy :) Update: 9/30/09 Had my first sammie with these peppers and man o man, they were the crowning jewel of the sammie. My sammie was whole wheat sandwich thins, roast beef, baby swiss cheese, tomato, mayo and of course the PEPPERS! Yummy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      I love this recipe. I have simply refrigerated these pickled peppers without canning them. They last a long time...at least 6 months. I use them in salads and on sandwiches. Such an easy way to add zip. I haven't added more spicy peppers to the mix but will add them to the mix this weekend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      This sounds like a great recipe, however I would recommend at least 10 minutes in a hot water bath to process these jars. It's not safe to rely on the popping lids to ensure the seal, and that's only part of the reason we water-bath our canning jars. There are very specific guidelines for temperature within the jars in order to kill all bacteria and ensure your safety.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      I just made this using jalapenos and the brine is delicious. 14 jelly jars sealed without a problem. Will add addendum when I get to taste these yummy treats. We have been eating these over the winter and I have 2 guys who never eat jalapenos begging for them! One even planted peppers this year just to make this recipe! Thank you! We grill a lot of sandwhiches and put these on before grilling. I think they like that some of the heat is turned down by the sugar...not sure...but do know they are DELICIOUS! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      I've never had *sweet* pickled jalapenos, so I'm anxious to give it a try. I still have to wait two weeks before I can taste the pickles, but right now I have to give 5 Stars just for how very quick and easy it was to prepare. As you can see from the photo, I used all jalapeno peppers and added some slices of garlic. I also didn't have any mustard seed, so substituted with dry mustard. Thanks Bergy, for sharing. UPDATE: Aug 15/08....I had a hard time waiting the two weeks before I could open the jar, but WOW, WOW, WOW. These are fantastic. No more El Paso for me. This is the ONLY way to fly. Thanks again Bergy for a fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2003

      Hi, I'm new to this sort of thing, but remember a little of what my mom did when she home canned. I am tring one batch of these peppers, but I found that the recipe makes (2) pints of pickels not (2) 1/2 pints as the recipe says. I measured out 2 cups of pepper rings, like Michele Iles recomended to be about a 1/2 lb. And then did the pickeling juice and it sure filled both of my pint jars. I'll let them process for the 2 wks that the recipe wants, and then I'll let ya know what I think of them. The recipe is so easy, It takes me more time to clean the peppers than anything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      My family loves these all year round!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      This is a first time for me and peppers. It was great ,thanks bobtail

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      I loved this recipe but the peppers I used were just WAY too hot for me! The flavor of the 'juice' was wonderful, though, and I'll be trying for some less hot peppers next year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      These peppers are excellent and easy to make. We found it takes about 20 - 45 minutes for the jars to pop. They are excellent on everything including hamburgers, steak sandwiches, strombolli, subs, pizza, hot dogs. We tried these last year and loved them so we planted more peppers this year so we can have them all winter long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2003

      Bergy: I made 14 pints of these pickles and they are excellent with pinto beans, fried potatoes and corn bread. I used a mandoline to slice mine and except for butchering my fingers up (was bleeding like a stuck hog) it was an easy recipe to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      We love these and they make a good pickled pepper! Great on subs and pizzas too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Pickled Banana Peppers

    Serving Size: 1 (840 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 274.7
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    12%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 22.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.2 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 55.8 g
    223%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes