Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Pickle Relish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Pickle Relish

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 08, 2009

      This is a very good recipe. When you make it, cut the sugar and vinegar in half. Then you will not have leftover juice. I also cut the sugar down by 1/2 cup and the end result was quite tasty. After I soaked the veg with the salt water I drained, washed it well and then put it in my cloth bag I use for jelly juice to squeeze out all the juice. Worked quite nicely. I also made a double batch with a single batch of the juice and seeds and it turned out very good. Donna should be commended for the basic recipe. I will keep it to use each year from now on!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      This had the best flavor! Perfect! I doubled the recipe and did have quite a bit of leftover juice. I cannot bear to throw it away, it is too good. I will probably do as the first reviewer did and not double the vinegar and sugar mixture next time. There should still be plenty of liquid for the doubled amount of vegetables. I ended up with about 5 1/2 pints with the doubled recipe. This is my relish recipe from now on. I am on the hunt for a sweet pickle recipe using the same or similar ingredients to get this flavor. Donna, do you have one? Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      I made this today with the following changes and it is scrumptious. Instead of 2 cups vinegar, 1 cup was used. Instead of 3-1/2 cups of sugar, 1-3/4 cup of Splenda/sucralose was used and instead of the celery/mustard seeds, 2 T of pickling spices were used. This was my first attempt at any kind of relish. I ate it warm on crackers - very good! Can't wait until I can put it in some tuna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2014

      I started an account just so that I could rate this recipe. It is FANTASTIC! My grandkids even like it and they are poo poo on my canned stuff cause it's not like store bought. They could NOT resist it cause it's so yummy. <br/><br/>Thankyou so much. I will never buy sweet relish from the store again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

      This turned out wonderful! I moved to Uruguay a few years back and where I'm at sweet pickle relish can not be found. This was the fix I needed AND will go in the Thousand Island Dressing I'm going to make soon for Rueben sandwiches.<br/><br/>I had a lot of liquid left over too, as mentioned by others. What I did with that syrup was I made an apple and pear chutney. Added raisins, cinnamon, cloves, coriander, and grated orange peel. It came out fantastic! There is only 1/2 C syrup left and I'm going to pour it on some cooked rice for a desert.<br/><br/>Thanks for the sweet pickle relish recipe Donna!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      Only had enough ingredients to make two pints.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2013

      What a great relish! Doubled this recipe last weekend, and as another reviewer suggested used just the 2 cups cider vinegar and 3 1/2 cups of sugar - it turned out amazing. We made brats for dinner tonight and my husband finished half a pint jar on two brats. He raved that it's the best pickle relish he's ever had and has asked me to fill the pantry - lol - too bad my cuke plants are petering out! To drain the veggies, I just used my biggest colander and pressed them with several paper towels to remove as much water as possible. I will be hard pressed to ever buy store bought again. Thanks Donna!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2013

      I used 5 c. of cucumber and only 1 c. of green pepper. Left out the red pepper. This is easy and very good. I might reduce the sugar by a little next time. Also, I would definitely double this. It's a shame to heat the boiling water bath for just 3 pints. Not very efficient.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2013

      i've been using this recipe for years. It comes from Pickles and Relish, a great little canning book. There's one useful change. Bringing back to a boil after adding veggies. I also use more than the called-for veggies and do have juice left over. I keep it in the fridge with whatever didn't fit in the cans. It is sweet. We like it that way. I add cinammon sticks and a little ground cloves, sometimes a little nutmeg. Makes the flavor a little more complex and no one can ever figure out what I do to mine to make it so good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      This recipe made three pint jars of relish, but my oh my!!! Yum yum!!!!! I do love a super sweet relish, and this one fits the bill. I used the leftover relish I had to make my potato salad and it was awesome. I can't wait to pile up some of this relish on a hot dog next time I grill. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      We added a few things to this recipe. We doubled the recipe by adding 4 cups of Zucchini along with 4 cups of cucumbers. 3 cups of splenda, 3 cups of vinegar, and then pickling spices instead of mustard and celery seed. Could still cut back Splenda back by a cup, a little sweet. Taste just like what Grandma used to make !!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2013

      Very nice!!! This is the BEST recipe I've found for a good sweet relish. Made it yesterday(doubled it) and canned it. One jar I left out. We had hot dogs and mac for salad for dinner. I used it in the mac salad and everyone here ate it on their dogs. They LOVED it! The first jar is gone. It's good to eat by the spoonful,. ;) 6 more to go. Great recipe, Donna!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      This was just the recipe I was looking for. I have a smallish garden and this size recipe was just perfect for keeping up with the cucumbers we could not eat. Tasty and easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2014

      First of all. Let me just say this.. This Relish is AMAZING! <br/>I've been a line cook for about 5 years now and I am huge on flavors...This Relish sings to me! I made it at our restaurant one day, added it to our burgers, served to my chef and fellow cooks.. We were talking about it all day!<br/><br/>*You cannot imagine how much THIS RELISH compliments burgers, hot dogs or sandwiches*<br/><br/><br/>I was in a rush one day, so I cheated..My cheat for this recipe:<br/><br/>- I used dill pickles instead of cucumbers<br/>- I omitted the kosher salt and seeds (dill pickles)<br/>- I used Apple Cider Vinegar<br/><br/>My favorite relish to date. I'd give more stars if I could!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2014

      My mom used to make this for our family of 10, back many years ago. I believe I can help those that have lots of pickling liquid leftover...mom used to drain the veggies (after 2 hrs in saltwater) by putting them in a clean pillowcase and gang it outside, periodically squeezing it to release liquid. That's the secret, the veggies need to be quite dry when you add them in the pickling liquid to simmer 10 min. When I made this recipe, I added a few more peppers/onions had very little liquid left over. Hope this helps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2014

      This recipe is great. It doesn't really taste like relish to me but we all love it! Everyone that has tried it wants some! Great job!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2014

      I added a pinch of cloves and cinnamon based on what another reviewer said. I also cut back on the sugar a little bit. I used a small stainless strainer with a handle to slightly drain and then ladle the relish into the jars (and I used one of those canning plastic funnel things--indispensable!). You aren't kidding about the extra juice! I plan to use it for pickled eggs today, with a healthy pinch of powdered habanero for some zing. I tried some relish on a hot dog this morning, and while I don't normally go for sweet relish, this one is very good and I will enjoy it this summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2013

      This is great. I made one jar with hot peppers in in for my husband. Thanks a lot. Next time I will add additional cucumbers so I won't have lots of juice left over. Not quite sure if it will be too sweet yet. Can't wait to try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      Love this one! Thank-you so much.I have been chopping cucumber every evening for a week. Finally got a food processor really has helped. So far I have 13 pints and 4 quarts.I have 24 cups of chopped ,salted,cucs in the fridge to work on this evening after work.This receipt is delicious and you can guess what my friends will be getting for Christmas!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      I used this recipe after my cucumbers overran my garden. It is very sweet, but I like to do some sweet and some hot relish. This one is perfect and easy! I substituted mixed pickling spices for the mustard and celery seeds. Came out wonderful. will definitly use this next year. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Pickle Relish

    Serving Size: 1 (23 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 96

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 32.6
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    65%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 295.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 7.6 g
    30%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes