31 Reviews

This is a very good recipe. When you make it, cut the sugar and vinegar in half. Then you will not have leftover juice. I also cut the sugar down by 1/2 cup and the end result was quite tasty. After I soaked the veg with the salt water I drained, washed it well and then put it in my cloth bag I use for jelly juice to squeeze out all the juice. Worked quite nicely. I also made a double batch with a single batch of the juice and seeds and it turned out very good. Donna should be commended for the basic recipe. I will keep it to use each year from now on!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrankB August 08, 2009

This had the best flavor! Perfect! I doubled the recipe and did have quite a bit of leftover juice. I cannot bear to throw it away, it is too good. I will probably do as the first reviewer did and not double the vinegar and sugar mixture next time. There should still be plenty of liquid for the doubled amount of vegetables. I ended up with about 5 1/2 pints with the doubled recipe. This is my relish recipe from now on. I am on the hunt for a sweet pickle recipe using the same or similar ingredients to get this flavor. Donna, do you have one? Thank you for this recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsjones0416_12147819 August 02, 2013

I started an account just so that I could rate this recipe. It is FANTASTIC! My grandkids even like it and they are poo poo on my canned stuff cause it's not like store bought. They could NOT resist it cause it's so yummy. <br/><br/>Thankyou so much. I will never buy sweet relish from the store again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anotherstar June 01, 2014

This turned out wonderful! I moved to Uruguay a few years back and where I'm at sweet pickle relish can not be found. This was the fix I needed AND will go in the Thousand Island Dressing I'm going to make soon for Rueben sandwiches.<br/><br/>I had a lot of liquid left over too, as mentioned by others. What I did with that syrup was I made an apple and pear chutney. Added raisins, cinnamon, cloves, coriander, and grated orange peel. It came out fantastic! There is only 1/2 C syrup left and I'm going to pour it on some cooked rice for a desert.<br/><br/>Thanks for the sweet pickle relish recipe Donna!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simply Laurie December 20, 2013

This recipe made three pint jars of relish, but my oh my!!! Yum yum!!!!! I do love a super sweet relish, and this one fits the bill. I used the leftover relish I had to make my potato salad and it was awesome. I can't wait to pile up some of this relish on a hot dog next time I grill. Thanks for a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TNmom2four July 29, 2013

We added a few things to this recipe. We doubled the recipe by adding 4 cups of Zucchini along with 4 cups of cucumbers. 3 cups of splenda, 3 cups of vinegar, and then pickling spices instead of mustard and celery seed. Could still cut back Splenda back by a cup, a little sweet. Taste just like what Grandma used to make !!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
llrolfe July 06, 2013

I made this today with the following changes and it is scrumptious. Instead of 2 cups vinegar, 1 cup was used. Instead of 3-1/2 cups of sugar, 1-3/4 cup of Splenda/sucralose was used and instead of the celery/mustard seeds, 2 T of pickling spices were used. This was my first attempt at any kind of relish. I ate it warm on crackers - very good! Can't wait until I can put it in some tuna!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobbeck June 27, 2010

This is an amazing recipe! I added a couple jalapeños to spice it up! I also used orange peppers instead of green for a little added color and sweetness! Amazing flavor!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michaelprescott40 September 02, 2015

Reading all the previous reviews, I decided to pull back on the vinegar and sugar too. Since I was trying to can enough for the year (and gifts), I multiplied the recipe x 5 (for veggies) and x 3 for the vinegar/sugar. I should have ended up with 15 pints, but ended up with 9-1/2 pints. I had a ton of the liquid left over. Some direction on how what the veggie/liquid ratio should be would have been helpful. I personally went heavy on the veggie component, as I wanted it to spread nicely. Taste-wise, it is lovely. The seed additions add a nice crunch and flavor. I think Frank B's suggestion of using a cloth bag to squeeze the water out of the veggies was excellent. (I used cheesecloth which was great). (Another direction which should be added to the original recipe).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
photobuggy August 27, 2015

Why doesn't anyone review the actual recipe?? Always I changed this and changed that.... well let me say this review the actual recipe. Did anyone try the recipe as was written?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darrell C. August 17, 2015
Sweet Pickle Relish