26 Reviews

This is a very good recipe. When you make it, cut the sugar and vinegar in half. Then you will not have leftover juice. I also cut the sugar down by 1/2 cup and the end result was quite tasty. After I soaked the veg with the salt water I drained, washed it well and then put it in my cloth bag I use for jelly juice to squeeze out all the juice. Worked quite nicely. I also made a double batch with a single batch of the juice and seeds and it turned out very good. Donna should be commended for the basic recipe. I will keep it to use each year from now on!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrankB August 08, 2009

This had the best flavor! Perfect! I doubled the recipe and did have quite a bit of leftover juice. I cannot bear to throw it away, it is too good. I will probably do as the first reviewer did and not double the vinegar and sugar mixture next time. There should still be plenty of liquid for the doubled amount of vegetables. I ended up with about 5 1/2 pints with the doubled recipe. This is my relish recipe from now on. I am on the hunt for a sweet pickle recipe using the same or similar ingredients to get this flavor. Donna, do you have one? Thank you for this recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsjones0416_12147819 August 02, 2013

I made this today with the following changes and it is scrumptious. Instead of 2 cups vinegar, 1 cup was used. Instead of 3-1/2 cups of sugar, 1-3/4 cup of Splenda/sucralose was used and instead of the celery/mustard seeds, 2 T of pickling spices were used. This was my first attempt at any kind of relish. I ate it warm on crackers - very good! Can't wait until I can put it in some tuna!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobbeck June 27, 2010

I started an account just so that I could rate this recipe. It is FANTASTIC! My grandkids even like it and they are poo poo on my canned stuff cause it's not like store bought. They could NOT resist it cause it's so yummy. <br/><br/>Thankyou so much. I will never buy sweet relish from the store again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anotherstar June 01, 2014

This turned out wonderful! I moved to Uruguay a few years back and where I'm at sweet pickle relish can not be found. This was the fix I needed AND will go in the Thousand Island Dressing I'm going to make soon for Rueben sandwiches.<br/><br/>I had a lot of liquid left over too, as mentioned by others. What I did with that syrup was I made an apple and pear chutney. Added raisins, cinnamon, cloves, coriander, and grated orange peel. It came out fantastic! There is only 1/2 C syrup left and I'm going to pour it on some cooked rice for a desert.<br/><br/>Thanks for the sweet pickle relish recipe Donna!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simply Laurie December 20, 2013

Only had enough ingredients to make two pints.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound September 25, 2013

What a great relish! Doubled this recipe last weekend, and as another reviewer suggested used just the 2 cups cider vinegar and 3 1/2 cups of sugar - it turned out amazing. We made brats for dinner tonight and my husband finished half a pint jar on two brats. He raved that it's the best pickle relish he's ever had and has asked me to fill the pantry - lol - too bad my cuke plants are petering out! To drain the veggies, I just used my biggest colander and pressed them with several paper towels to remove as much water as possible. I will be hard pressed to ever buy store bought again. Thanks Donna!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KT Scarlet September 21, 2013

I used 5 c. of cucumber and only 1 c. of green pepper. Left out the red pepper. This is easy and very good. I might reduce the sugar by a little next time. Also, I would definitely double this. It's a shame to heat the boiling water bath for just 3 pints. Not very efficient.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ruthiefoster55 August 22, 2013

i've been using this recipe for years. It comes from Pickles and Relish, a great little canning book. There's one useful change. Bringing back to a boil after adding veggies. I also use more than the called-for veggies and do have juice left over. I keep it in the fridge with whatever didn't fit in the cans. It is sweet. We like it that way. I add cinammon sticks and a little ground cloves, sometimes a little nutmeg. Makes the flavor a little more complex and no one can ever figure out what I do to mine to make it so good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goodiesgirl August 13, 2013

This recipe made three pint jars of relish, but my oh my!!! Yum yum!!!!! I do love a super sweet relish, and this one fits the bill. I used the leftover relish I had to make my potato salad and it was awesome. I can't wait to pile up some of this relish on a hot dog next time I grill. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TNmom2four July 29, 2013
Sweet Pickle Relish