15 Reviews

Easy recipe for my first pickle canning. I used 5 1/2 c cucumbers and only 1 1/2 c celery - everything else I kept the same. It smelled great going into the jars. However, it makes 6 1/2 pints, not 6 pints. With only 8.5 cups of veggies, I was wondering where the other 3.5 cups were coming from! Next time I'll double everything to get the expected volume. I chopped all the veggies in my non-electric Quick Chopper (like a Tupperware Quick Chef) and it was really fast & easy. Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goji Girl September 11, 2007

I doubled the recipe and left out the green pepper (my family can't eat them) and added the dill. Great relish that we have been adding to everything!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff June 20, 2011

This is my first attempt to make relish. We are overrun by cucumbers from our garden so I thought this would be a great way to use them. It turned out really good. I accidently grabbed a zucchini and chopped it with the cucumbers. It worked fine so the next 2 batches I made I purposely added a little zucchini.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmrehm99 July 28, 2009

This relish recipe is wonderful. I did add and delete a few ingredents. Acualy I took what ever I had left in my garden and used the baise of this recipe. It worked great. I used cucumbers, sweet peppers, bell and bannana, onions, celery and a few hot peppers. Grind everything up in a food pressor. I diced the celery.I didn't have enough of vinegar and sugar mixture for all that I had processed so I mixed up a little more according to the the recipe ( 3 1/2 cups sugar to 2 cups vinegar), I heated my jars in the dishwasher. I would take out 2 at a time and fill, seal and return to the dish washer. I then ran my sealed jars through the dishwasher cycle under pots and pans. And walked away. Later I returned and removed my cleaned sealed relish all ready to store. The celery in this recipe is so good and crisp. My next batch I'm planning on makeing it a little hotter and adding more diced celery. Thank you DiB's. This was the relish recipe I had been looking for. Sheila

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trigger3 August 22, 2007

This is really good. I doubled the recipe and took the advice of another reviewer and reduced the syrup to half. Perfect amount of liquid in the relish. This is a keeper. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brendavee August 15, 2016

5 STARS....! Thank you for sharing this classic recipe, which is so diverse,,,,Hot dogs, deviled eggs, a nice kick to potato salad, or a macaroni salad, and so easy.! and there is nothing better then sharing, or receiving home canned goods...! Thank you again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heath3937 July 06, 2012

I made this relish today, I doubled the cucumbers, used 3 1/2 cups sugar, 1 1/2 cups vinegar and added 1 Tabs. tumeric. It taste great! Well be making more as the cucumbers continue to produce. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
uniquebooks July 15, 2011

This relish is wonderful. I adjusted it a little to our taste. I added some mild sweet banana petters and cut back the sugar by 1/2 - 3/4 cup. HE is diabetic. Everyone that tasted it wanted a jar. Thanks for the receipe DiB's

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
R Home Chef October 15, 2009

this relish is good,me being an Indian chef,found it to be too sweet.To enhance it's sweet spice flavour.I'am gonna chop 4-5 grn chillies and add it to yhe relish.I think u should give jt atry as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prounto2000 May 23, 2009

Wonderful, similar to grocery store in taste except fresher, and better. No more high fructose corn syrup, or yellow #5 etc for me. This recipe will do. I'll will make again and again. I also used the dishwasher trick. Wow. How easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummabear7 September 03, 2008
Sweet Pickle Relish