9 Reviews

Just as a side note ... made this recipe this morning; haven't tried it yet but it would be helpful if people added comments to their recipes such as how many and what size jars are being used, especially if they're modifying the ingredients. I made this exactly to a tee and needed almost four 250ml jars which is roughly 1 cup each. Good thing I always sterilize a couple extra jars just in case :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lina from Canada November 17, 2014

Excellent and versatile recipe. I normally don't like changing recipes, but I had an overload of hot peppers this year which I canned in different ways, so I wanted to keep this on the sweeter side. Instead of the pepper flakes, I used almost 1/2 cup of freshly chopped chives and it is beyond awesome. We've used it on steaks and chicken. I gave some to a friend and she made a fresh spinach salad with bacon and hard boiled eggs and tossed it with this jelly and loved it. So I think this is great for more than just crackers. I like how this is a spreadable jelly that is not clumpy at all. I also have used it on ham and cheese sandwiches and it was great that way too. I tried giving this 5 stars but it's not working at all, don't know why, but I'd give it 10 stars if I could! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smartin202 September 22, 2012

Very tasty, more than once I have poured it over a pork roast in the crockpot. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedHeadToToe June 19, 2010

This is wonderful served over creamcheese with a variety of crackers. I also made another batch using thin sliced garlic added and it was a whole new taste. It was great thanks...so many asked for the recipe after I gave it in gift baskets at Christmas. I added several 2 good size cloves of garlic.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinda37379 January 06, 2005

Just finished making this jelly and it was so simple! Can't wait for it to finish sitting up and then; it's gloves off! Gonna layer a brick of cream cheese with this and have at it. The pepper flakes really gave it a nice "KICK".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dpqueen April 05, 2012

Mercy this is fabulous!!! Just made it and it is in the hot bath as we speak!
Really tasty!!! Had a sample on a cracker and OMG!!! Really good!!!
Thank you for a great recipe!
Hugs, Jelly

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HotPepperRosemaryJelly September 15, 2010

Great recipe. I used one fresh hot pepper instead of pepper flakes putting it through the puree step with the onions. Everyone loves it. It's quite simple, I'm going to do it w/my grandaughter this week.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shirleytownsend June 27, 2008

This turned out so good. A really great recipe. Will make many more times. Thank you for such a easy great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beansy February 28, 2008

It was really good. We ate it all very quickly. We are making another batch today. Vivian

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VHatch0818 September 22, 2007
Sweet Onion Jelly