13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

M&Mers, this bread is FABULOUS!!! I followed your recipe exactly, except I left out the extra melted butter on top, and didn't add as much poppyseed (I just sprinkled it over top, about 1-1 1/2 tsp.) I cannot believe how easy and delicious this was!! Another definite keeper!! Thanks! ~Manda

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda August 05, 2002

I have been using the recipe for more than a year now and it is great. Sorry I took so long for the review everybody in the house loves this bread I even made some for my new neighbor. I dont use poppy seeds though I use Sesame seeds. Thanks for the great recipe!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breeun December 12, 2008

Great recipe. I did not sprinkle as much poppyseed on top as the recipe called for. This is a keeper. We really enjoyed it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene10 July 15, 2003

Boy, was this worth making. I've been told that I'm making this for every family get together from now on. Thanks for putting it on here.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloraandMerriwether July 07, 2003

I have been making this recipe for about 4 years now and it is very good. I am one of those who don't follow a recipe exactly, but take inspiration from the original recipe and substitute in according to the ingredients I have on hand. Consequently I have used a variety of cheeses and it always turns out great. One thing I always do is add some powdered cheese mix, the kind you buy in bulk and use to make a version of Kraft Dinner. I don't measure exactly but add enough to make the batter kinda orange. Today when I made it, I had a raw pumpkin that needed using, so I sliced some thinly and sauteed it with the onion. I'm sure that you could add pumpkin puree, either home-cooked or out of a can.Great item to take to a potluck.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellen E March 18, 2013

A sensational addition to mealtime, and great to take as an appie to a social function. Cuts into smaller portions nicely and is good warm or cooled, although I like the flavour and texture more when still warm. I omit the melted butter on top and don't miss it. Love all the poppyseeds and double the onions on top. This bread is a great complement to Savory Molasses Grilled Pork Tenderloin, along with a green salad. So glad I found this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues June 23, 2011

I brought this to a family meal and everyone seemed to enjoy it. Thanks for sharing the recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deanna Kyre May 14, 2008

An unusual bread, but an excellent one, I'm so glad that I tried this!! So simple to make, I was making a spaghetti bake and popped this in the oven to accompany it, it was so tasty and soft and smelled wonderful, we all loved it and this will definitely be appearing regularly on our table from now on! Thanks, M&Mers for sharing a really good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth April 22, 2008
Sweet Onion Custard Bread