Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Onion Custard Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Onion Custard Bread

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2002

      M&Mers, this bread is FABULOUS!!! I followed your recipe exactly, except I left out the extra melted butter on top, and didn't add as much poppyseed (I just sprinkled it over top, about 1-1 1/2 tsp.) I cannot believe how easy and delicious this was!! Another definite keeper!! Thanks! ~Manda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2002

    • on December 12, 2008

      I have been using the recipe for more than a year now and it is great. Sorry I took so long for the review everybody in the house loves this bread I even made some for my new neighbor. I dont use poppy seeds though I use Sesame seeds. Thanks for the great recipe!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2003

      Great recipe. I did not sprinkle as much poppyseed on top as the recipe called for. This is a keeper. We really enjoyed it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2003

      Boy, was this worth making. I've been told that I'm making this for every family get together from now on. Thanks for putting it on here.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2002

    • on March 18, 2013

      I have been making this recipe for about 4 years now and it is very good. I am one of those who don't follow a recipe exactly, but take inspiration from the original recipe and substitute in according to the ingredients I have on hand. Consequently I have used a variety of cheeses and it always turns out great. One thing I always do is add some powdered cheese mix, the kind you buy in bulk and use to make a version of Kraft Dinner. I don't measure exactly but add enough to make the batter kinda orange. Today when I made it, I had a raw pumpkin that needed using, so I sliced some thinly and sauteed it with the onion. I'm sure that you could add pumpkin puree, either home-cooked or out of a can.Great item to take to a potluck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      A sensational addition to mealtime, and great to take as an appie to a social function. Cuts into smaller portions nicely and is good warm or cooled, although I like the flavour and texture more when still warm. I omit the melted butter on top and don't miss it. Love all the poppyseeds and double the onions on top. This bread is a great complement to Savory Molasses Grilled Pork Tenderloin, along with a green salad. So glad I found this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      I brought this to a family meal and everyone seemed to enjoy it. Thanks for sharing the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      An unusual bread, but an excellent one, I'm so glad that I tried this!! So simple to make, I was making a spaghetti bake and popped this in the oven to accompany it, it was so tasty and soft and smelled wonderful, we all loved it and this will definitely be appearing regularly on our table from now on! Thanks, M&Mers for sharing a really good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2005

      Great recipe! We all loved it .. Simple to make and tastes great .. I might try adding some garlic next time .. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2004

      Great recipe,thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2004

      I'm not sure that I would call this "bread" but it sure was good! Vidalia onions are very expensive in Canada at this time of the year, so I used "free" sweet red onions from our garden. Since I didn't have any poppy seeds (AND I hate picking them out of my teeth), I omitted them but increased the amount of cheese. Thanx M&Mers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Onion Custard Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 291.8
     
    Calories from Fat 129
    44%
    Total Fat 14.4 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 69.6 mg
    23%
    Sodium 617.9 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 10.3 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes