Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Mashed Potato Cakes With Curry Sour Cream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Mashed Potato Cakes With Curry Sour Cream

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 14, 2007

      Really tasty. I think the method for cooking the sweet potatoes probably diluted the flavour of the curry paste, and might've been more complex than it needed to be. Maybe if I make these again I will make some changes and let you know. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      I don't usually have much success with patty type food, so it was with some trepidation that I made these. But they worked a treat; kept their shape and had a lovely flavour. We enjoyed these as a vegetarian main course and it would be easy to make these vegan too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      I loved the flavor of the cakes and the simple easy sauce, The texture was a bit too soft still manageable in terms of holding together - I did drain the potatoes well after cooking , perhaps I cooked them too long before mashing them. They are a definate 4 leaning toward a 5 star Good luck in the contest

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2006

      I wish I could give this recipe 4.5 stars! Yes, these sweet potato cakes are lovely and they were the star of my vegetarian cooking session I hosted. However, although we did drain the sweet potatoes well, we found it very difficult to shape the patties. We would add a little bit of flour to them next time. We absolutely loved the taste of them, though! The cornmeal made a nice crust! Yummy! However, we also missed the salt in the dip and we think the recipe should at least mention 'season to taste'. Good luck in the contest! I'll make these patties again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      I loved this! The potato cake is sweet but spicy and warm. The curry sour cream is spicy and cool. The combination is delightful. I think this is an excellent appetizer--it is more than a side dish and deserves to be enjoyed on its own. I did use Caribbean curry mix Femmes' Revenge Caribbean Curry Mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      We had these sweet potato cakes for lunch. For us the flavors did not seem to work well with each other. The cakes fried up nicely and were pretty served with the curry sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      I made these for my book club and everyone asked for the recipe. I personally did not use the sour cream, but those who did commented that it was a nice compliment to the flavor of the cakes. The only critisism I have of this recipe is that sweet potatoes come in a large range of sizes and I would prefer to see a measurement. Also, I had to cook them about 5-6 mins a side. But they were very good, and I will definatly make them again and again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      I loved the taste in the patties and I am awarding 5 stars for them alone. They had a lovely creamy texture inside coated in a lightly crispy breading and the spices were well balanced. Very addictive! I found the curry sauce distracting & overpowering however. I think a chutney would be a better match. I will definitely be making these jewels again. Good luck in the contest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      These are wonderful! At first I did not think the curry paste would add much flavor since it is boiled along with the potatoes but it really does permeate the potatoes! I used a red curry paste that has tamarind as a base (it enhances the peppers). Loved the curry sour cream. I cooked them in too much oil the first time and the majority of them fell apart - next time - and there WILL be a next time - I will pay closer attention to the cooking instructions! Good Luck Chef!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Mashed Potato Cakes With Curry Sour Cream

    Serving Size: 1 (968 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 120.9
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    52%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 299.3 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    red curry paste

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites