9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic! Very tasty dish - Next time I would toast the walnuts before adding them to the dish and use a bit fewer brussels sprouts since even my hugest pan couldn't accomodate all the sprouts since they need to all touch the bottom of the pan in order to brown. I also cut the butter in half because there's no way 1/4+ cup of oil and 1/2 cup of butter were necessary. Very yummy - Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
What's Cooking? January 25, 2007

This recipe halves very nicely. It is so easy to make and delcious. I did reduce the amount of butter and used walnuts instead of chestnuts. This is a great way to make fresh brussel sprouts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG April 12, 2006

Great recipe..This dish was consumed by my guests so quickly and asking for more, even kids enjoyed this dish. Toated my walnuts and added only a smaller amt of butter and very quick to cook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixiejoy November 22, 2012

I won't actually rate this because I used asparagus instead of brussels sprouts. I had sprouts but when I went to get them from the fridge, they had spoilt. Idid have some extra asparagus though and thought..hey...they are both green so why not! I snapped off the woody ends and cut the tender parts into 1 inch pieces. I then made just as written except that the cooking time was much less, probably about a minute to brown and then another 3-4 minutes until tender. I then ended up forgetting about the glaze when it was reducing and burnt it. No matter, the asparagus has a milder flavor than sprouts anyway and didn't need the glaze. It was delicous so I would recommend the sauce with other slightly bitter type green veggies. Also...I agree with another reviewer and cut back the oil and butter a good bit, which worked fine. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_wing July 03, 2008

These were some yummy sprouts. I am one of the few that actually does likes sprouts and doesn't need them dressed up but I sure am glad I dressed them up this time. I went for the walnut option. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne June 21, 2008

The best recipe for brussel sprouts I have ever eaten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluegini October 15, 2007

These sprouts are so good! They had a nice sweetness to them but weren't too sweet. I cut the recipe in half and only used about 2 tablespoons of butter. My sprouts were quite big though so I had to cover the pan and cook them longer near the end since they weren't quite ready. I forgot to add any nuts but I will next time! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu April 10, 2007

This was delish!! I tried it out on my fiance's daughters who are also my worse critics, and they loved it!! I also halved it and opted for walnuts. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2CookInTx March 11, 2006

So good, and easy to make too! I used the walnut option for the chestnuts and left out the walnut oil(didn't have any). I also halved the recipe. Thanks for a yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 January 30, 2006
Sweet Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts